MENU 

MENU 

Original : https://www.bearmccreary.com/blog/blog/outlander-sassenach/ 

 

Outlander, the epic new series from Ronald D. Moore based on Diana Gabaldon’s epic novels, is a project that combines many of my passions. I get to score a sweeping narrative, collaborate with world-class musicians, and integrate the Scottish instrumentation and folk music I’ve adored my whole life. (I have already written a whole blog entry about my experiences with Scottish music, and its impact on my life). In the coming weeks I will write about my creative process scoring each episode of this incredible series. For those new to my blog, I tend to get into pretty intense musical detail regarding themes, composition, orchestration, performance and history. I hope that this blog can be a resource as you journey through the series, highlighting the musical threads that guide the story. 

 

SPOILERS AHEAD: For the uninitiated, Outlander follows Claire, a WWII nurse who accidentally travels through time from 1945 to the highlands of Scotland in 1743. From the beginning, I wanted to draw predominantly from Scottish instrumentation and folk music. Instruments such as the fiddle, bagpipes, accordion, penny whistle, accordion and bodhrán (a type of frame drum) form the backbone of the score, supported by orchestral strings, haunting vocals and larger percussion. 

Sassenach

 2014 August 

Outlander’s premiere, “Sassenach,” opens with a stunning shot of the Scottish highlands accompanied by Claire’s voice-over. She is clearly speaking from the future, looking back on her experiences, so I wanted the music to add a sense of wisdom and longing. The score begins with a low sustained D in the orchestral basses and celli, before a combination of bagpipe drones and fiddle enter with haunting, yet distinctly Scottish, drones. The opening cue carries us from the first frame of the series, directly to the Main Title. Along the way, we meet Claire in present day Inverness, and flashback to her final day of the war. These images are underscored with a dreamy orchestral presence, meant to give the sensation that this is all a preamble to a larger story. 

As Claire realizes that the war is over and takes a well-earned swig on the champagne someone thrust into her hand, a penny whistle offers our first glimpse of what will become the Claire and Jamie Theme: 

I’ve already been asked by astute fans why I placed this theme here, before she’s ever met Jamie. My hope was to convey the notion that we’re witnessing this event from the perspective of “Voice Over Claire,” a Claire who’s already gone on this journey and is now looking back on it, to share it with us. The Claire in the voice over has already met Jamie, and is reflecting on this moment as the beginning of her journey that would lead her to him. Furthermore, I could have easily filled this space with triumphant, swelling brass, celebrating the victory for the Allies. But, this story is not about the war, its about Claire. I hope the score helps the viewer focus their attention on the woman in the midst of all this jubilant energy. The Claire and Jamie Theme will develop later in the episode, and I will discuss it in further detail then. 

 

This scene also features one of my favorite orchestral passages in the series thus far. The larger strings fill out the lush harmonies behind the penny whistle, while a smaller string ensemble within them counters with a gently leaping arpeggiated figure: 

  

The figure should feel energetic, but I asked the string players to play as gently as possible, resulting in a gentle, rocking texture that almost feels like a lullaby. This cue leads directly into the Main Title sequence of Outlander: my adaptation of my favorite Scottish folk tune, “The Skye Boat Song.” 

 

I’ve always adored this piece, and felt its well known lyrical connection to the Jacobite Uprising would make it appropriate for this show. I struggled to connected with the famous lyrics by Sir H. Boulton, however. Thankfully, vocalist Raya Yarbrough recalled another set of lyrics by Robert Louis Stevenson. These are much better suited to Claire’s story, and after we altered a few consonants to change the gender of the speaker, they connected even more directly. 

Raya Yarbrough, the voice of our Main Title, has sung for me on many projects, dating back to before the Battlestar days. She and I recently performed together at the Outlander premiere, and she debuted my new Battlestar Galactica suite last week at the Hollywood Bowl (all of this after giving birth to our first child less than two months ago, I might add!). Her voice has contributed substantially to The Walking Dead, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Da Vinci’s Demons and many more projects. If you want to get to know her a little better, check out her two albums on iTunes: her debut self-titled album from Telarc / Concord, and the intimate holiday EP I co-produced with her. 

Ron Moore and I originally intended to feature an instrumental Main Title. I’ve actually never composed a Main Title theme that featured lyrics before, so the idea wasn’t really on my radar in a serious way. After a little experimentation in my studio, I decided to bring Raya in to see how this melody would sound with lyrics. Immediately, I could tell her uniquely timeless vocal quality would bring something special to Outlander, and Ron Moore and the other producers immediately agreed. 

I ’m thrilled to say that The Outlander Main Title is available now as a digital download from iTunes and other digital retailers! 

After the extended prologue and Main Title, we dive into the real narrative, beginning with Claire and Frank in 1945. This episode is unique because we spend most of our time in the Forties, coming to know Claire’s relationship with Frank before she is whisked away through time. With half the episode dedicated to exploring his relationship with Claire, I knew Frank would need a theme of his own. 

Frank is a British officer, and a likable, if not passionate, man. I wanted to represent him in a distinct way, to differentiate him from the Scottish aspects of the score. I listened to the works of my favorite English composers Ralph Vaughan Williams, Gustav Holst and Benjamin Britten, who frequently incorporated English folk songs into their orchestral compositions, songs that have a harmonic and instrumental quality distinct from Scottish music. I also wanted Frank to have an instrument unique to him. I selected the clarinet, because it evokes a gentrified sensibility that could stand apart from the rugged, reedy textures of the Scottish folk instruments. At last, I wrote the Frank Theme: 

Frank’s Theme is featured prominently throughout the first episode, along with lush harmonies in the strings and concert woodwinds that evoke the writings of my favorite British composers. His scenes with Claire needed to tell their own smaller story within the larger framework of the series: he and Claire are awkward around each other at first, and gradually become more intimate as the episode progresses. The score for their scenes is always romantic, even though the sex (in particular a scene in the overgrown ruins of Castle Leoch!) gets quite steamy. The function of these scenes was to establish a relationship with Frank strong enough to sustain tension for the rest of the season. I always used the score in their scenes together to suggest a deep, meaningful bond between them. The audience must believe they have a genuine connection for this series to work, so I knew where I needed to focus the music. 

The Frank Theme sustains much of the score in the first thirty minutes of the episode. A new theme, however, is introduced about halfway through that may prove to be even more important. This theme is first hinted at when Mrs. Graham reads Claire’s palm and discusses her future, in a subtle duet for Celtic harp and concert flute. The theme takes center stage, however, when Claire and Frank witness the dance of the Druids at the stones. 

This scene is a pivotal one for the series, and for fans of the novels, so I knew it had to be perfect. Ron crafted the scene in such a way to leave me space for a featured piece of music, one that might straddle the line between score and source. The dancers presumably were hearing some sort of music, to guide their motions, so I wanted to honor the notion that they may have been singing, while simultaneously playing the scene from Claire’s perspective, to acknowledge the profound impact the moment had on her. 

I had no clue what sort of music may have survived from the days of the Druids, so I called in my resident music historian, Adam Knight Gilbert.  Adam is incredibly knowledgable, and a real character as you can see from my video blogs with him about collaborating on Da Vinci’s Demons and Black Sails.  I knew I could count on him to help make the musical world of Outlander as authentic as possible. 

 

He informed me what I suspected was the case: no music from the Druids survives today, and much of the music people associate with Druids today is based on mythology built up from pop culture, about as historically accurate as Spinal Tap. With no true piece to draw upon, I decided instead to adapt the oldest lyric from the region that I could. Adam found a number of contenders and I chose the one I felt matched the scene the best, the first stanza of a poem called “Duan Na Muthairn,” or “Rune of the Muthairn.” These were drawn from a collection by Alexander Carmichael called Carmina Gadelica, published in 1900, that was at the forefront of the Gaelic revival movement of that time period. Translated into English, the text reads: 

 

Thou King of the moon,
Thou King of the sun,
Thou King of the planets,
Thou King of the stars,
Thou King of the globe,
Thou King of the sky,
Oh! lovely Thy countenance,
Thou beauteous Beam. 

 

 

For the music, I composed an original theme, setting this text. I wrote it in the Dorian Mode, a scale I employ frequently for this show for its “old world” flavor, and elegant implied harmonies. Underneath the melody, I composed a distinctly modern harmonic progression to give the theme an other-worldly quality. Listen for the interaction between the F# in the melody and F natural in the bass line. Historically speaking, these scale tones would rarely if ever both appear in a folk song in A minor. With that, I had composed the Stones Theme: 

The sequence begins with a simple ostinato in the Celtic harp, over a haunting bed of orchestral strings. Then, two female voices enter, singing the theme in harmony (all the vocals for this sequence were overdubbed by Raya Yarbrough). As the scene builds, I added further layers of Raya singing, as the instrumentation expands into driving percussion, blistering Scottish fiddle and lush string orchestra. The scene is a composer’s dream, one that features gorgeous visuals, soaring emotions and no dialog whatsoever to compete with the music. Composing this has been one of the highlights of the series thus far, and it allowed me to write a theme that will pay off in the future in interesting ways. 

At last, more than halfway through the episode, Claire journeys through time and awakens in eighteenth century Scotland. From this point, the score takes on a distinctly Scottish tone, one that will remain consistent for the rest of the series. From here on, bagpipes take center stage. 

 

After escaping the red coats, Claire has a run-in with Frank’s ancestor, Black Jack Randall. Astute listeners will pick up a dark, reedy bass clarinet (referencing Frank) playing a distorted, minor version of the Frank Theme as he introduces himself! 

For the second half of the episode, I was careful not to bog down the action with weighty character themes. In another world, I could’ve gone crazy with individual themes for Duncan, Murtagh, Rupert and other characters. I knew, however, that such an approach would shatter the reality of the world Ron had so carefully constructed. I focused, instead, on instrumentation, color and mood. 

The score takes a more folk-influenced approached to arrangement once Claire is back in 1743. This is evident in Jamie and Claire’s first scene together, when they step outside the hut and look upon Inverness in darkness. Here, a solo penny whistle states the Claire and Jamie Theme once again. The arrangement is sparse: the whistle is the only instrument we’re hearing. It’s far from a sweeping romantic phrase. 

This reservation was intentional. Ron and I both felt that the romance was the core of the story, and as such, we didn’t need to dive right into it in the first episode. Indeed, you will hardly hear anything romantic even in the second episode. I decided to let their relationship unfold ahead of the score, to always let their intimacy on screen happen first, and have music comment on it afterwards. This is a direct response to romantic clichés, where the music swells before two lovers kiss, telegraphing to the audience what will happen. The audience needs to wait for the romantic story to pay off, and so the music will need to wait as well. 

The Claire and Jamie Theme is featured in its most prominent statement yet during a riding montage, as she travels with her new companions towards Cocknammon Rock. The visuals are, frankly, stunning. I could have easily filled those sweeping vistas and misty forests with soaring orchestral lines. Instead, we get a single bodhrán, melancholy small string ensemble and Celtic harp laying the foundation for a solo penny whistle stating the Claire and Jamie Theme, before a lonely Small Scottish bagpipe melody concludes the piece. The tone is almost mournful, and yet emotional. The presence of this theme represents the beginning of Claire’s journey, and only in later episodes will it connect directly to her relationship with Jamie.   

At heart, Outlander is not an action series, but it does have its share of action set pieces. These allow me to use Scottish instrumentation in more aggressive ways. My favorite in “Sassenach” is the assault on Cocknammon Rock. Here, I used the Great Highland Bagpipes and took full advantage of the “jet engine.” The pipes are just devastating! 

Percussion plays an important role when writing for the Great Highland Pipes. If you’ve ever heard a marching bagpipe band, you will recognize the signature sound of Scottish snare drums. These drums are specifically designed to cut through the overwhelming roar of bagpipes. Unlike normal drums, their heads are made from kevlar, stretched extremely tight, creating the feeling of playing on a table top, and they have snares on both the top and bottom heads, instead of just the top. They are incredibly loud, and require extreme precision from the players. I knew they would come in handy for Outlander action scenes. In addition to the unique sonic quality of the drums, I’ve always been drawn to the complex, swinging rhythms of Scottish marching cadences. Pulling from that inspiration, I wrote an upbeat, martial cadence for the Scottish snares, divided into bouncing upbeats, giving the action sequence a distinctly Scottish feel. 

The final cue of the episode takes us to Castle Leoch. Here, I gave in to my orchestral instincts and let the music soar. Full orchestral lines rise above a rolling small string ensemble ostinato, while Uilleann and Small Scottish bagpipes play expressive supporting lines. This rollicking groove carries us into the end credits, where Uilleann pipes perform one of my favorite melodies of the episode. This melody isn’t a theme, it was just an idea I heard in my imagination when I composed the end credits. I was inspired! Maybe I’ll bring it back in a future episode, or maybe it will just be unique to “Sassenach.” I concluded the episode with a reprise of Raya Yarbrough’s haunting vocals, singing an ethereal variation of the Stones Theme. 

This End Credits cue is unique to “Sassenach.” Like Da Vinci’s Demons Season Two, I wrote a special End Credits piece for each episode of Outlander. Because Starz airs their episodes without ruining the end credits with promos, I use the opportunity to give the audience an extra minute of emotion, to savor the conclusion from the episode they just experienced. (At the Comic Con screening, the audience burst into such huge applause at the end that I doubt anyone heard a single note of this, so I’m glad its on the air now!) 

The first episode of Outlander introduces the fundamental themes that will provide the building blocks for the score: the Claire and Jaime Theme, the Frank Theme and the Stones Theme. Other themes will weave their way into the score in upcoming episodes, but the biggest shift in the music coming will be my emphasis on Scottish folk tunes and other eighteenth century music. Each episode henceforth features new folk tunes in the score, offering us a glimpse into the world. Some will be familiar, and others will be more obscure. My hope is that the score lives up to and ehances the authenticity of the writing, costumes and immaculate production design.

MENU 

MENU 

Original :  https://www.bearmccreary.com/blog/blog/outlander-sassenach/ 

 

Outlander , la nouvelle série épique de Ronald D. Moore basée sur les romans épiques de Diana Gabaldon, est un projet qui combine plusieurs de mes passions. J'arrive à écrire un récit radical, à collaborer avec des musiciens de classe mondiale et à intégrer l'instrumentation écossaise et la musique folklorique que j'ai adorée toute ma vie. (J'ai déjà écrit toute une entrée de blog sur mes expériences avec la musique écossaise et son impact sur ma vie). Dans les semaines à venir, j'écrirai sur mon processus créatif en marquant chaque épisode de cette incroyable série. Pour ceux qui découvrent mon blog, j'ai tendance à entrer dans des détails musicaux assez intenses concernant les thèmes, la composition, l'orchestration, la performance et l'histoire. J'espère que ce blog pourra être une ressource tout au long de votre parcours dans la série, mettant en évidence les fils musicaux qui guident l'histoire. 

SPOILERS AHEAD: Pour les non-initiés, Outlander suit Claire, une infirmière de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui voyage accidentellement dans le temps de 1945 aux Highlands d'Écosse en 1743. Dès le début, je voulais puiser principalement dans l'instrumentation écossaise et la musique folklorique. Des instruments tels que le violon, la cornemuse, l'accordéon, le sifflet penny, l'accordéon et le bodhrán (un type de tambour sur cadre) forment la colonne vertébrale de la partition, soutenus par des cordes orchestrales, des voix obsédantes et des percussions plus larges.  

Sassenach 

Août 2014 

La première de Outlander , «Sassenach», s'ouvre sur une superbe photo des Highlands écossais accompagnée de la voix off de Claire. Elle parle clairement du futur, en regardant en arrière sur ses expériences, donc je voulais que la musique ajoute un sentiment de sagesse et de désir. La partition commence par un D bas et soutenu dans les basses orchestrales et les violoncelles, avant qu'une combinaison de bourdons de cornemuse et de violon entre avec des bourdons obsédants, mais nettement écossais. Le signal d'ouverture nous transporte de la première image de la série, directement au titre principal. En cours de route, nous rencontrons Claire dans l'actuelle Inverness et nous nous remémorons son dernier jour de la guerre. Ces images sont soulignées d'une présence orchestrale rêveuse, destinée à donner la sensation que tout cela est un préambule à une histoire plus large. 

Alors que Claire se rend compte que la guerre est finie et prend une gorgée bien méritée du champagne que quelqu'un lui a mis dans la main, un sifflet à un sou offre notre premier aperçu de ce qui deviendra le thème Claire et Jamie: 

Le thème de Claire

Des fans avisés m'ont déjà demandé pourquoi j'avais placé ce thème ici, avant qu'elle ne rencontre Jamie. Mon espoir était de transmettre l'idée que nous assistons à cet événement du point de vue de «Voice Over Claire», une Claire qui a déjà fait ce voyage et qui le regarde maintenant, de le partager avec nous. La Claire en voix off a déjà rencontré Jamie, et réfléchit sur ce moment comme le début de son voyage qui la conduirait à lui. De plus, j'aurais pu facilement remplir cet espace d'airain triomphant et gonflant, célébrant la victoire des Alliés. Mais, cette histoire ne parle pas de la guerre, mais de Claire. J'espère que la partition aidera le spectateur à concentrer son attention sur la femme au milieu de toute cette énergie jubilatoire. Le thème Claire et Jamie se développera plus tard dans l'épisode, et j'en discuterai plus en détail ensuite. 

Cette scène présente également l'un de mes passages orchestraux préférés dans la série jusqu'à présent. Les cordes plus grandes remplissent les harmonies luxuriantes derrière le sifflet de penny, tandis qu'un plus petit ensemble de cordes en leur sein contrecarre avec une figure arpégée qui saute doucement: 

Prologue Ostinato

La silhouette doit être énergique, mais j'ai demandé aux joueurs de cordes de jouer aussi doucement que possible, ce qui donne une texture douce et basculante qui ressemble presque à une berceuse. Cette réplique mène directement à la séquence du titre principal d' Outlander : mon adaptation de mon morceau folklorique écossais préféré, «The Skye Boat Song». 

IJ'ai toujours adoré cette pièce et j'ai senti que son lien lyrique bien connu avec le soulèvement jacobite le rendrait approprié pour ce spectacle. J'ai eu du mal à me connecter avec les célèbres paroles de Sir H. Boulton, cependant. Heureusement, la chanteuse Raya Yarbrough a rappelé une autre série de paroles de Robert Louis Stevenson. Celles-ci sont beaucoup mieux adaptées à l'histoire de Claire, et après avoir modifié quelques consonnes pour changer le sexe de l'orateur, elles se sont connectées encore plus directement. 

Raya Yarbrough, la voix de notre titre principal, a chanté pour moi sur de nombreux projets, datant d'avant l' époque de Battlestar . Elle et moi avons récemment joué ensemble à la première de l' Outlander , et elle a fait ses débuts la semaine dernière au Hollywood Bowl de ma nouvelle suite Battlestar Galactica (tout cela après avoir donné naissance à notre premier enfant il y a moins de deux mois, pourrais-je ajouter!). Sa voix a largement contribué à The Walking Dead, Agents of SHIELD, Da Vinci's Demons et bien d'autres projets. Si vous voulez mieux la connaître, découvrez ses deux albums sur iTunes: son premier album éponyme de Telarc / Concord , et l' EP intime de  vacances que j'ai coproduit avec elle. 

Ron Moore et moi avions initialement l'intention de présenter un titre principal instrumental. En fait, je n'ai jamais composé un thème de titre principal avec des paroles auparavant, donc l'idée n'était pas vraiment sur mon radar de manière sérieuse. Après un peu d'expérimentation dans mon studio, j'ai décidé de faire venir Raya pour voir comment cette mélodie sonnerait avec les paroles. Immédiatement, je pouvais dire que sa qualité vocale unique et intemporelle apporterait quelque chose de spécial à Outlander,  et Ron Moore et les autres producteurs ont immédiatement convenu. 

Ron Moore et moi avions initialement l'intention de présenter un titre principal instrumental. En fait, je n'ai jamais composé un thème de titre principal avec des paroles auparavant, donc l'idée n'était pas vraiment sur mon radar de manière sérieuse. Après un peu d'expérimentation dans mon studio, j'ai décidé de faire venir Raya pour voir comment cette mélodie sonnerait avec les paroles. Immédiatement, je pouvais dire que sa qualité vocale unique et intemporelle apporterait quelque chose de spécial à Outlander,  et Ron Moore et les autres producteurs ont immédiatement convenu. 

Frank est un officier britannique et un homme sympathique, sinon passionné. Je voulais le représenter de manière distincte, le différencier des aspects écossais de la partition. J'ai écouté les œuvres de mes compositeurs anglais préférés Ralph Vaughan Williams, Gustav Holst et Benjamin Britten, qui incorporaient fréquemment des chansons folkloriques anglaises dans leurs compositions orchestrales, des chansons qui ont une qualité harmonique et instrumentale distincte de la musique écossaise. Je voulais aussi que Frank ait un instrument qui lui soit propre. J'ai choisi la clarinette, car elle évoque une sensibilité gentrifiée qui pourrait se démarquer des textures rugueuses et rugueuses des instruments folkloriques écossais. Enfin, j'ai écrit le thème Frank: 

Le thème de Frank est mis en évidence tout au long du premier épisode, avec des harmonies luxuriantes dans les cordes et les bois de concert qui évoquent les écrits de mes compositeurs britanniques préférés. Ses scènes avec Claire devaient raconter leur propre histoire plus petite dans le cadre plus large de la série: lui et Claire sont maladroits l'un avec l'autre au début, et deviennent progressivement plus intimes au fur et à mesure que l'épisode progresse. La partition de leurs scènes est toujours romantique, même si le sexe (en particulier une scène dans les ruines envahies de Castle Leoch!) Devient assez torride. La fonction de ces scènes était d'établir une relation avec Frank suffisamment forte pour maintenir la tension pour le reste de la saison. J'ai toujours utilisé la partition dans leurs scènes ensemble pour suggérer un lien profond et significatif entre eux. 

Le thème de Frank soutient une grande partie de la partition dans les trente premières minutes de l'épisode. Un nouveau thème, cependant, est introduit à mi-chemin et peut s'avérer encore plus important. Ce thème est évoqué pour la première fois lorsque Mme Graham lit la paume de Claire et discute de son avenir, dans un subtil duo pour harpe celtique et flûte de concert. Le thème occupe cependant une place centrale lorsque Claire et Frank assistent à la danse des druides sur les pierres. 

Cette scène est cruciale pour la série et pour les fans des romans, donc je savais qu'elle devait être parfaite. Ron a conçu la scène de manière à me laisser de l'espace pour un morceau de musique en vedette, qui pourrait chevaucher la ligne entre la partition et la source. Les danseurs entendaient vraisemblablement une sorte de musique, pour guider leurs mouvements, alors je voulais honorer l'idée qu'ils avaient peut-être chanté, tout en jouant simultanément la scène du point de vue de Claire, pour reconnaître l'impact profond du moment sur elle. 

Je n'avais aucune idée du genre de musique qui aurait pu survivre à l'époque des druides, alors j'ai fait appel à mon historien de la musique résident, Adam Knight Gilbert. Adam est incroyablement compétent et est un vrai personnage comme vous pouvez le voir sur mes blogs vidéo avec lui sur la collaboration sur Da Vinci's Demons and Black Sails . Je savais que je pouvais compter sur lui pour aider à rendre le monde musical d' Outlander aussi authentique que possible. 

Il m'a informé de ce que je soupçonnais d'être le cas: aucune musique des druides ne survit aujourd'hui, et une grande partie de la musique que les gens associent aux druides aujourd'hui est basée sur une mythologie construite à partir de la culture pop, à peu près aussi historiquement exacte que Spinal Tap. N'ayant pas de véritable morceau sur lequel puiser, j'ai plutôt décidé d'adapter les paroles les plus anciennes de la région que je pouvais. Adam a trouvé un certain nombre de prétendants et j'ai choisi celui qui correspondait le mieux à la scène, la première strophe d'un poème intitulé «Duan Na Muthairn» ou «Rune of the Muthairn». Ceux-ci ont été tirés d'une collection d'Alexandre Carmichael appelée Carmina Gadelica , publiée en 1900, qui était à l'avant-garde du mouvement de renouveau gaélique de cette période. Traduit en anglais, le texte se lit comme suit: 

 

Toi, roi de la lune,
roi du soleil,
roi des planètes,
roi des étoiles,
roi du globe,
roi du ciel,
oh! belle ta physionomie, ta
belle poutre. 

 

Pour la musique, j'ai composé un thème original, définissant ce texte. Je l'ai écrit dans le mode Dorian, une échelle que j'emploie fréquemment pour ce spectacle pour sa saveur de «vieux monde» et ses élégantes harmonies implicites. Sous la mélodie, j'ai composé une progression harmonique résolument moderne pour donner au thème une qualité d'un autre monde. Écoutez l'interaction entre le fa # dans la mélodie et le fa naturel dans la ligne de basse. Historiquement parlant, ces tonalités d'échelle n'apparaissent que rarement, voire jamais, toutes les deux dans une chanson folklorique en la mineur. Avec ça, j'avais composé le thème des pierres: 

La séquence commence par un simple ostinato à la harpe celtique, sur un lit envoûtant de cordes orchestrales. Ensuite, deux voix féminines entrent, chantant le thème en harmonie (toutes les voix de cette séquence ont été overdubbed par Raya Yarbrough). Au fur et à mesure que la scène se construit, j'ai ajouté d'autres couches de chant Raya, alors que l'instrumentation se développe en percussions entraînantes, violon écossais cloquant et orchestre à cordes luxuriant. La scène est le rêve d'un compositeur, celui qui présente des visuels magnifiques, des émotions en plein essor et aucun dialogue pour rivaliser avec la musique. La composition a été l'un des points forts de la série jusqu'à présent, et cela m'a permis d'écrire un thème qui portera ses fruits à l'avenir de manière intéressante 

Enfin, à plus de la moitié de l'épisode, Claire voyage dans le temps et se réveille dans l'Écosse du XVIIIe siècle. A partir de là, la partition prend un ton nettement écossais, qui restera cohérent pour le reste de la série. À partir de là, les cornemuses occupent le devant de la scène.  

 

Après avoir échappé aux manteaux rouges, Claire a une altercation avec l'ancêtre de Frank, Black Jack Randall. Les auditeurs astucieux ramasseront une clarinette basse sombre et reedy (faisant référence à Frank) jouant une version déformée et mineure du Frank Theme alors qu'il se présente! 

Pour la seconde moitié de l'épisode, j'ai pris soin de ne pas enliser l'action avec des thèmes de personnages lourds. Dans un autre monde, j'aurais pu devenir fou avec des thèmes individuels pour Duncan, Murtagh, Rupert et d'autres personnages. Je savais, cependant, qu'une telle approche briserait la réalité du monde que Ron avait si soigneusement construit. Je me suis plutôt concentré sur l'instrumentation, la couleur et l'ambiance. 

La partition adopte une approche plus folklorique de l'arrangement une fois que Claire est de retour en 1743. Cela est évident dans la première scène de Jamie et Claire ensemble, quand ils sortent de la hutte et regardent Inverness dans l'obscurité. Ici, un sifflet solo énonce à nouveau le thème Claire et Jamie. La disposition est clairsemée: le sifflet est le seul instrument que nous entendons. C'est loin d'être une phrase romantique radicale. 

Cette réserve était intentionnelle. Ron et moi avons tous les deux senti que la romance était au cœur de l'histoire, et en tant que tel, nous n'avions pas besoin de nous plonger directement dans le premier épisode. En effet, vous n'entendrez presque rien de romantique même dans le deuxième épisode. J'ai décidé de laisser leur relation se dérouler avant la partition, de toujours laisser leur intimité à l'écran se produire en premier, et d'avoir de la musique commentée après. C'est une réponse directe aux clichés romantiques, où la musique gonfle avant que  deux amants s'embrassent, télégraphiant au public ce qui va se passer. Le public doit attendre que l'histoire romantique porte ses fruits, et donc la musique devra également attendre. 

bodhran
bodhran

Le thème Claire et Jamie est présenté dans sa déclaration la plus importante à ce jour lors d'un montage d'équitation, alors qu'elle voyage avec ses nouveaux compagnons vers Cocknammon Rock. Les visuels sont, franchement, époustouflants. J'aurais pu facilement remplir ces vues panoramiques et ces forêts brumeuses avec des lignes orchestrales en flèche. Au lieu de cela, nous obtenons un seul bodhrán, un petit ensemble mélancolique à cordes et une harpe celtique jetant les bases d'un sifflet solo énonçant le thème de Claire et Jamie, avant qu'une mélodie solitaire de petite cornemuse écossaise ne termine la pièce. Le ton est presque triste et pourtant émouvant. La présence de ce thème représente le début du voyage de Claire, et ce n'est que dans les épisodes ultérieurs qu'il se connectera directement à sa relation avec Jamie. 

bodhran

Au fond, Outlander n'est pas une série d'action, mais il a sa part de pièces d'action. Celles-ci me permettent d'utiliser l'instrumentation écossaise de manière plus agressive. Mon préféré dans «Sassenach» est l'assaut sur Cocknammon Rock. Ici, j'ai utilisé la cornemuse des Great Highland et j'ai pleinement profité du «moteur à réaction». Les tuyaux sont tout simplement dévastateurs! 

La percussion joue un rôle important lors de l'écriture pour les Great Highland Pipes. Si vous avez déjà entendu un orchestre de cornemuse en marche, vous reconnaîtrez le son caractéristique des caisses claires écossaises. Ces tambours sont spécialement conçus pour couper à travers le rugissement écrasant de la cornemuse. Contrairement aux tambours normaux, leurs têtes sont en kevlar, étirées extrêmement serrées, créant la sensation de jouer sur une table, et elles ont des caisses claires sur les têtes supérieure et inférieure, au lieu de juste le dessus. Ils sont incroyablement bruyants et nécessitent une extrême précision de la part des joueurs. Je savais qu'ils seraient utiles pour  Outlanderscènes d'action. En plus de la qualité sonore unique de la batterie, j'ai toujours été attiré par les rythmes complexes et oscillants des cadences de marche écossaises. En m'inspirant de cette inspiration, j'ai écrit une cadence martiale optimiste pour les caisses claires écossaises, divisée en rythmes rebondissants, donnant à la séquence d'action une sensation typiquement écossaise. 

Le dernier signal de l'épisode nous emmène à Castle Leoch. Ici, j'ai cédé à mes instincts orchestraux et laissé la musique s'envoler. Des lignes orchestrales complètes s'élèvent au-dessus d'un petit ensemble à cordes roulant ostinato, tandis que Uilleann et Small Scottish cornemuse jouent des lignes de soutien expressives. Ce groove exubérant nous emmène au générique de fin, où les pipes Uilleann interprètent l'une de mes mélodies préférées de l'épisode. Cette mélodie n'est pas un thème, c'était juste une idée que j'ai entendue dans mon imagination lorsque j'ai composé le générique de fin. J'étais inspiré! Peut-être que je le rapporterai dans un prochain épisode, ou peut-être sera-t-il simplement unique à «Sassenach». J'ai conclu l'épisode avec une reprise de la voix envoûtante de Raya Yarbrough, chantant une variation éthérée du thème des pierres. 

bodhran

 j'ai écrit une pièce spéciale End Credits pour chaque épisode d' Outlander . Parce que Starz diffuse ses épisodes sans ruiner le générique de fin avec des promotions, j'en profite pour donner au public une minute d'émotion supplémentaire, pour savourer la conclusion de l'épisode qu'il vient de vivre. (Lors de la projection du Comic Con, le public a été tellement applaudi à la fin que je doute que quiconque ait entendu une seule note à ce sujet, alors je suis heureux que ce soit à l'antenne maintenant!) 

Le premier épisode d' Outlander présente les thèmes fondamentaux qui fourniront les éléments de base de la partition: le thème Claire et Jaime, le thème Frank et le thème Stones. D'autres thèmes se faufileront dans la partition dans les prochains épisodes, mais le plus grand changement dans la musique à venir sera mon accent sur les airs folkloriques écossais et d'autres musiques du XVIIIe siècle. Chaque épisode présente désormais de nouveaux airs folkloriques dans la partition, nous offrant un aperçu du monde. Certains seront familiers et d'autres seront plus obscurs. J'espère que la partition sera à la hauteur et améliorera l'authenticité de l'écriture, des costumes et de la conception de la production immaculée.