MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

By John Williams, 1746
By Hugh Douglas Hamilton, 1785
The Decapitation of Rebel Lords on Great Tower Hill by Robert Wilkinson (1846)
After Culloden, by John Seymour Lucas (1884)

The Jacobite defeat left the field free for the English who did not hesitate to promulgate laws seeking to annihilate the Scottish way of life. For example, the Dress Act of 1746 forbade the wearing of tartan and highland dress. Anyone wearing the tartan could thus 6 months of imprisonment and sending to the colonies in case of recidivism. The ban on carrying arms was reinforced. The bagpipes were forbidden. The authority of the clan leaders was suppressed and Scottish Gaelic banned. This law was abandoned in 1782 but dealt a very hard blow to Scottish culture and added to the rancor that the Scottish people already bore to the English. 

Charles VIII must flee. He takes refuge first with Frazer de Lovat, Hanoverian supporter who does not have the courage to refuse hospitality to this sad and dejected prince. Bonnie Prince Charlie's head is priced at 30,000 pounds, and he wanders for nearly a year in the Islands and Highlands before finally leaving Scotland, disguised as a woman, in September 1746. Edge of the Happy, a French frigate. 

He will end his alcoholic life and never see Scotland again 

The British army suffered only fifty dead and 259 wounded. Only an officer, Lord Robert Kerr, lost his life. Another, Colonel Rich, lost a hand and was severely wounded in the head. Some captains and lieutenants were also slightly injured. 

 
 

The Scots, which numbered approximately 6000 men, suffered about 2000 deaths. 336 Jacobites and 222 French were taken prisoner. 

The ensuing Jacobite hunt allowed Cumberland to take more prisoners and nearly 3,500 Scots were imprisoned. 

936 of them were sold as slaves and sent to the cotton fields in the colonies. 

More than a hundred executions were given in public places in London. Senior Jacobite officers were beheaded. Many other prisoners were hanged, drowned, or quartered. 

The Battle of Culloden by David Morier
Le duc de Cumberland by David Morier
Charles Edouard Stuart
The Jacobites at Prestonpans
Bonnie Prince Charlie by John Pettie
George Murray -unknown artist
Sir John Cope, by William Aikman
Donald Cameron - unknown artist
Charles Edouard Stuart by William Mosman 1750
Charles Edouard Stuart

Sir John Cope, the general commanding government forces in Scotland, is ordered to break the revolt. He rallies his troops, but the vast majority of his recruits have no real experience, and he is embarrassed by a multitude of setbacks, including the illness of the commander of his cavalry. Nevertheless, the Hanoverian officers seem convinced that the rebels will never dare to attack an army with both infantry and cavalry. During their march, they tell the locals that there will be no battle. 

Charles's army captured Edinburgh almost without a fight on September 16th; Cope, leaving Aberdeen by boat, arrives too late to face them. 

Commander-in-Chief: 

Charles Edourad Stuart 

and Lord John Murray 

 2500 men 

(including 300 Irish) 

Commander in chief : 

       John Cope 

 2300 men whose 

500 dragons (cavalry) 

- 6 guns 

- 6 mortars 

Jacobite Army 

Governmental Army 

English fusilier - Royal Scotian fusilier - Highlander jacobite - Highlander of the Black Watch (loyalist) 

Charles Edward Stuart, eldest son of Prince Jacques François Stuart and the pretender Stuart to the English and Scottish crowns, landed in Eriskay, an island in North West Scotland, on July 23, 1745 to create an insurrection in Britain and thus overthrowing the Hanoverian king, George II to place on the throne, his father, Prince Jacques. 

He hopes to get the support of the French fleet but it is badly in point and Louis XV is late in making the decision to support him. He finds himself alone in having to raise an army in Scotland where many clans, Catholic or Protestant, support the Jacobite cause. 

The Jacobite left flank is struggling to progress. The ground is very muddy and the distance separating them from the government forces is greater than for the rest of the army. The load is slowed down by the mud, the losses are enormous. The MacDonalds suffer very severe losses and all officers of the Chisholms unit are killed. The MacDonalds are starting to flee. Cumberland immediately seizes the opportunity by sending 2 troops of Dragons chasing highlanders. The ground prevents the Dragons from pursuing the fleeing troops and they turn to the Irish pickets that were to stabilize the Scottish left flank. The Jacobite left flank is now completely destroyed. Murray decides to send the Royal Scotsman and the Kilmarnock Guards into battle. When they engage in combat, the entire Jacobite army is already routed. They then fall on a Campbell regiment, exchange gunshots and begin a retreat in order. The Scottish militia (government forces) commanded by a Campbell, then ambushes them and forces them to expose themselves. They are then attacked by 3 squadrons of the Dragons of Kerr which will undergo, in addition, heavy losses, thus proving the ferocity and the value of these two regiments. The maneuvers of the Royal Scots and the Guards of Kilmarnock, moreover, certainly gave Prince Charles Stuart time to flee. 

The Irish pickets, meanwhile, will cover the retreat of the Highlanders, suffering very heavy losses but preventing an additional massacre. 

 
 

It can be said that the battle turned into a massacre. 

The Duke of Cumberland ordered his troops not to make quarter to the enemies. The governmental cavalry gives the hunt to the highlanders and the massacres on sight. We also see that civilians are killed by government forces. The wounded are completed on the battlefield and many prisoners will be executed. Only certain French troops will be captured without being shot. Some Jacobite officers taken prisoners still escape execution on the field to be decapitated later, in public place. In the days following the battle, the hunt continues and anyone suspected of being Jacobite will be imprisoned or executed on the spot. 

These abuses will be worth in Cumberland the nickname of 'Cumberland the butcher' ... 

The next 20 minutes, the government artillery proves its superiority by watering the Scottish ranks while Charles, out of reach, waiting for government troops to move. The Jacobites wipe enemy fire for more than half an hour. The order to charge is finally given to the Scots. The marshy terrain forces the Scottish troops to deviate on their right flank, regrouping them under the English fire (muskets and cannon shots). Despite this, many of them reach the English ranks. The Jacobite losses are nevertheless already considerable at this moment of the battle. 

The morning of April 16th is rainy. The government troops are rested and the Jacobite army is exhausted ... The men have hardly eaten anything for 24 hours. 

Government forces are setting up camp and leave at 5am. The first Irish pickets are spotted around 8:00 am and at 11:00, the two armies face each other. 

Murray, who commands the right Jacobite flank, realizes that in front of him, a low wall will greatly disrupt his advance. He then decides, without consulting or informing anyone, to move towards the interior of Culloden Moor by forming 3 columns. The Duke of Perth misinterprets this troop movement and believes in a general advance. The left flank does not move. 

The result is catastrophic: Huge holes are formed in the Jacobite ranks which are then blocked with the second line of the troops. The prince is in the center with a small escort and some bodyguards. 

 
 

Cumberland, meanwhile, extends his first and second line with some regiments from behind. He covers his right flank with part of his cavalry. On the left flank, Hawley prepares to overflow the Jacobite right flank. Anticipating this movement, the two battalions of Lord Lewis Gordon have positioned themselves at the wall but government troops remain out of reach. The Gordon decide to come back to cover the rear of the army. The Dragons then cross the low walls and find themselves face to face with 3 Scottish regiments, at the rear of the army. 

Prince William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, who succeeds Cope and Hawley, after their failures, decides to wait until the end of winter and moves his troops north of Aberdeen. This period of rest enabled him to amass an additional 5,000 men, German Hessian mercenaries led by Prince Frederick II of Hesse-Cassel. These regiments also block the entire south side to prevent any retreat of the Jacobite troops. 

 
 

With the weather improving on April 8, Cumberland decided to resume his campaign and headed for Inverness, where more than 5,000 Jacobites and their leader, Prince Charles Edward Stuart, were holed up. The prince decides to leave Inverness and takes the command of his troops in person in order to give a battle which is seen as decisive. 

Against the advice of his senior officers, Prince Charles chooses the battlefield of Culloden ... 

 
 

On the night of April 15, the Jacobite army attempted a surprise attack but the march was long and disorganized and the attack failed miserably, most of the Scottish troops not even meeting the enemy. 

At the beginning of November 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie became aware of the need to act. The Jacobite army crosses the border and heads south. As the prince feared, the army withered along the way, the Highlanders not being known for their discipline. But it is still 5,000 Jacobites who appear before Derby in early December. Opposite, three armies are en route to intercept it. In the north-east, General Wade maneuvered to cut off his retreat, the Duke of Cumberland advanced in the Midlands and Finchey set up a third corps to defend London. In all, 30,000 soldiers with a large artillery park. Derby is separated from the English capital by only 200 kilometers, so in London panic wins the population. Even George II settles on a yacht, ready to leave England for Hanover if the situation goes wrong. But, against the advice of the king who wishes to go ahead, the Jacobite staff decides to turn back. 

 
 

Back in Scotland, the Jacobites can enrich their numbers, reaching 8,000 men. They receive from France a meager reinforcement, more symbolic than anything else: a battalion (700 men) of the Royal Scots and a little artillery. On 17 January, they crushed General Hawey's government force in the Battle of Falkirk Muir at the foot of Stirling Fortress, the English infantry still unable to stop Highlanders. There, the brave Bonnie Prince Charlie makes a big mistake in not trying to seize the fortress, fortified point very important, while the garrison, abandoned by the army that flees to Inverness, is demoralized. 

 
 

The night of February 16, 1746 at Moy Hall, the English army is ridiculed when, terrorized by five men hidden in the dark and making a deafening din, the 1700 soldiers of General John Campbell, Earl Loudoun escape (this fact of war remained famous under the name of 'rout of Moy Hall'). They thought they were dealing with MacDonald, Cameron and MacKintosh clans in their entirety. Completely panicked, Lord Loudoun even abandons Inverness, adding to the confusion among the English. The unfortunate officer then falls on the Jacobite vanguard commanded by the Duke of Perth. His army is cut to pieces. One of his officers, Captain Angus MacKintosh, is taken prisoner and returned to his wife, Lady Anne Farquharson-MacKintosh, who has become chief of the clan since the betrayal of her husband. 

Finally, the Prince's charisma and his infectious enthusiasm bend the Jacobite rulers. Lochiel and 700 Cameron join him, like 400 MacDonald of Clanranald, 120 of Glencoe, and another 400 of Lochgarry. Finally, it is more than 3,000 highlanders from the west who stand under the banner of the pretender Stuart, and walk to the east to the sound of bagpipes. 

Arrived at Ivergary, the Jacobite army still swelled, with the junction of MacDonald of Sleat, MacLeod, MacKenzie, Grant, MacKintosh and even Fraser. From Invergary, 260 Appin's Stewart join them. More in the north, the fierce MacGregor, still deprived of the use of their name, descend from the mountains and seize Inversnaid, capturing the garrison. 

Bonnie Prince Charlie then marches on Edinburgh which he conquers without difficulty on September 16, 1745 

Sources 

 
 

    HARRINGTON Peter – Culloden 1746 – Ed. Osprey, 1991 

    Wikipédia – La bataille de Prestonpans – 

    NikoMagnus sur Sao-Alba  

In the crevasse, at the dawn of September 21, 1745, the dragons of Cope see the spectacle of a load of 1,400 Highlanders accompanied by the wild war cry of the Highlands. 

Cope's inexperienced troops flee, despite Cope and his officers, who try to force them to charge under the threat of gunfire. Cope's army is overrun on his left by the Jacobites, but the ditch and the wall of the park now block their retreat. 

Jacques-Edouard is crowned King of Scotland on September 17 under the title of James VIII at Holyrood. Settled in Edinburgh, the king, very moved, saw many clans come from all over Scotland. 

We had not seen that since Robert the Bruce. Glenmoriston's Grant, MacLachlan and Atholl's Nairne, in turn, pledge their allegiance. But it is obvious that George II will not stay without reacting. 

The battle is over in five minutes with hundreds of Hanoverian soldiers killed or wounded and 1500 captured. The Highlanders, for their part, have to deplore the loss of a hundred fighters killed or wounded. The Jacobites give the wounded and prisoners the best possible care. 

The battle goes up particularly the morale of the followers of the Stuarts, who see many recruits swell their ranks. The victory appears on the side of the Jacobites, but the situation will change, the following year, with the battle of Culloden, near Inverness. 

On September 20, Cope's forces meet the Jacobite vanguard. Cope decides to hold the ground and attack the Jacobite army. He has his army behind a ditch, the park wall that surrounds Preston House protecting his right flank. Charles's lieutenant-general, Lord George Murray, knows the area well, and during the night he moves his army from one side to the other of the ditch, far to the left of Cope's army. For its part, Cope lets the fires burn and moves his troops during the night, while the Highlanders advance, protected by the darkness. 

The first clash took place on September 21, 1745, against the English of General Cope, coming from Aberdeen. 

From Prestonpans to Culloden

September 21, 1745: The Battle of Prestonpans
April 16, 1746: The Battle of Culloden

To life to death with the Highlanders
Invitation to travel 

 

To the north-west of Scotland stretch the misty lakes and hills of the Highland region. It is on this earth that in the middle of the 18th century a clan rises. The Jacobite Highlanders, refusing England's rule, are fighting for their identity and honor. A final struggle that still marks the castles, moors and memories of the region.

At the end of the ticket, you will find a report proposed by Arte in 2018
To life to death with the Highlanders. Invitation to travel

MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Par John Williams, 1746
Par Hugh Douglas Hamilton, 1785
La décapitation des seigneurs rebelles sur Great Tower Hill par Robert Wilkinson (1846)
Après Culloden, par John Seymour Lucas (1884)

La défaite jacobite laissait le champ libre aux Anglais qui n’hésitèrent pas à promulguer des lois cherchant à annihiler le mode de vie écossais. Ainsi, le Dress Act de 1746 interdisait le port du tartan et de la highland dress. Toute personne portant le tartan risquait ainsi 6 mois de prison et l’envoi vers les colonies en cas de récidive. L’interdiction de porter les armes fut renforcée. La cornemuse fut interdite. L’autorité des chefs de clan fut supprimée et le gaélique écossais interdit. Cette loi fut abandonnée en 1782 mais a porté un coup très dur à la culture écossaise et ajouta à la rancœur que le peuple écossais portait déjà envers les Anglais. 

Charles VIII doit fuir. Il se réfugie d’abord chez Fraser de Lovat, partisan hanovrien qui n’a pas le courage de refuser l’hospitalité à ce prince triste et abattu. La tête de Bonnie Prince Charlie est mise à prix pour 30 000 livres (somme colossale), et il erre durant près d’un an dans les Îles et les Highlands avant de parvenir à quitter l’Écosse, déguisé en femme, en septembre 1746 à bord de l’Heureux, une frégate française. 

Il terminera sa vie alcoolique et ne revit jamais l’Écosse. 

L’armée anglaise ne subit qu’une cinquantaine de morts et 259 blessés. Seul un officier, lord Robert Kerr, perdit la vie. Un autre, le colonel Rich perdit une main et fut sévèrement blessé à la tête. Quelques capitaines et lieutenants furent également légèrement blessés. 

 

Les Écossais, qui comptaient approximativement 6 000 hommes, ont subi environ 2 000 morts. 336 Jacobites et 222 Français ont été faits prisonniers. 

La chasse aux Jacobites qui suivit permit à Cumberland de faire plus de prisonniers et c’est en tout près de 3 500 Écossais qui furent emprisonnés. 

936 d’entre eux furent vendus en tant qu’esclaves et envoyés dans les champs de coton, dans les colonies. 

Plus d’une centaine d’exécutions furent données en place publique, à Londres. Des officiers supérieurs jacobites furent décapités. Beaucoup d’autres prisonniers furent pendus, noyés ou écartelés. 

La bataille de Culloden par David Morier
Le duc de Cumberland par David Morier
Charles Edouard Stuart
Les Jacobites à Prestonpans
Bonnie Prince Charlie par John Pettie
George Murray - artiste inconnu
Sir John Cope, par William Aikman
Donald Cameron - artiste inconnu
Charles Edouard Stuart par William Mosman 1750
Charles Edouard Stuart

Sir John Cope, le général commandant les forces gouvernementales en Écosse, reçoit l’ordre de briser la révolte. Il réunit ses troupes, mais la grande majorité de ses recrues n’ont aucune expérience réelle, et il est gêné par une multitude de contretemps, notamment la maladie du commandant de sa cavalerie. Malgré tout, les officiers hanovriens semblent persuadés que les rebelles n’oseront jamais attaquer une armée comptant à la fois de l’infanterie et de la cavalerie. Pendant leur marche, ils affirment aux gens du pays qu’il n’y aura aucune bataille. 

L’armée de Charles s’empare d’Édimbourg sans combat ou presque le 16 septembre ; Cope, partant d’Aberdeen en bateau, arrive trop tard pour les affronter. 

Commandants en chef : 

Charles Édourad Stuart  

et Lord John Murray 

 

2500 hommes 

(dont 300 Irlandais) 

Commandant en chef : 

       John Cope 

2300 hommes dont  

500 dragons 

(cavalerie)  

- 6 canons  

- 6 mortiers   

Armée jacobite 

Armée gouvernementale  

Fusilier anglais - Fusilier du Royal Écossais - Highlander jacobite - Highlander de la Black Watch (loyaliste) 

Charles Édouard Stuart, fils aîné du prince Jacques François Stuart et le prétendant Stuart aux couronnes anglaise et écossaise, débarque à Eriskay, une île du nord-ouest de l’Écosse, le 23 juillet 1745 afin de créer une insurrection en Grande-Bretagne et ainsi renverser le roi hanovrien, George II, pour placer sur le trône son père, le prince Jacques.  

Il espère obtenir le soutien de la flotte française mais elle est bien mal en point et Louis XV tarde à prendre la décision de le soutenir. Il se retrouve ainsi seul à devoir lever une armée en Écosse où beaucoup de clans, catholiques ou protestants, soutiennent la cause jacobite. 

Le flanc gauche jacobite a beaucoup de mal à progresser. Le terrain est très boueux et la distance le séparant des forces gouvernementales est plus grande que pour le reste de l’armée. La charge est ralentie par la boue, les pertes sont énormes. Les MacDonald encaissent des pertes très sévères et tous les officiers de l’unité Chisholms sont tués. Les MacDonald commencent à fuir. Cumberland saisit immédiatement l’occasion en envoyant 2 troupes de Dragons chasser les Highlanders. Le terrain empêche les Dragons de poursuivre les troupes en fuite et ils se tournent alors vers les piquets irlandais qui devaient stabiliser le flanc gauche écossais. Le flanc gauche jacobite est désormais complètement détruit. Murray décide d’envoyer dans la bataille le Royal Écossais et les Gardes de Kilmarnock. Quand ils engagent le combat, l’ensemble de l’armée jacobite est déjà en déroute. Ils tombent alors sur un régiment Campbell, échangent des coups de feu et commencent une retraite en ordre. La milice écossaise (des forces gouvernementales), commandée par un Campbell, les prend alors en embuscade et les force à se mettre à découvert. Ils se font alors attaquer par 3 escadrons des Dragons de Kerr qui subiront, par ailleurs, de lourdes pertes, prouvant ainsi la férocité et la valeur de ces deux régiments. Les manœuvres du Royal Écossais et des Gardes de Kilmarnock ont, de plus, très certainement donné au prince Charles Stuart le temps de fuir. 

Les piquets irlandais, quant à eux, couvriront la retraite des Highlanders, subissant ainsi de très lourdes pertes mais empêchant un massacre supplémentaire. 

 

On peut affirmer que la bataille s’est transformée en massacre.  

Le duc de Cumberland a ordonné à ses troupes de ne pas faire quartier aux ennemis. La cavalerie gouvernementale donne la chasse aux Highlanders et les massacre à vue. On constate également que des civils sont tués par les forces gouvernementales. Les blessés sont achevés sur le champ de bataille et beaucoup de prisonniers seront exécutés. Seules certaines troupes françaises seront faites prisonnières sans être passées par les armes. Quelques officiers jacobites faits prisonniers échappent tout de même à une exécution sur le champ pour être décapités plus tard, en place publique. Les jours suivant la bataille, la chasse continue et toute personne suspectée d’être jacobite sera emprisonnée ou exécutée sur place. 

Ces exactions vaudront à Cumberland le surnom de “Cumberland le boucher“… 

Les 20 minutes qui suivent, l’artillerie gouvernementale prouve sa supériorité en arrosant les rangs écossais tandis que Charles, mis hors de portée, attend que les troupes gouvernementales bougent. Les Jacobites essuient le feu ennemi pendant plus d’une demi-heure. L’ordre de charger est enfin donné aux Écossais. Le terrain marécageux force alors les troupes écossaises à dévier sur leur flanc droit, les regroupant sous le feu anglais (mousquets et mitraille des canons). Malgré cela, beaucoup d’entre eux atteignent les rangs anglais. Les pertes jacobites sont néanmoins déjà considérables à ce moment de la bataille. 

Le matin du 16 avril est pluvieux. Les troupes gouvernementales sont reposées et l’armée jacobite est, elle, épuisée… Les hommes n’ont presque rien mangé depuis 24h. 

Les forces gouvernementales lèvent le camp et partent dès 5h du matin. Les premiers piquets irlandais sont repérés vers 8h et à 11h, les deux armées se font face. 

Murray, qui commande le flanc droit jacobite, se rend compte qu’en face de lui un muret va fortement perturber son avancée. Il décide alors, sans consulter ou informer qui que ce soit, de bouger vers l’intérieur de Culloden Moor en formant 3 colonnes. Le duc de Perth interprète mal ce mouvement de troupe et croit à une avancée générale. Le flanc gauche, lui, ne bouge pas. 

Le résultat est catastrophique : d’énormes trous se forment dans les rangs jacobites qui sont alors bouchés avec la seconde ligne des troupes. Le prince, lui, est au centre avec une petite escorte et quelques gardes du corps. 

 

Cumberland, quant à lui, étend sa première et sa seconde ligne avec quelques régiments de l’arrière. Il couvre son flanc droit avec une partie de sa cavalerie. Sur le flanc gauche, Hawley se prépare à déborder le flanc droit jacobite. Anticipant ce mouvement, les deux bataillons de Lord Lewis Gordon se sont positionnés au niveau du mur mais les troupes gouvernementales restent hors de portée. Les Gordon décident alors de revenir couvrir l’arrière de l’armée. Les Dragons franchissent alors les murets et se retrouvent face à face avec 3 régiments écossais, à l’arrière de l’armée. 

Le prince William Augustus, duc de Cumberland qui succède à Cope et Hawley, après leurs échecs, décide d’attendre la fin de l’hiver et bouge ses troupes au nord d’Aberdeen. Cette période de repos lui a permis de rassembler 5 000 hommes supplémentaires, des mercenaires allemands hessois dirigés par le prince Frédéric II de Hesse-Cassel. Ces régiments bloquent d’ailleurs tout le côté sud afin d’empêcher tout retraite des troupes jacobites. 

 

La météo s’améliorant, le 8 avril, Cumberland décide de reprendre sa campagne et il se dirige vers Inverness où sont retranchés plus de 5 000 Jacobites et leur chef, le prince Charles Édouard Stuart. Le prince décide de quitter Inverness et prend le commandement de ses troupes en personne afin de livrer une bataille qui se profile comme décisive.  

Contre l’avis de ses officiers supérieurs, le prince Charles choisit le champ de bataille de Culloden… 

 

La nuit du 15 avril, l’armée jacobite tente une attaque surprise mais la marche est longue et désorganisée et l’attaque échoue lamentablement, la plupart des troupes écossaises ne rencontrant même pas l’ennemi. 

Début novembre 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie prend conscience qu’il faut agir. L’armée jacobite traverse la frontière et se dirige vers le sud. Comme le prince le redoutait, l’armée s’étiole en cours de route, les Highlanders n’étant pas réputés pour leur discipline. Mais c’est tout de même 5 000 Jacobites qui se présentent devant Derby début décembre. En face, trois armées sont en route pour les intercepter. Au nord-est, le général Wade manœuvre pour leur couper la retraite, le duc de Cumberland avance dans les Midlands et à Finchey s’installe un troisième corps chargé de défendre Londres. En tout, 30 000 soldats avec un gros parc d’artillerie. Derby n’est séparé de la capitale anglaise que de 200 kilomètres, aussi, à Londres, la panique gagne la population. Même George II s’installe sur un yacht, prêt à quitter l’Angleterre pour Hanovre si la situation tourne mal. Mais, contre l’avis du roi qui désire aller de l’avant, l’état-major jacobite décide de rebrousser chemin. 

 

De retour en Écosse, les Jacobites peuvent enrichir leurs effectifs, qui atteignent 8 000 hommes. Ils reçoivent de France un maigre renfort, plus symbolique qu’autre chose : un bataillon (700 hommes) du Royal Écossais et un peu d’artillerie. Le 17 janvier, ils écrasent la force gouvernementale du général Hawey dans la bataille de Falkirk Muir, au pied de la forteresse de Stirling, l’infanterie anglaise se montrant toujours incapable d’arrêter les charges de Highlanders. Là, le courageux Bonnie Prince Charlie commet une grosse erreur en n’essayant pas de s’emparer de la forteresse, point fortifié très important, alors que la garnison, abandonnée par l’armée qui fuit vers Inverness, est démoralisée. 

 

La nuit du 16 février 1746 à Moy Hall, l’armée anglaise est ridiculisée quand, terrorisée par cinq hommes cachés dans l’obscurité et faisant un vacarme assourdissant, les 1 700 soldats du général John Campbell, comte de Loudoun prennent la fuite (ce fait de guerre est resté célèbre sous le nom de "déroute de Moy Hall"). Ils pensaient avoir affaire aux clans MacDonald, Cameron et MacKintosh au complet. Complètement paniqué, lord Loudoun abandonne même Inverness, ajoutant à la confusion parmi les Anglais. L’officier malheureux tombe alors sur l’avant-garde jacobite commandée par le duc de Perth. Son armée est taillée en pièces. L’un de ses officiers, le capitaine Angus MacKintosh, est fait prisonnier et rendu à sa femme, lady Anne Farquharson-MacKintosh, devenue chef du clan depuis la trahison de son époux. 

Finalement, le charisme du prince et son enthousiasme communicatif fait plier les chefs jacobites. Lochiel et 700 Cameron le rejoignent, comme 400 MacDonald de Clanranald, 120 de Glencoe, et encore 400 de Lochgarry. Finalement, c’est plus de 3 000 highlanders de l’ouest qui se rangent sous la bannière du prétendant Stuart, et marchent vers l’est au son des cornemuses.  

Arrivé à Ivergary, l’armée jacobite a encore enflé, avec la jonction des MacDonald de Sleat, des MacLeod, des MacKenzie, des Grant, des MacKintosh et même des Fraser. Au départ d’Invergary, 260 Stewart d’Appin se joignent à eux. Plus dans le nord, les farouches MacGregor, toujours privés de l’usage de leur nom, descendent des montagnes et s’emparent d’Inversnaid, capturant la garnison. 

Bonnie Prince Charlie marche alors sur Édimbourg qu’il conquiert sans difficulté le 16 septembre 1745. 

Sources 

     HARRINGTON Peter – Culloden 1746 – Ed. Osprey, 1991 

    Wikipédia – La bataille de Prestonpans – 

    NikoMagnus sur Sao-Alba  

Dans la crevasse, à l’aube du 21 septembre 1745, les dragons de Cope aperçoivent le spectacle d’une charge de 1 400 Highlanders accompagnés du sauvage cri de guerre des Highlands. 

Les troupes inexpérimentées de Cope fuient, malgré Cope et ses officiers qui tentent de les forcer à charger sous la menace du pistolet. L’armée de Cope est débordée à sa gauche par les Jacobites, mais le fossé et le mur du parc bloquent maintenant leur retraite. 

Jacques-Édouard est couronné roi d’Écosse le 17 septembre sous le titre de Jacques VIII, à Holyrood. Installé à Édimbourg, le roi, très ému, voit arriver de nombreux clans venus de toute l’Écosse.  

On n’avait plus vu cela depuis Robert le Bruce. Les Grant de Glenmoriston, les MacLachlan et les Nairne d’Atholl prêtent à leur tour allégeance. Mais il est évident que George II ne va pas rester sans réagir. 

La bataille est finie en cinq minutes avec des centaines de soldats hanovriens tués ou blessés et 1500 capturés. Les Highlanders, pour leur part, n’ont à déplorer la perte que d’une centaine de combattants tués ou blessés. Les Jacobites accordent aux blessés et aux prisonniers les meilleurs soins possibles. 

La bataille remonte particulièrement le moral des partisans des Stuarts, qui voient de nombreuses recrues grossir leurs rangs. La victoire paraît du côté des Jacobites, mais la situation va changer, l’année suivante, avec la bataille de Culloden, près d’Inverness. 

Le 20 septembre, les forces de Cope rencontrent l’avant-garde jacobite. Cope décide de tenir le terrain et d’attaquer l’armée jacobite. Il dispose son armée derrière un fossé, le mur du parc qui entoure Preston House protégeant son flanc droit. Le lieutenant-général de Charles, Lord George Murray, connaît bien le secteur, et, pendant la nuit, il déplace son armée d’un côté à l’autre du fossé, loin vers la gauche de l’armée de Cope. De son côté, Cope laisse se consumer les feux et déplace ses troupes pendant la nuit, tandis que les Highlanders avancent, protégés par l’obscurité. 

Le premier affrontement a lieu le 21 septembre 1745, contre les Anglais du général Cope, venu d’Aberdeen. 

De Prestonpans

à Culloden

21 septembre 1745 : la bataille de Prestonpans
16 avril 1746 : la bataille de Culloden

À la vie à la mort avec les Highlanders  

Invitation au voyage 

 

Au nord-ouest de l’Écosse s’étirent les lacs brumeux et collines de la région des Highlands. C’est sur cette terre qu’au milieu du XVIIe siècle un clan se soulève. Les Highlanders jacobites, refusant la domination de l’Angleterre, se battent pour défendre leur identité et leur honneur. Une ultime lutte qui marque encore les châteaux, les landes et les mémoires de la région.

En fin de billet, vous trouverez un reportage proposé par Arte en 2018

À la vie à la mort avec les Highlanders. Invitation au voyage 

Valérie Gay-Corajoud