MENU 

MENU 

The Gathering 

By Marianne Hatzfeld   

Illustrations : Gratianne Garcia    

For those who say they have trouble with volume 5: We regularly fall back into it according to one question, then another.... just as a kind of tasting. This is the third (or maybe the fifth...) time we reread it. We would just like, to whet your appetite, to make a small comment on the first 277 pages, which cover a day of this famous gathering, a large gathering of Scots in North Carolina, about 400 people who meet and for this last day will celebrate, they think, weddings, baptisms and other festivities. This chapter is at the center, literally, of the saga, in the middle of the – probable – 10 volumes and between Scotland and the New World. The past is much talked about, and the future is coming, worrying and exciting too. This part of volume 5 has a form of loop, which begins when the couple Claire -Jamie wakes up and ends when they fall asleep.

All this under a gloomy weather, chilly sometimes rainy, there is even a small hail shower.

 

From the beginning we have the ghost of Frank who came to make a small visit to Claire, a visit a little embarrassing, but this ghost himself says "shouldn't I be present at his wedding?" (Brianna's, scheduled for the evening) while Jamie has an extremely funny silly and erotic dream mixing horses and king of Ireland... At the very end of the day it is Bonnet who also invites himself into an intimate scene between Roger and Brianna, like an unpleasant ghost

It is believed that Jamie and Claire will be able to relax and start their day with a naughty moment, but they are interrupted by a statement from Governor Tryon, read by Lieutenant Hayes: a new character, complex, interesting, sympathetic: a Scotsman, ex Jacobite "repentant" serving the English government. And this proclamation, while cutting off any idea of banter, launches the idea of a conflict, the one that will be called "the war of regulation".

Daily life is approached in several ways, in the open air: how we find coffee, what do we eat, the discovery of tomatoes, Lizzie's first periods. With a delicious little passage where Claire confronts the hard necessities of the life of the XVIII: change a baby with a piece of torn petticoat, and wash his buttocks in an icy stream.

We have an overview of the issues of contraception and prevention of sexually transmitted diseases. The life of a young mother of an infant is approached with a lot of sensations, which will speak to all the readers who have had a baby, who have breastfed it, and have suffered from this kind of overflow that this baby demands, breasts that hurt, crying attacks, smelly changes, dismissals and babbles, without downtime...

"Happy bride that the sun illuminates, happy the corpse that the rain bathes", this bizarre saying punctuates the day like a kind of chorus.

Very MacKenziennes tricks allow rather funny moments, that is, the typical MacKenzie makes believe in an opinion, just to provoke his interlocutor and get him ... what he wants: first Jamie who lets believe his dissatisfaction with Roger's religion, while he is much more tolerant than he expresses, which allows him to obtain the promise that Jemmy will be baptized Catholic. Then towards the end of the day it is Jocasta, master of the matter, who deliberately provokes Roger to test his attachment to Jemmy and the Fraser family, a family of possibly wealthy landowners. To his complete satisfaction Roger falls into the trap and reveals to everyone, including himself, how much he has a sense of honor and will defend "his" son. Jamie still as cunning, while the baptisms of babies seem compromised by the arrest of the Catholic priest, will save the ceremony but at the cost of an erotic theatrical confession (which he knows how to do so well).

Brianna and Roger are not left out for a heretical marriage, full of tenderness and grimaces, but without Latin, quite cheerful.

There are a few incidents, the fall of little Germain, the arrest of the headhunter, the barbecue dispute over a fundamental kitchen issue, religious quarrels...

 

The characters presented often have a link with Jamie's past, sometimes former co-detainees of Ardsmuir, who form a community united in the memory of misfortune, and some that we may find later: a shrew: Mrs. MacGillivray, accompanied by her little husband, her son and her three pretty daughters. The Chisholms who also had to settle in Fraser's Ridge. We meet a friendly and quite banal couple, the Bug, without yet knowing what importance these two will have; the man is silent and the woman pipelette but devilishly effective. Mrs. Bacon, the one who is able to encourage Claire to wear a hideous charlotte to comply with customs, and at the same time to entrust her with a contraceptive plant, a secret of trust in these times when not wanting to conceive can be very frowned upon? This gives a beautiful feminine complicity, reminiscent of Mrs. Fitz, Mother Hildegard or the Indian healer Nayawenne, the cohort of powerful women.

The presentations of these future tenants of Fraser's Ridge make it possible to explain how the settlement of this land will happen, whether it is the fraser property, or more broadly the young America: different European peoples are represented: English and Scottish majority since it is a Scottish gathering, but also German, French ..., competent craftsmen (gunsmith, cooper ...), hunters who will be able to offer goods to barter with the old continent but also farmers who clear

Young people, experienced, and women!! "Let's pay tribute to our women," says Jamie, "because they are our strength. In the end it is through the cradle that we will take revenge on our enemies." Everyone will find their place in this new world.

The poignant story of Mac Lennan, the death of his wife (after that of their 4 children) victim of the corruption of tax collectors, gives in a few words a glimpse of the why of the revolt of the regulators. The Findley family is just as moving, whose older brother is infirm, the family is dignified and miserable, they survive with difficulty but what will become if the young people die during the war?

Claire's activity as an outdoor doctor, who would not deny the dispensaries of the XX th, or bush medicine, is a small living moment, and imaged.

No banter described between Jamie and Claire, but sweet words and kisses throughout their meetings, they turn around, separate, meet, look for each other, and each time comfort each other. A delightful little passage, with a beautiful statement, when Jamie alludes to a story from the Bible (Sarah and Abraham giving birth to old age) and addresses the issue of menopause and its inconveniences with frankness and compassion.

This is the young generation: Roger and Brianna, faced with the idea of a possible abstinence as the only safe contraception, and the nightmare of the deaths of women in childbirth so numerous in the eighteenth, hurry to ... ignore this idea of abstinence in wet leaves.

All of a sudden, at the turn of a treatment, with Lieutenant Hayes, it is an evocation of Culloden, the terrible battle, and a small piece of the puzzle of Jamie's lost memory: he saved a young boy, 12 years old, in Culloden, Lieutenant Hayes himself, from death by the ignoble Murchison, the one we have already seen (at River Run), a real villain, so bad that he was two in one...

Roger's intimate thoughts: He is in the midst of questioning. Marry a richer girl and have nothing to offer her, her doubts about her skills to be able to live, protect her family, at a time when for this you have to fight, hunt, build and clear and not handle the pen! His curiosity, as a historian, to live this time of the pioneers! His jealousy when men read Brianna so different and so free, frank's letter that he learned by heart and which informs us about Frank (we had the entire text of this letter in volume 4, what an amazing memory Roger the singer has!) And Brianna's terrible revelations about Bonnet; We discover how susceptible Roger is when it comes to his father-in-law: he first believes he is being stripped by Archie Bug of the position of manager and therefore jamie's right-hand man, only to realize that Jamie will finally entrust him with an even more important role, that of Captain of the militia that he must constitute on the order of Governor Tryon.

The day ends with an improvised call to the clan by Jamie (does he really improvise it?) a speech that pays tribute to the missing in Scotland, "those who died of sorrow", he names each member of this community, starting with his Claire, his Sorcha, then Roger the singer, son of his house. Jamie's speech is very emotional, and his promise to watch over his men is strong and fraught with consequences.

 

Illustration : Pitch Mani  - 2021 

Roger is finally reassured about the place he has with his father-in-law and madly excited by the event in which he participates, as a historian. Roger and Brianna's wedding night is beautiful and complex. Brianna, between recent pregnancy, unregulated breastfeeding, and sequelae of her aggression by Bonnet, has trouble letting go, we feel that it will take time. As for the couple Claire / Jamie, in the intimacy of their tent, they share more than their bodies, but also their thoughts on what awaits them; they understand each other so well that words are rare: "What are you going to do?" asked Claire. "What I owe"

We cannot conclude without emphasizing to what extent, as always, Diana Gabaldon knows how to sprinkle her text with small details, anecdotes, hilarious sketches. The great Scottish warrior who washes a dirty diaper in the river, the overwhelmed grandfather and dad, who "pass on the baby" who stinks by calling for help to the foster mother "where is Bree?". Claire who calculates and redivides her provisions according to Jamie's invitations to their breakfast which are added endlessly, Roger who is looking for a wedding gift (a painted chamber pot?) for Brianna. The sheriff's and the judge's discussion of the rite of transubstantiation: is it cannibalism?or witchcraft?

Finally: why stop at page 277? It's the end of such a busy day, but it's the beginning of something else. The rest is exquisite, there is the return to Fraser's Ridge, invaded by the new settlers, a recalcitrant horse, a small wild cat, and the most wonderful of bouquets, picked on a charming misunderstanding, the first bouquet that Jamie, who still has to learn, we see it here, offers to Claire!

 

Illustration : Pitch Mani - 2021

MENU 

MENU 

The Gathering 

Par Marianne Hatzfeld  

Illustrations : Gratianne Garcia   

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Pour celles et ceux qui disent avoir du mal avec le tome 5 : Nous retombons régulièrement dedans au gré d’une question, puis d’une autre…. juste comme une sorte de dégustation. C’est la troisième (ou peut être la cinquième …) fois que nous le relisons. Nous voudrions juste, pour vous mettre en appétit, faire un petit commentaire des 277 premières pages, qui couvrent une journée de ce fameux gathering, grand rassemblement d’écossais en Caroline du Nord, environ 400 personnes qui se retrouvent et pour ce dernier jour célébreront, pensent ils,  mariages, baptêmes et autres réjouissances. Ce chapitre est au centre, littéralement, de la saga, au milieu pile des –probables – 10 tomes et entre Ecosse et Nouveau Monde. Le passé y est beaucoup évoqué, et le futur s’annonce, inquiétant et enthousiasmant aussi. Cette partie du tome 5 a une forme de boucle, qui commence au réveil du couple Claire –Jamie et se finit quand ils s’endorment.

Tout cela sous un temps maussade, frisquet parfois pluvieux, il y a même une petite averse de grêle.

D’entrée on a le fantôme de Frank venu faire une petite visite à Claire, visite un peu gênante, mais ce fantôme lui-même dit  « ne devrais-je pas être présent à son mariage ? » (Celui de Brianna, prévu le soir) pendant que Jamie,  lui, fait un rêve idiot et érotique extrêmement drôle mêlant chevaux et roi d’Irlande… En toute fin de journée c’est Bonnet qui s’invite lui aussi dans une scène intime entre Roger et Brianna , tel un fantôme désagréable

Dessin de "Carthasis"

 On pense que Jamie et Claire vont pouvoir se détendre et commencer leur journée par un moment coquin, mais ils sont interrompus par une déclaration du Gouverneur Tryon, lue par le Lieutenant Hayes : un nouveau personnage, complexe, intéressant, sympathique : un écossais, ex jacobite « repenti » servant le gouvernement anglais. Et cette proclamation, tout en coupant toute idée de badinage, lance l’idée d’un conflit, celui qu’on appellera « la guerre de régulation ».

La vie quotidienne est abordée de plusieurs façons, en plein air : comment on trouve du café, que mange-t-on, la découverte des tomates, les premières règles de Lizzie. Avec un petit passage délicieux où Claire se confronte aux dures nécessités de la vie du XVIII : changer un bébé avec un bout de jupon déchiré, et lui laver les fesses dans un ruisseau glacé.

 

Dessin de "Carthasis"

On a un aperçu des questions de contraception et de prévention des maladies sexuellement transmissibles. La vie d’une jeune mère de nourrisson est abordée avec énormément de sensations, qui parleront à toutes les lectrices qui ont eu un bébé, qui l’ont allaité, et ont souffert de cet espèce de trop plein que ce bébé exige, les seins qui font mal, les crises de pleurs, les changes malodorants, les renvois et bavouilleries, sans temps mort…

« Heureuse la mariée que le soleil illumine, heureux le cadavre que la pluie baigne », ce dicton bizarre rythme la journée comme une sorte de refrain.  

Des ruses très MacKenziennes permettent des moments plutôt drôles, c'est-à-dire que le MacKenzie type fait croire à une opinion, juste pour provoquer son interlocuteur et obtenir de lui … ce qu’il veut : d’abord Jamie qui laisse croire à son mécontentement quand à la religion de Roger, alors qu’il est bien plus tolérant qu’il ne l’exprime, ce qui lui permet d’obtenir la promesse que Jemmy sera baptisé catholique. Puis vers la fin de la journée c’est Jocasta, maitresse en la matière, qui provoque Roger délibérément afin de tester son attachement à Jemmy et à la famille Fraser, famille de propriétaires terriens possiblement riches.  À son entière satisfaction Roger tombe dans le piège et révèle à tous, y compris à lui même,  à quel point il a le sens de l’honneur et défendra « son » fils.  Jamie toujours aussi rusé, alors que les baptêmes des bébés semblent compromis par l’arrestation du prêtre catholique, va sauver la cérémonie mais au prix d’une confession érotico théâtrale (qu’il sait si bien faire).

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Brianna et Roger ne sont pas en reste pour un mariage hérétique, plein de tendresse et de grimaces, mais sans latin,  tout à fait gai.

Il y a quelques incidents, la chute du petit Germain, l’arrestation du chercheur de têtes, la dispute au barbecue sur une question fondamentale de cuisine,  les querelles religieuses…

Les personnages présentés ont souvent un lien avec le passé de Jamie, parfois d’anciens codétenus d’Ardsmuir, qui forment une communauté unie dans le souvenir du malheur, et certains que l’on risque de retrouver plus tard : une mégère : Mme MacGillivray, accompagnée de son petit mari, son fils et ses trois jolies filles. Les Chisholm qui doivent également s’installer à Fraser‘s Ridge. On fait connaissance d’un couple sympathique et assez banal, les Bug, sans savoir encore quelle importance ces deux là vont avoir ; l’homme est taiseux et la femme pipelette mais diablement efficace. Mme Bacon, celle qui est capable d’inciter Claire à porter une hideuse charlotte pour se conformer aux usages, et dans le même temps de lui confier une plante contraceptive, secret de confiance en ces temps où ne pas vouloir concevoir peut être très mal vu ? Cela donne une jolie complicité féminine, qui rappelle Mme Fitz, Mère Hildegarde ou la guérisseuse indienne Nayawenne, la cohorte des femmes puissantes.

Dessin de "Carthasis"
Dessin de "Carthasis"

Les présentations de ces futurs locataires de Fraser’s Ridge permettent d’expliquer comment va se passer le peuplement de cette terre, que ce soit la propriété des Fraser, ou plus largement la jeune Amérique : différents peuples européens sont représentés : anglais et écossais majoritaires puisqu’il s’agit d’un gathering écossais, mais aussi allemands, français…, des artisans compétents (armurier, tonnelier…), des chasseurs qui pourront proposer des marchandises à troquer avec le vieux continent mais aussi des agriculteurs défricheurs

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Des jeunes, des expérimentés, et les femmes !! « Rendons hommage à nos femmes » dit Jamie « car elles sont notre force. Au bout du compte c’est par le berceau que nous nous vengerons de nos ennemis ». Chacun trouvera sa place dans ce nouveau monde.

L’histoire poignante de Mac Lennan,  la mort de sa femme (après celle de leurs 4 enfants) victime de la corruption des collecteurs d’impôts, donne en quelques mots un aperçu du pourquoi de la révolte des régulateurs. La famille Findley est tout aussi émouvante, dont le frère ainé est infirme, la famille est digne et miséreuse, ils survivent difficilement mais que deviendront ils si les jeunes meurent pendant la guerre ?

L’activité de Claire comme médecin en plein air, qui ne renierait pas les dispensaires du XX e, ou la médecine de brousse, est un petit moment vivant, et imagé.

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Pas de badinage décrit entre Jamie et Claire, mais des mots doux et des baisers tout au long de leurs rencontres,  ils se tournent autour, se séparent, se retrouvent, se cherchent, et chaque fois se réconfortent. Un petit passage délicieux, avec une belle déclaration, quand Jamie fait allusion à une histoire de la Bible (Sarah et Abraham donnant naissance à un âge avancé) et aborde la question de la ménopause et de ses désagréments avec franchise et compassion.

C’est la jeune génération : Roger et Brianna, confrontés à l’idée d’une possible abstinence comme seule contraception sure, et au cauchemar des décès des femmes en couches si nombreux au XVIII, s’empressent de … passer outre cette idée d’abstinence dans les feuilles mouillées.

Tout d’un coup, au détour d’un soin, avec le Lieutenant Hayes , c’est une évocation de Culloden , la terrible bataille, et une petite pièce du puzzle de la mémoire perdue de Jamie : il a sauvé un jeune garçon, de 12 ans, à Culloden, le Lieutenant Hayes lui même, de la mort par l’ignoble Murchison, celui qu’on a déjà vu ( à River Run) , un vrai méchant, tellement méchant qu’il était deux en un…

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Les pensées intimes de Roger : Il est en plein questionnement. Epouser une fille plus riche et n’avoir rien à lui offrir,  ses doutes sur ses compétences à pouvoir faire vivre, protéger sa famille,  à une époque où pour cela il faut se battre, chasser, bâtir et défricher et non pas manier le stylo ! Sa curiosité, en tant qu’historien, à vivre ce temps des pionniers !  Sa jalousie quand des hommes reluquent Brianna si différente et si libre, la lettre de Frank qu’il a appris par cœur et qui nous renseigne sur Frank (on a eu le texte entier de cette lettre au tome 4, quelle étonnante mémoire possède Roger le chanteur !)  Et les révélations, terribles,  de Brianna sur Bonnet ; On découvre à quel point Roger est susceptible quand il s’agit de son beau-père : il croit d’abord être dépouillé par Archie Bug de la place de régisseur donc de bras droit de Jamie, pour s’apercevoir finalement que celui-ci va lui confier un rôle encore plus important, celui de Capitaine de la milice qu’il doit constituer sur ordre du gouverneur Tryon.

La journée se termine par un appel au clan improvisé par Jamie (l’improvise t-il vraiment ?) un discours qui rend hommage aux disparus en Ecosse, « ceux qui sont morts de chagrin », il nomme chaque membre de cette communauté, en commençant par sa Claire, sa Sorcha, puis Roger le chanteur, fils de sa maison.  Le discours de Jamie est d’une grande émotion,  et sa promesse de veiller sur ses hommes est forte et lourde de conséquences. 

 

Illustration : Pitch Mani  - 2021 

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Roger est enfin rassuré sur la place qu’il a auprès de son beau père et follement excité par l’évènement auquel il participe, en tant qu’historien.  La nuit de noces de Roger et Brianna est belle et complexe. Brianna, entre grossesse récente, allaitement non régulé, et séquelles de son agression par Bonnet, a du mal à lâcher prise, on sent qu’il va lui falloir du temps. Quand au couple Claire / Jamie, dans l’intimité enfin de leur tente, ils partagent plus que leurs corps, mais aussi leurs pensées sur ce qui les attend ; ils se comprennent si bien que les mots sont rares : « que vas-tu faire ? » demanda Claire ? « Ce que je dois »

Dessin de "Carthasis"

Nous ne pouvons conclure sans souligner à quel point, comme toujours, Diana Gabaldon sait parsemer son texte de petits détails, anecdotes, saynètes hilarantes. Le grand guerrier écossais qui lave une couche sale dans la rivière, le grand père et le papa débordés, qui « se refilent le bébé » qui pue en appelant au secours la mère nourricière « où est Bree ? ». Claire qui calcule et redivise ses provisions au gré des invitations de Jamie à leur petit déjeuner lesquelles s’ajoutent sans fin, Roger qui cherche un cadeau de mariage (un pot de chambre peint ?) pour Brianna. La discussion du shérif et du juge concernant le rite de transsubstantiation : est ce du cannibalisme ? ou de la sorcellerie ?

Enfin : pourquoi s’arrêter à la page 277 ? C’est la fin de cette journée si remplie, mais c’est le début d’autre chose. La suite est exquise, il y a le retour à Fraser’s Ridge,  envahi par les nouveaux colons,  un cheval récalcitrant, un petit chat sauvage, et le plus merveilleux des bouquets, cueilli sur un malentendu charmant, le premier bouquet que Jamie, qui a encore à apprendre, on le voit ici, offre à Claire ! 

 

Illustration : Pitch Mani - 2021

Dessin de "Carthasis"