MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

While the Fraser live in good harmony with the Cherokee Indians whom they have come to know and appreciate, live, 1,000 kilometers further north, the Mohawks, belonging to the Iroquois nation, some of whose members travel long distances in order to make barter.

It is to one of these tribes that young Ian entrusts the fate of the unfortunate Roger, and with whom, ultimately, he will live a few years.

 

North American Indian tribe belonging to the linguistic family of the Iroquois and originating in the current state of New York, The Mohawks are one of the six great Iroquois nations, which are, from east to west: the Tuscaroras, the Sénécas, Onneiouts, Onondagas, Cayugas and Mohawks.

They owe their name to their hereditary enemies, the Algonquins, for whom Mowak means 'man eater'. In their own language, the Mohawk people call themselves Kanienkehaka, which means, depending on the context and interpretations: 'people of light', 'lightning men', 'people of flint' or 'children of the stars'.

They were also called Agniers in French and Maquas in Dutch.

 

The Mohawks, like the other Iroquois tribes, led a semi-sedentary life. They had a tribal council chosen by the mothers of the clan (matriarchs or women chiefs of file.) But they were also subjected to the decisions taken by the Large Iroquois Council to which nine of their chiefs represented the interests of their tribe. In short, the Iroquois Confederation was one of the examples of representative democracy used as a model by the founding fathers of America, whose governors of each state are, even today, subject to the American government.

Indian tribes
2 - The Mohawks

Within their village, The Mohawks lived in longhouses, which were large wood-framed buildings covered with leaves of elm bark and which could be over 30 meters long. An entire clan lived there. (up to 60 people)

Like their neighbors, the Mohawks are agricultural peoples who depend on the 'three sisters' (corn, beans and squash) for food. If the fields are first cleared by men, the responsibility for planting, tending and picking the crops rests with the women of the village.

The principle of the three sisters, in addition to its nutritional virtue, was that the three plants help each other to grow (plant companionship)

The stalk of corn serves as a stake for the climbing bean. The large corn leaves also protect the squash from the wind and the sun. The bean, like the other plants in its family, is capable of capturing dinitrogen from the air, to provide a kind of natural fertilizer to the two other plants, which grow much better. Squash, by spreading its large leaves close to the ground, prevents weeds from growing (and therefore 'stealing' water and nutrients from other plants), and it retains water, preventing it from s 'evaporate. The stems and leaves of the squash also carry thorns, which protect it from herbivores, but will also protect the corn and beans around which it grows.

 

In addition to being grown together, the three sisters are also harvested, and eaten together; they are the basis of the Iroquois' diet, and constitute a balanced diet. However, they are quite low in fat, which is why, in addition to the three sisters, the Iroquois often grew sunflowers to supplement their diet.

 

While Men were responsible for hunting, trade and war, Mohawk women were responsible for agriculture, property and the family.

The clans were still led by women, who made all decisions regarding land and resources for each clan. But the Mohawk chiefs, who made military decisions and trade deals, were still men. Only men represented the Mohawks on the Iroquois Grand Council, but only women voted to determine who would be the representatives of the Mohawks.

In addition to the nine representatives on the Iroquois council, each Mohawk community had a local council which guided the village chief (s).

They were divided into three clans: the bear, the wolf and the turtle.

 

The Mohawks often waged war against their neighbors, the Algonquins.

When the Dutch introduced firearms as a means of paying for beaver pelts, the Mohawk victories became more numerous. However, contact with Europeans caused a rapid decline in the population. Most Mohawks took the side of the English in the war against the French and the Indians. But some of them, who were converted to the Catholic religion (the devout Indians of Quebec), and who were installed in missions along the St. Lawrence and especially in Caughnawaga, espoused the cause of the French. They even served as guides in expeditions against their former allies in the League of the Iroquois.

 

Later, during the War of Independence, under the influence of their leader Joseph Brant, the Mohawks took the side of the English.

Their descendants are settled in the Bay of Quinte and on the Six Nations Indian Reserve in Brantford, Ontario.

The 1990 US Census Reports 15,500 Mohawks

During the 18th century, the Mohawks, grouped in two main cities on the Mohawk River, became increasingly in the minority compared to settlers from Europe.

They adopt the types of houses of their neighbors and maintain close links with the British administration.

The Superintendent of Indian Affairs, Sir William Johnson, married Mary Brant, a Mohawk, and used the warriors of his tribe against the French in the Seven Years' War (known in North America as the war between the French and the Indians). William Johnson died before the start of the American Revolution. However, the Mohawks engaged in this conflict in 1777 under the command of Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), the brother of Mary, who had just returned from England. With his warriors, they inflict several defeats on the Americans, but they are finally forced to abandon their homes. These are confiscated and used by American settlers

After the war, Joseph Brant and his men settled near the Grand River on a concession (now called the 'Six Nations Reserve') granted to them by the governor. Other Mohawks, led by John Deserontyon, settle in the Bay of Quinte. Most of them being Anglicans, the money donated by Queen Anne is shared between the two reserves.

 

Joseph Brant and Teyoninhokarawen (John Norton) also led many Mohawks in combat during the War of 1812, where they fought on the side of the British. This alliance lasted until the 19th century, when skilled Mohawk navigators from Kahnawake, near Montreal, were recruited to transport General Garnet Wolseley's army to the Nile in 1884-1885.

 

Mohawks, like many Native Americans, also supported the armed forces in both world wars, as well as in other armed conflicts.

 

Despite Council Opposition to the Enrollment of Reserve Members, the Six River Iroquois Community of Grand River South of Brantford, Ontario, Provides More Troops than Any Other Aboriginal Community in Canada during the war of 14-18. About 300 of them went to the front. In addition, the members of this reserve, the most populous in Canada, donated hundreds of dollars to help war orphans in Britain and to provide other relief to war victims.

 

Many of the volunteers from the Six Nations reserve were first members of the 37th Haldimand Rifles, a regiment of non-permanent active militia established on the reserve. This regiment supplied most of the members of the 114th Canadian Infantry Battalion, which had been recruited for the region. Fifty Mohawks of Kahnawake, Quebec, along with several Mohawks of Akwesasne, joined the recruits from Grand River in this unit. Aboriginal people from western Ontario and Manitoba also became members.

Finally, two companies in the battalion were made up entirely of Aboriginal people, including officers. In recognition of its strong composition of Aboriginal people, the battalion adopted an emblem made up of two crossed tomahawks under the motto For King and Country. In addition, members of the Six Nations Women's Patriotic League embroidered Iroquois symbols to give the battalion a distinctive flag.

Today, just over 16,000 Mohawks live in Quebec, mainly in the following territories:

Kanesatake (2,508 inhabitants), near Oka in the Laurentians, territory reserved for the Mohawks, but which does not constitute an Indian reserve within the meaning of the Indian law;
Kahnawake (10,946 inhabitants, formerly Caughnawaga), near Châteauguay - reserve;
Akwesasne (shared between Quebec, Ontario and New York State), also known as Saint-Régis - reserve.
Outside Quebec:

Ganienkeh and Kanatsiohareke in northeast New York State;
Tyendinaga and Wahta (Gibson) in southern Ontario;
the Six Nations reserve, where they form the majority of the inhabitants of this mixed Iroquois reserve in Ontario.


In 1985, the Quebec National Assembly officially recognized them as one of the ten Aboriginal nations of Quebec (Abenaki, Algonquin, Attikamek, Cree, Huron-Wendat, Micmac, Mohawk (or lamb), Innu, Naskapi and Inuit).

Valérie Gay-Corajoud

MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Alors que les Fraser vivent en bonne entente avec les Indiens Cherokees qu’ils ont appris à connaître et à apprécier, vivent, 1000 kilomètres plus au nord, les Mohawks, appartenant à la nation iroquoise, dont certains membres parcourent de longues distances afin de faire du troc.

C’est à l’une de ces tribus que Young Ian confie le sort du malheureux Roger, et auprès de laquelle, finalement, il va vivre quelques années.

 

Tribu indienne d'Amérique du Nord appartenant à la famille linguistique des Iroquois et originaire de l'actuel État de New York, les Mohawks sont l'une des six grandes nations iroquoises, qui sont, d’est en ouest : les Tuscaroras, les Sénécas, le Onneiouts, les Onondagas, les Cayugas et  les Mohawks.

Ils doivent leur nom à leurs ennemis héréditaires, les Algonquins, pour qui Mohawk veut dire "mangeur d’homme". Dans leur propre langue, le peuple mohawk se fait appeler Kanienkehaka, ce qui signifie, selon le contexte et les interprétations, "peuple de la lumière ", "hommes éclairs", "peuple des silex" ou encore "enfants des étoiles".

Ils étaient également appelés Agniers en français et Maquas en hollandais.

 

Les Mohawks, tout comme les autres tribus iroquoises, menaient une vie semi-sédentaire. Ils avaient un conseil tribal choisi par les mères du clan (matriarches ou femmes cheffes de file.) Mais ils étaient également soumis aux décisions prises par le Grand Conseil iroquois auprès duquel neuf de leurs chefs représentaient les intérêts de leur tribu.  Pour tout dire, la Confédération iroquoise a été l'un des exemples de démocratie représentative utilisée comme modèle par les pères fondateurs de l'Amérique, dont les gouverneurs de chaque état sont, encore aujourd'hui, soumis au gouvernement américain.

Les tribus indiennes

2 - Les Mohawks  

Au sein de leur village, les Mohawks vivaient dans des maisons longues, qui étaient de grands bâtiments à ossature de bois recouverts de feuilles d'écorce d'orme et qui pouvaient mesurer plus de 30 mètres de long. Un clan entier y vivait (jusqu’à 60 personnes).

Tout comme leurs voisins, les Mohawks sont un peuple agricole qui dépend des "trois sœurs" (le maïs, le haricot et la courge) pour se nourrir. Si les champs sont d’abord dégagés par les hommes, la responsabilité de planter et de s’occuper des récoltes, et de les cueillir, incombe aux femmes du village.

Le principe des trois sœurs, outre sa vertu nutritive, tenait au fait que les trois plantes s’entraident pour pousser (compagnonnage végétal).

La tige de maïs sert de tuteur au haricot grimpant. Les grandes feuilles du maïs protègent également les courges du vent, et du soleil. Le haricot, comme les autres plantes de sa famille, est capable de capter le diazote de l'air, pour fournir une sorte d'engrais naturel aux deux autres plantes, qui ainsi poussent beaucoup mieux. La courge, en étalant ses grandes feuilles près du sol, empêche les mauvaises herbes de pousser (et donc de « voler » de l'eau et des nutriments aux autres plantes), et elle retient l'eau, en l'empêchant de s'évaporer. Les tiges et les feuilles de la courge portent également des épines, qui la protègent des herbivores, et qui vont du coup aussi protéger le maïs et le haricot autour desquels elle pousse.

En plus d'être cultivées ensemble, les trois sœurs sont également récoltées, et mangées ensemble ; elles sont à la base de l'alimentation des Iroquois, et constituent un régime alimentaire équilibré. Elles sont toutefois assez pauvres en matières grasses ; c'est pourquoi, en plus des trois sœurs, les Iroquois cultivaient souvent le tournesol pour compléter leur alimentation.

 

Alors que les hommes étaient chargés de la chasse, du commerce et de la guerre, les femmes mohawks étaient responsables de l'agriculture, de la propriété et de la famille.

Les clans étaient toujours dirigés par des femmes, qui prenaient toutes les décisions concernant les terres et les ressources pour chaque clan. Mais les chefs mohawks, qui prenaient les décisions militaires et passaient les accords commerciaux, étaient toujours des hommes. Seuls les hommes représentaient les Mohawks au Grand Conseil iroquois, mais seules les femmes votaient pour déterminer qui seraient les représentants des Mohawks.

Outre les neuf représentants au conseil iroquois, chaque communauté mohawk avait un conseil local qui guidait le ou les chefs villageois.

Ils étaient répartis en trois clans : l'ours, le loup et la tortue.

 

Les Mohawks guerroyaient souvent contre leurs voisins, les Algonquins.

Lorsque les Hollandais introduisirent les armes à feu comme mode de paiement des peaux de castors, les victoires mohawks se firent plus nombreuses. Cependant, les contacts avec les Européens ont provoqué un déclin rapide de la population. La plupart des Mohawks prirent le parti des Anglais dans la guerre contre les Français et les Indiens. Mais certains d'entre eux, qui étaient convertis à la religion catholique (les Indiens dévots du Québec), et qui étaient installés dans des missions le long du Saint-Laurent et surtout à Caughnawaga, épousèrent la cause des Français. Ils servirent même de guides dans des expéditions contre leurs anciens alliés de la Ligue des Iroquois.

 

Plus tard, durant la guerre d'Indépendance, sous l'influence de leur chef Joseph Brant, les Mohawks prirent le parti des Anglais.

Leurs descendants sont installés dans la baie de Quinte et dans la réserve indienne des Six Nations à Brantford, dans l'Ontario.

Le recensement américain de 1990 fait état de 15 500 Mohawks.

 

 

Au cours du 18e siècle, les Mohawks, regroupés dans deux villes principales sur la rivière Mohawk, sont de plus en plus en minorité par rapport aux colons venus d’Europe.

Ils adoptent les types de maisons de leurs voisins et entretiennent des liens étroits avec l’administration britannique.

Le surintendant des affaires indiennes, sir William Johnson, épouse  Mary Brant, une Mohawk et utilise les guerriers de sa tribu contre les Français dans la guerre de Sept Ans (connue en Amérique du Nord comme la guerre entre les Français et les Indiens). William Johnson meurt avant le début de la Révolution américaine. Cependant, les Mohawks s’engagent dans ce conflit en 1777 sous le commandement de Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), le frère de Mary, tout juste rentré d’Angleterre. Avec  ses guerriers, ils infligent plusieurs défaites aux Américains, mais ils sont finalement forcés d’abandonner leurs maisons. Celles-ci sont confisquées et utilisées par les colons américains.

Après la guerre, Joseph Brant et ses hommes s’installent près de la rivière Grand sur une concession (aujourd’hui appelée « réserve des Six Nations ») que leur accorde le gouverneur. D’autres Mohawks, dirigés par John Deserontyon, s’établissent dans la baie de Quinte. La plupart étant anglicans, l’argent donné par la reine Anne est partagé entre les deux réserves.

Joseph Brant et Teyoninhokarawen (John Norton) mènent également de nombreux Mohawks au combat pendant la guerre de 1812, où ils luttent du côté des Britanniques. Cette alliance perdure jusqu’au 19e siècle, lorsque d’habiles navigateurs mohawks de Kahnawake, près de Montréal, sont recrutés pour transporter l’armée du général Garnet Wolseley sur le Nil en 1884-1885.

 

Les Mohawks, comme beaucoup d'Amérindiens,  appuient également  les forces armées dans les deux guerres mondiales, ainsi que dans d’autres conflits armés.

 

Malgré l'opposition de son conseil à l'enrôlement des membres de la réserve, la collectivité des Iroquois des Six Nations de Grand River au sud de Brantford, en Ontario, fournit plus de soldats que n'importe quelle autre collectivité autochtone du Canada lors de la guerre de 14-18. Environ 300 d'entre eux allèrent au front. En outre, les membres de cette réserve, la plus populeuse au Canada, donnèrent des centaines de dollars pour aider les orphelins de guerre en Grande-Bretagne et pour apporter d'autres types de secours aux victimes de la guerre.

Nombre des volontaires de la réserve des Six Nations furent d'abord membres du 37e Haldimand Rifles, un régiment de la milice active non permanente établi dans la réserve. Ce régiment fournit la plupart des membres du 114e Bataillon d'infanterie canadien, pour lequel on avait fait du recrutement dans la région. Cinquante Mohawks de Kahnawake au Québec, de même que plusieurs Mohawks d'Akwesasne, se joignirent aux recrues de Grand River dans cette unité. Des Autochtones de l'ouest de l'Ontario et du Manitoba en devinrent aussi membres.

 

Finalement, deux compagnies du bataillon étaient entièrement composées d’Autochtones, y compris les officiers. En reconnaissance de sa forte composition d'Autochtones, le bataillon adopta un emblème composé de deux tomahawks croisés en-dessous de la devise For King and Country (Pour le roi et le pays). De plus, les membres de la Ligue patriotique des femmes des Six Nations brodèrent des symboles iroquois pour donner un drapeau distinctif au bataillon.

De nos jours, un peu plus de 16 000 Mohawks vivent au Québec principalement dans les territoires suivants :

Kanesatake (2 508 habitants), près d'Oka dans les Laurentides, territoire réservé aux Mohawks, mais qui ne constitue pas une réserve indienne au sens de la loi sur les Indiens ;
Kahnawake (10 946 habitants, anciennement Caughnawaga), près de Châteauguay — réserve ;
Akwesasne (partagé entre le Québec, l'Ontario et l'État de New York), aussi connu sous le nom de Saint-Régis — réserve.
Hors du Québec :

Ganienkeh et Kanatsiohareke dans le nord-est de l'État de New York ;
Tyendinaga et Wahta (Gibson) dans le sud de l'Ontario ;
la réserve des Six Nations, où ils forment la majorité des habitants de cette réserve mixte iroquoise, en Ontario.


En 1985, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec les reconnaît officiellement comme l'une des dix nations autochtones du Québec (abénaquise, algonquine, attikamek, crie, huronne-wendat, micmaque, mohawk (ou agnier), innue, naskapie et inuite).

Valérie Gay-Corajoud