MENU 

MENU 

A Bit of History

Scottish clans 

 

During the first two seasons of Outlander, Scotland is both a setting and a central figure whose past and future history carries the essential of all actions and all sacrifices. But Scotland is not only a magnificent country with breathtaking landscapes, it is above all a soul and a way of life, embodied by the multiple clans that compose it.

From Prestonpans to Culloden 

 

Nothing Jamie and Claire were able to undertake, none of their many sacrifices, not even Faith's death, could have prevented the terrible battle of Culloden and the subsequent collapse of the Scottish clans.
As always, Diana Gabaldon places her story at the heart of real and precise historical facts. But what really happened to this Jacobite revolt and its cruel destiny?

British colonies in America 

 

After defeating the Jacobite rebellion and countering the Scottish with their imperial will, the British invaded North America without further consideration, exterminating the recalcitrant natives and thriving on the backs of slaves and settlers. From the discovery of the continent to the American Civil War, conflicts and takeovers have never stopped.

Governor Tryon against regulators 

 

Since its colonization, America has split into states, each of which is headed by a governor. In North Carolina, where the Fraser decided to settle, it was William Tryon who, for a few years, had to deal with the harshness of the country and the claims of the settlers settled on land they wanted to prosper. Among them, insurgents more virulent than the others: Regulators.

Indian tribes: The Cherokees 

 

Settled in North Carolina, notably in the majestic Smoky Moutains, this sedentary tribe has never ceased to be persecuted by colonization and the wars which raged for the possession of their prosperous lands. Despite their desire to appease, and the multiple sacrifices made in order to live in peace on their territory, they were flouted with all their rights, chased, herded, even executed. The trail of tears, which has become a symbol of their final exodus, is just one of the many examples of the atrocities they suffered.

Indian tribes: The Mohawks 

 

Indian tribe of North America belonging to the linguistic family of the Iroquois and originating in the current state of New York, The Mohawks are one of the six great Iroquois nations. In addition to the nine representatives on the Iroquois council, each Mohawk community had a local council which guided the village chief (s). They were divided into three clans: the bear, the wolf and the turtle

Outlander, his heroes and their religions 

 

Throughout our readings, we meet our heroes in their environment, their culture, their faith.
It is this last point that we will try to address without proselytizing, without bias.
Just facts to understand. We will content ourselves with analyzing these facts for the first 3 volumes and we will stay mainly in Europe.

Outlander, his heroes and their religions - 2
The discovery of America
 

 

They brought us parrots, cotton bales, javelins and much more, which they exchanged for glass beads and bells. They willingly traded everything they owned. They were well built, with harmonious bodies and graceful faces […] They do not carry weapons […] Their javelins are made of reeds. They would make good servants. With fifty men, we could enslave them all and make them do whatever we want. "

Christopher Colombus

Outlander, his heroes and their religions - 2 

New France - Nova Scotia  

  

We continue our discovery of this New World where the Fraser clan hopes to find peace, serenity and tolerance… ..

We are going to make a small foray into Canada because we cannot ignore the arrival of Westerners on these cold lands… These few acres of snow, as Voltaire said, where French, Indians and English will clash until the conclusion of the Seven Years' War which will sign the definitive hegemony of England over North America.

Outlander, his heroes and their religions - 4
The Indian Nations of North Carolina 

 

Before diving into this New World in North America, now is the time to reflect on the history and plight of Indians.
We have therefore chosen to tell you about two of these Indian peoples, the Tuascaroras and the Cherokees.
They will cross paths with Jamie Fraser, which is why we will focus on this Indian nation.

Outlander, his heroes and their religions - 4 

Highlander and Indians, a common destiny 

 

After traveling through the history of the Cherokee people in North Carolina, we found much in common with the Highlanders. We have therefore decided to devote a dossier to these similarities.
Here then is the tragic fate of these two peoples. They have faced life with a courage that commands the admiration of all.

Outlander, his heroes and their religions - 6
The foundation of the 13 colonies 

 

Here we are in North America.
The British took possession of a vast territory on the Atlantic coast, stretching from New England to Georgia.
The Thirteen English Colonies will develop there. In this chapter we will see who these brave migrants were and their travel conditions.

MENU 

MENU 

Un peu d'histoire

Les clans écossais 

 

Durant les deux premières saisons d'Outlander, l'Écosse est à la fois décor et personnage central dont l'histoire passée et à venir porte l'essentiel de toutes les actions et de tous les sacrifices. Mais l'Écosse, ce n'est pas seulement un pays magnifique aux paysages à couper le souffle, c'est avant tout une âme et une façon de vivre, incarnée par les multiples clans qui la composent.

De Prestonpans à Culloden 

 

Rien de ce que Jamie et Claire n'ont pu entreprendre, aucun de leurs nombreux sacrifices, pas même la mort de Faith, n'aura pu empêcher la terrible bataille de Culloden et l'effondrement des clans écossais qui s'en est suivi.  Comme toujours, Diana Gabaldon insère son histoire au cœur des faits historiques réels et précis. Mais qu'en a-t-il réellement été de cette révolte jacobite et de sa cruelle destinée ?

 

Les colonies britanniques en Amérique  

 

Après avoir vaincu la rébellion jacobite et soumis les écossais à leur volonté impériale, les britanniques ont envahi sans plus de considération l’Amérique du Nord, exterminant les natifs récalcitrants et prospérant sur le dos des esclaves et des colons.  De la découverte du continent à la guerre de sécession, les conflits et les prises de pouvoir n’ont jamais cessé.

Le gouverneur Tryon contre les Régulateurs 

 

Depuis sa colonisation, l’Amérique s’est fractionnée en États, chacun d’eux dirigé par un gouverneur. En Caroline du Nord, là où décident de s’installer les Fraser, c’est William Tryon qui, durant quelques années a dû composer avec la rigueur du pays et les revendications des colons installés sur des terres qu’ils souhaitaient faire prospérer.  Parmi eux, des insurgés plus virulents que les autres : Les régulateurs.

Les tribus indiennes : les Cherokees 

 

Installée en Caroline du nord, notamment dans la majestueuse Smoky Moutains, cette tribu sédentaire n’a cessé d’être persécutée par la colonisation et les guerres qui ont fait rage pour la possession de leurs terres prospères. Malgré leur volonté d’apaisement, et les multiples sacrifices consentis afin de vivre en paix sur leur territoire, ils ont été bafoués de tous leurs droits, chassés, parqués, voire, exécutés. La piste des larmes, devenue symbole de leur exode final, n’est que l’un des nombreux exemples des exactions qu’ils ont subis.    

Les tribus indiennes : les Mohawks 

 

Tribu indienne d'Amérique du Nord appartenant à la famille linguistique des Iroquois et originaire de l'actuel État de New York, Les Mohawks sont l'une des six grandes nations iroquoises.  Outre les neuf représentants au conseil iroquois, chaque communauté mohawk avait un conseil local qui guidait le ou les chefs villageois. Ils étaient répartis en trois clans : l'ours, le loup et la tortue

Outlander, ses héros et leurs religions 

 

Tout au long de nos lectures, nous rencontrons nos héros dans leur environnement, leur culture, leur foi. C’est ce dernier point que nous allons tenter d’aborder sans prosélytisme, sans parti pris.

Juste des faits pour comprendre. Nous nous contenterons d’analyser ces faits pour les 3 premiers tomes et nous resterons essentiellement en Europe.

Outlander, ses héros et leurs religions - 2 

La découverte de l'Amérique  

 

 Ils nous apportèrent des perroquets, des ballots de coton, des javelots et bien d’autres choses, qu’ils échangèrent contre des perles de verre et des grelots. Ils échangèrent de bon cœur tout ce qu’ils possédaient. Ils étaient bien bâtis, avec des corps harmonieux et des visages gracieux […] Ils ne portent pas d’armes […] Leurs javelots sont faits de roseaux. Ils feraient de bons serviteurs. Avec cinquante hommes, on pourrait les asservir tous et leur faire faire tout ce que l’on veut ».   Christophe Colomb

Outlander, ses héros et leurs religions - 3 

Nouvelle France – Nouvelle Ecosse 

 

Nous continuons notre découverte de ce Nouveau Monde où le clan Fraser espère trouver la paix, la sérénité et la tolérance….. Nous allons faire une petite incursion au Canada car nous ne pouvons passer sous silence l’arrivée des Occidentaux sur ces terres froides… Ces quelques arpents de neige, comme disait Voltaire où Français, Indiens et Anglais vont s’affronter jusqu’à la conclusion de la Guerre de Sept ans qui signera l’hégémonie définitive de l’Angleterre sur l’Amérique du Nord.

Outlander, ses héros et leurs religions - 4 

Les Nations Indiennes  de Caroline du Nord 

 

Avant de plonger dans ce Nouveau Monde du Nord de l’Amérique, c’est le moment de nous pencher sur l'histoire et le sort des indiens. 

Nous avons donc choisi de vous parler de deux de ces peuples indiens, les Tuascaroras et les Cherokees

Ces derniers vont croiser la route de Jamie Fraser, c’est pourquoi nous nous attarderons sur cette nation indienne.

Outlander, ses héros et leurs religions - 5 

Highlanders et Indiens, un destin commun  

 

Après avoir parcouru l’histoire du peuple Cherokee en Caroline du Nord, nous avons trouvé de nombreux points communs avec les Highlanders. Nous avons donc décidé de consacrer un dossier à ces ressemblances. 

 Voici donc le tragique destin de ces deux peuples. Ils ont affronté la vie avec un courage qui force l’admiration de tous.

Outlander, ses héros et leurs religions - 6 

La fondation des 13 colonies  

 

Nous voici en Amérique du Nord.
Les Anglais ont pris possession d’un vaste territoire sur la côte Atlantique, allant de la Nouvelle Angleterre à la Géorgie.
Les Treize Colonies anglaises vont s’y développer. Dans ce chapitre, nous verrons qui étaient ces migrants courageux et leurs conditions de voyage.