MENU 

Castle Leoch
Trial of witches
Cranesmuir
Lallybroch mill
Fort William
Opening scene
House of Sandringham
The collect
Inverness
Lallybroch
Black Kirk
Abbay St Anne
The wedding

MENU 

MENU 

Seasons 1 

Season 1 was shot entirely in Scotland 

Abbey Ste Anne de Beaupré.

Season 1

Aberdour Castle

The picturesque village of Preston, in the village of East Linton, has one of the oldest water-powered meal mills in Scotland. It serves as a backdrop to a number of scenes in the series. 

Lallybroch 

Season 1 

Midhope Castle 

Located in a fascinating walled cemetery, this rural, medieval-styled rural church near Perth is known as the Tibbermore Church and is home to the theater of the infamous witch trials of Claire and Geillis. 

Trial of witches in Cransmuir 

Season 1 

Tibbermore Church 

Hoptoun House is the home decor of the Duke of Sandringham in Season 1. The interior scenes were shot in the Red Salon. The Sea Trail and West Lawn, at the back of the house, were the scene of the duel between the Duke and the Chief of the McDonald Clan on the back steps of the house they served as a theater for a sword fight. 

House of the Duke

of Sandringham

Season 1

Hoptoun House

Black Kirk, in the series, is a former monastery that the inhabitants of Leoch think inhabited by demons. When the children venture there, they come back sick. Claire, unable to believe in demons, decides to explore the scene to find a logical explanation for the children's symptoms, including Tammas Baxter, who has not lived long. 

Black Kirk is actually West Kirk, a 17th century church near Culross, abandoned after an abbey was built in the area. 

Black Kirk

Season 1

West Kirk

Near West Kirk, we find the village of Culross which was used for the filming of Cranesmuir. This is where Geillis Duncan resides with her husband, Arthur. Several scenes take place in the village market place: the public punishment of the boy who was caught stealing, the arrest of Claire and Geillis for witchcraft ... For the series, the buildings were painted gray . 

 
 

Culross's palace has been used for other scenes: the Geillis dining room is actually the palace hall, while the gardens are where Claire meets Geillis for the very first time. 

Cranesmuir

Season 1

Culross

Blackness Castle is a 15th century fortress in the West Lothian on the south shore of the Firth of Forth, built on a peninsula not far from Edinburgh by the Crichton, one of the most powerful families in Scotland. 

In the series, we discover the headquarters of Black Jack Randall: Fort William. 

Fort William

Season 1

Blackness Castle

Members of the MacKenzie clan go on the roads to collect rents from their tenants, then arrive in a small village of peasants. This village actually exists, it is located at the Highland Folk Museum in Kingussie, in the Cairngorms National Park. This is a reenactment of an 18th century Highlander village where one can discover how the Scots lived and worked at that time. 

During the collect

Season 1

Kingussie

Inverness

Season 1

Falkland

Falkland was used to shoot the first episode of Outlander. 

This is where Claire and Frank go for their honeymoon, which Claire admires in the window of Farrell's Hardware and Furniture's Shop which is actually a gift shop. 

There is also the Covenanter Hotel which served as a backdrop for Mrs Baird's guesthouse, but also the Bruce fountain near which Frank sees the ghost of Jamie. 

Glencorse charming Old Kirk near Edinburgh, niche in the corner of Glencorse House, at the foot of the picturesque peaks of Pentland Hills, this is where Claire and Jamie marry. 

Claire and Jamie's  wedding

Season 1

Glencorse old Kirk

The 12th century Aberdour Castle serves as a monastery where Claire and Murtagh invite Jamie to recover from his time in prison. Old Kitchen and Long Gallery were used for the filming. Located on the Fife coast, this ruined castle was once a luxurious Renaissance mansion and is one of the oldest standing masonry castles in Scotland. 

Jamie's famous Lallybroch home, where Jenny, Ian and the whole family meet, is actually Midhope Castle, dating back to the 16th century. 

It is located in the village of Abercorn about 4 kilometers west of South Queensferry, on the outskirts of Edinburgh, and belongs to the estate of Hopetoun House. This category A building is classified as a historical monument. If the exterior is in good condition, the interior is not visited because in ruins 

Lallybroch Mill

Season 1

Mill Preston Mill

The magnificent Doune Castle near Stirling plays a leading role in the show, replacing the fictional castle of Leoch - which houses Colum MacKenzie and his clan in the 18th century. This is also part of the 20th century episode when Claire and Frank visit the ruined castle on a day trip. 

Castle Leoch

Season 1

Doune Castle

Opening scene

Season 1

Glencoe

The spectacular Glencoe featured in the opening credits of Outlander is a world-renowned Scottish site. It seduces with its high mountain peaks, ridges, rivers and waterfalls. Not far from here, just past Fort William, is the legendary Glenfinnan monument where Bonnie Prince Charlie raised her banner and launched the 1745 Jacobin Rising movement. 

The filming locations

Click on photos and maps

Castle Leoch
Procès des sorcières
Cranesmuir
Moulin de Lallybroch
Fort William
Scène d'ouverture
Maison Sandringham
La collecte
Inverness
Lallybroch
Black Kirk
Abbaye St Anne
Le mariage

MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Saison 1 

La saison 1  a été tournée intégralement en Écosse  

Abbaye

Ste Anne de Beaupré.

Saison 1

Château d'Aberdour

Le village pittoresque de Preston, situé dans le village d’East Linton, possède l’un des plus anciens moulins à repas fonctionnant à l’eau en Écosse. Il sert de toile de fond à un certain nombre de scènes de la série.  

Lallybroch

Saison 1

Midhope Castle

Située dans un cimetière muré fascinant, cette église rurale de caractère aux origines médiévales située près de Perth est connue sous le nom d'église Tibbermore et accueille le théâtre du tristement célèbre procès des sorcières de Claire et Geillis. 

Procès des sorcières

à Cranesmuir

Saison 1

Eglise Tibbermore

Hoptoun House est le décor de la maison du duc de Sandringham dans la saison 1. Les scènes intérieures ont été tournées dans le salon rouge. Le sentier maritime et West Lawn, à l’arrière de la maison, ont été les lieux du duel entre le duc et le chef du clan McDonald quant aux marches arrières de la maison elles ont servi de théâtre pour un combat à l'épée. 

Maison du Duc de Sandringham

Saison 1

Hoptoun House

Black Kirk, dans la série, est un ancien monastère que les habitants de Leoch pensent habité par des démons. Quand les enfants s’y aventurent, ils reviennent malades. Claire, incapable de croire aux démons, décide d’explorer les lieux pour trouver une explication logique aux symptômes des enfants, dont Tammas Baxter, qui n’a plus longtemps à vivre. 

Black Kirk est en fait West Kirk, une église du 17ème siècle proche de Culross, laissée à l’abandon après qu’une abbaye a été construite dans la région. 

Black Kirk

Saison 1

West Kirk

Proche de West Kirk, on retrouve le village de Culross qui a été utilisé pour le tournage de Cranesmuir. C’est là que Geillis Duncan réside avec son époux, Arthur. Plusieurs scènes se déroulent sur la place du marché du village : la punition publique du jeune garçon qui été pris sur le fait en train de voler, l’arrestation de Claire et Geillis pour sorcellerie… Pour la série, les bâtiments ont été peints en gris. 

Le palace de Culross a été utilisé pour d’autres scènes : la salle à manger de Geillis est en fait celle du palais, tandis que les jardins sont ceux où Claire rencontre Geillis pour la toute première fois. 

Cranesmuir

Saison 1

Culross

Blackness Castle est une forteresse du 15ème siècle dans le West Lothian sur la rive sud du Firth of Forth, bâtie sur une presqu’île non loin d’Edimbourg par les Crichton, l’une des plus puissantes familles d’Ecosse. 

Dans la série, on y découvre le quartier général de Black Jack Randall : Fort William. 

Fort William

Saison 1

Blackness Castle

Les membres du clan MacKenzie partent sur les routes pour collecter les loyers de leurs métayers, puis arrivent dans un petit village de paysans. Ce village existe réellement, il est situé au Highland Folk Museum à Kingussie, dans le Parc National de Cairngorms. Il s’agit d’une reconstitution d’un village Highlander du 18ème siècle où l’on peut découvrir comment les Ecossais vivaient et travaillaient à cette époque.  

Durant la collecte 

Saison 1  

Kingussie

Inverness

Saison 1 

Falkland

Falkland a été utilisé pour le tournage du tout premier épisode d’Outlander. 

C’est là que se rendent Claire et Frank pour leur lune de miel, que Claire admire la vitrine du Farrell’s Hardware and Furniture’s Shop qui est en fait une boutique de souvenirs.  

On y retrouve également le Covenanter Hotel qui a servi de décor pour la pension de Mrs Baird, mais également la fontaine Bruce près de laquelle Frank aperçoit le fantôme de Jamie. 

Le charmant Glencorse Old Kirk près d’Édimbourg, niché dans l’enceinte de Glencorse House, au pied des collines pittoresques de Pentland Hills, est le lieu où Claire et Jamie se marient.  

Mariage de Claire

et Jamie

Saison 1

Glencorse old Kirk

Le château Aberdour du XIIe siècle fait office de monastère où Claire et Murtagh invitent Jamie à se rétablir après son passage à la prison. Old Kitchen et Long Gallery ont été utilisés pour le tournage. Situé sur la côte du Fife, ce château en ruine était autrefois une luxueuse demeure de la Renaissance et compte parmi les plus anciens châteaux de maçonnerie debout en Écosse. 

La fameuse demeure de Lallybroch appartenant à Jamie, où l’on rencontre Jenny, Ian et toute la famille, est en fait le château de Midhope, daté du XVIᵉ siècle.  

Il est situé dans le village de Abercorn à environ 4 kilomètres à l'ouest de South Queensferry, en périphérie d'Édimbourg, et appartient au domaine de Hopetoun House. Ce bâtiment de catégorie A est classé monument historique. Si l’extérieur est en bon état, l’intérieur ne se visite pas car en ruines 

Moulin de Lallybroch

Saison 1

Moulin de

Preston Mill

Le magnifique château de Doune près de Stirling joue un rôle de premier plan dans le spectacle, remplaçant le château fictif de Leoch - qui abrite Colum MacKenzie et son clan au 18ème siècle. Cela fait également partie de l'épisode du 20ème siècle où Claire et Frank visitent le château en ruines lors d'une excursion d'une journée.  

Castle Leoch

Saison 1

Doune Castle

Scène d'ouverture  

Saison 1 

Glencoe

Le spectaculaire Glencoe qui figure au générique d’ouverture d’Outlander est un site écossais de renommée mondiale. Il séduit par ses hauts sommets montagneux, ses crêtes, ses rivières et ses cascades. Non loin de là, juste après Fort William, se trouve le légendaire monument Glenfinnan où Bonnie Prince Charlie a levé son étendard et lancé le mouvement jacobite Rising de 1745. 

Les lieux

de tournage

Cliquez sur les photos et les cartes