MENU 

MENU 

Stanley Weber

Stanley Weber, son of the actor Jacques Weber, is a French actor and director born on July 13, 86.
A student of Cours Florent in 2004, he entered the National Conservatory of Dramatic Art in 2008. He was first a student of Daniel Mesguich then left for England to follow a year of training at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art . Returning to France, he joined, for his third year of conservatory, the class of Jean-Damien Barbin.

Cinema
2017
Piligrame | Brendan MULDOWNEY
2015
Paula | Christian SCHWOCHOW
2014
The origin of violence | Elie CHOURAQUI
2013
Under the skirts of girls | Audrey DANA
Sword of vengeance | Jim WEEDON
Violet | Martin PROVOST
2012
Not another happy ending | John McKay
Cheba | Françoise CHARPIAT
The band at Picasso | Fernando COLOMO
Thérèse Desqueyroux | Claude MILLER
2011
Trap for Cinderella | Iain SOFTLEY
2009
Bare feet on slugs Fabienne BERTHAUD
2007
The first day of the rest of your life | Remi BEZANCON
2009
What do we do? | André CAVAILLE

 

Short film
2012
The swimsuit | Mathilde BAYLE
2007
At the altar she went, she killed him there E.MONMENCEAU TIM - Jacques GIRAULT
2006
Wrong catch | Blessed JEANNOT

Television
2019
Fly | Jeanne Herry
The Man I Condemned | Fanny Robert, Sophie Lebarbier
2017
The Golden Wedding | Nader Takmil Homayoun
2017
Time is murderous | Claude-Michel Rome
2016
The holy family | Marion SARRAUT
2015
Outlander
2013
Doctor Blanche's clinic | Sarah LEVY - for ARTE
2012
Henry V | Théa SCHARROCK
2011
Borgia | original creation Tom FONTANA - Oliver HIRSCHBIEGEL, Metin HUSEYIN, Christoph SCHREWE and Dearbhla WALSH CANAL +
2009
Louis XV | Thierry BINISTI
Murder on the Orient Express | P. MARTIN
Any human heart | Michael SAMUELS
2008
Figaro | Jacques WEBER
The Lady of Monsoreau | Michel HASSAN
Just a little love | Nicolas HERDT
2007
The real culprit | Francis HUSTER

Theater
2018
The Far Country - Tour (Jean-Luc Lagarce) | Clement HERVIEU-LEGER
Célestins Theater, ...
2017
The distant land (Jean-Luc Lagarce) | Clement HERVIEU-LEGER
National Theater of Strasbourg
2015
Anna Christie (Eugène O'Neill) | Jean-Louis MARTINELLI
Atelier Theater
2012
The test | Clement HERVIEU-LEGER
2010
Macbeth | John BAXTER
Much teen about nothing | Stephen JAMESON
2008
Macbeth | Katharina STEGEMANN
The Scarecrow | P. GIAFFERI & S. WEBER
The Knight of the Moon | P. GIAFFERI & S. WEBER -
Caesar, Fanny, Marius | F.HUSTER
2007
The night fell like a cow | Leon MASSON
If not you | Charles PETIT
2006
Richard 1st lion heart | Vytas KRAUJELIS
2005
The Evil To Say | Léon MASSON

clips 


2019
Mylène Farmer - Tears (Official clip)

On the occasion of the film The Origin of Violence, by Elie Chouraqui (2015), he replied to Aude Bernard-Treille for the Infra-red site.

 

Five traits that define you well?
Awkward, naive, big mouth, whole, shy.

 

Who have you been confused with?
Never confused, but rather compared. With Ray Liotta and Daniel Day-Lewis. Even if it sounds like a little pretentious to say that ...

 

In The Origin of Violence, you play a haunted man without knowing it by a family secret. What did you like about the script?
At the start, I signed up for the role of César Chouraqui and Nicolas Duvauchelle was to play my character. I had read the book at the time. I met the author, Fabrice Humbert, in his high school to have more details on this autobiographical story. His opinion mattered to me, I wanted to know his version of the script. He also worked with Elie Chouraqui, he passed on the set, which shows that the film is quite faithful to its history.

 

In the father-son reports presented, the father wants to hide the past to protect his son, while the latter's request for truth is a matter of survival. How did you approach these feelings?
Curiously, this project came at an age when I started talking with my grandmother from this period, from her generation ... All of them have different stories about their experiences during the war. All of this fueled my game. I wondered about my family and when I learned that some had been resilient, I was as relieved and proud, although I didn't have anything to do with it in the end. So I got this curiosity that turned into an absolute obsession with the role.


How could you describe your relationship with your own father (Stanley is the son of Jacques Weber, editor's note)?
A simple relationship. We are both very modest and very accomplices.

 

Elie Chouraqui felt a fragility in your life which corresponded well to the character of Nathan. Would you say like him that your link was obvious?
Rather than 'brittleness', I would say that I have this same fairly natural sensitivity or nervousness. This is reflected in the character of Nathan, who has a filigree tension throughout the film. Second, you don't always have a part of yourself in the characters you interpret. In Ireland, I played a Cistercian monk in the 13th century and there was not much in common with me… You are never as much yourself as when you have a well-drawn character above you . This is the principle of the mask in the theater. What the actor releases becomes more clear and obvious.

 

When you were younger, did you want to follow in your father's footsteps?
At first, I wanted to be a McDonald's manager because I loved the burgers, secret agent, then professional rugby player. I had the trigger when I saw Cyrano de Bergerac directed by my father with Xavier Gallais, Marina Hands, Loïc Corbery. They were all coming out of the Conservatory and when I left school, I joined them at their rehearsals, I was fourteen. I loved this atmosphere. They were between twenty and twenty-five years old, rehearsing from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m., it looked so nice, they laughed ... Then they all concentrated. I thought it was a great job. Four years later, I registered for the Florent course.

 

Were you expected at the turn?
I knew what I was getting into, my father gave me one piece of advice: enroll in school. I think he was reassured the day that, after three or four years, he finally came to see me for the show I had staged, The Scarecrow by Jerry Schatzberg. I also didn't want him to come, so as not to annoy others. When Jacques Weber arrives, it can be tricky for everyone. Before talking about talent and technique, he saw that I was really passionate.

 

Would you say that your passage in England brought you a plus?
I went to the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art on the advice of Marina Hands, who had been there. She had explained to me this impressive difference between the French school and that of London, where there is more rigor and professionalism, punctuality… It's a bit of a shame for the natural French, but at school we have need this requirement. I learned to focus my ego between 'Action' and 'Cut' and not elsewhere. You learn humility there, unlike a certain French arrogance.

 

What compliment is bothering you?
' You're too beaufiful ! '

 

And the one you don't deny?
' You're nice. '

 

Who would you 'steal' a touch of talent from?
To Loïc Corbery for his humility in everything he does.

 

Entrust us with a paradox that concerns you.
My rejection of worldliness because I would be afraid of enjoying myself in success. I'm no smarter than the others. I have always worked in different territories and it calms me down with what can be said and done in France. I have worked more in England, but when you are invited everywhere, you understand that success does not mean happiness. The important thing is to have a solid and full private life and to rub shoulders with friends who do not belong to this milieu. I can also work in a cafe to help a friend when I have a hole, because this contact with real life is essential. So far from the evening in a mansion of such a big brand ... Or like those who fall into drugs because they bother deeply between two shootings. It's the truth. So, my paradox is that I could revel in the role of the alcoholic misanthrope who hangs out in these evenings with a bottle of whiskey in hand, but it’s not me.


Your projects ?
In the United States, with series. I have not closed any doors in France but I see that there are not necessarily many roles for me here. I get a lot more castings from the United States or England. And then I'm quite close to the company of the Little Fields, with which I tour García Lorca's Blood Wedding. This is my haven of French theater, with which I love to work.

MENU 

MENU 

Stanley

Weber 

Stanley Weber, fils du comédien Jacques Weber,  est un acteur et metteur en scène français né le 13 juillet 86. 

Élève du Cours Florent en 2004, il entre au Conservatoire national supérieur d'art dramatique en 2008. Il est d'abord l'élève de Daniel Mesguich puis part en Angleterre pour suivre une année de formation à la London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art. Revenu en France, il intègre, pour sa troisième année de conservatoire, la classe de Jean-Damien Barbin.

 Cinéma
2017
 Piligrame | Brendan MULDOWNEY
2015  
Paula | Christian SCHWOCHOW
2014  
L'origine de la violence | Elie CHOURAQUI
2013  
Sous les jupes des filles | Audrey DANA  
Sword of vengeance | Jim WEEDON  
Violette | Martin PROVOST
2012  
Not another happy ending | John McKay  
Cheba | Françoise CHARPIAT  
La bande à Picasso | Fernando COLOMO  
Thérèse Desqueyroux | Claude MILLER
2011
Trap for Cinderella | Iain SOFTLEY
2009  
Pieds nus sur les limaces | Fabienne BERTHAUD
2007  
Le premier jour du reste de ta vie| Rémi BEZANCON
2009  
Qu'est-ce qu'on fait ? | André CAVAILLE
 
Court Métrage
2012  
Le maillot de bain| Mathilde BAYLE
2007  
A l'autel elle all, elle le tua là | E.MONMENCEAU TIM - Jacques GIRAULT
2006  
Mauvaise prise| Bennoit JEANNOT

Télévision
2019  
Mouche | Jeanne Herry  
L'Homme que j'ai condamné | Fanny Robert, Sophie Lebarbier
2017  
Les noces d'or | Nader Takmil Homayoun
2017  
Le temps est assassin | Claude-Michel Rome
2016  
La sainte famille | Marion SARRAUT
2015  
Outlander
2013  
La clinique du docteur Blanche | Sarah LEVY - pour ARTE
2012  
Henry V | Théa SCHARROCK
2011  
Borgia | création originale Tom FONTANA - Oliver HIRSCHBIEGEL, Metin HUSEYIN, Christoph SCHREWE et Dearbhla WALSH CANAL +
2009  
Louis XV | Thierry BINISTI  
Murder on the Orient Express | P. MARTIN  
Any human heart| Michael SAMUELS
2008  
Figaro | Jacques WEBER  
La dame de Monsoreau | Michel HASSAN  
Juste un peu d'amour | Nicolas HERDT
2007  
Le vrai coupable | Francis HUSTER

Théâtre
2018  
Le pays lointain- Tournée (Jean-Luc Lagarce ) | Clément HERVIEU-LEGER
Théâtre des Célestins,...
2017  
Le pays lointain (Jean-Luc Lagarce ) | Clément HERVIEU-LEGER
Théâtre National de Strasbourg
2015  
Anna Christie (Eugène O'Neill) | Jean-Louis MARTINELLI
Théâtre de l'Atelier
2012  
L'épreuve | Clément HERVIEU-LEGER
2010  
Macbeth | John BAXTER  
Much ado about nothing | Stephen JAMESON
2008  
Macbeth | Katharina STEGEMANN  
L'épouvantail | P. GIAFFERI & S. WEBER  
Le chevalier de la lune| P. GIAFFERI & S. WEBER -  
César, Fanny, Marius | F.HUSTER
2007  
La nuit s'est abbatue comme une vache | Leon MASSON  
Si ce n'est toi | Charles PETIT
2006  
Richard 1er coeur de lion | Vytas KRAUJELIS
2005  
La mal à dire| Léon MASSON

Clips
2019

Mylène Farmer - Des larmes (Clip officiel)

A l’occasion du film l’origine de la violence, de Elie Chouraqui (2015)  il avait répondu à Aude Bernard-Treille pour le site Infra-rouge.

 

Cinq traits de caractère qui vous définissent bien ?

Maladroit, naïf, grande gueule, entier, timide.

 

Avec qui vous a-t-on déjà confondu ?
Jamais confondu, mais plutôt comparé. Avec Ray Liotta et Daniel Day-Lewis. Même si j’ai l’impression que cela fait un peu prétentieux de dire ça…

 

Dans L’Origine de la violence, vous jouez un homme hanté sans le savoir par un secret de famille. Qu’est-ce qui vous a plu dans le scénario ?
Au départ, je m’étais engagé sur le rôle de César Chouraqui et Nicolas Duvauchelle devait jouer mon personnage. J’avais lu le livre à l’époque. J’ai rencontré l’auteur, Fabrice Humbert, dans son lycée pour avoir davantage de détails sur ce récit autobiographique. Son avis m’importait, je voulais connaître sa version du scénario. Il a aussi travaillé avec Elie Chouraqui, il passait sur le plateau, ce qui montre que le film est assez fidèle à son histoire.

 

Dans les rapports père-fils présentés, le père veut occulter le passé pour protéger son fils, alors que la demande de vérité de ce dernier est une question de survie. Comment avez-vous abordé ces sentiments ?
Curieusement, ce projet est arrivé à un âge où j’ai commencé à parler avec ma grand-mère de cette période, de sa génération… Tous ont des histoires différentes sur leur vécu pendant la guerre. Tout cela a nourri mon jeu. Je me suis posé des questions sur ma famille et quand j’ai su que certains avaient été résistants, je fus comme soulagé et fier, bien que je n’y sois pour rien finalement. J’ai donc eu cette curiosité qui s’est transformée en obsession absolue pour le rôle.

Comment pourriez-vous décrire votre relation avec votre propre père (Stanley est le fils de Jacques Weber, NDLR) ?
Une relation simple. On est à la fois très pudiques et très complices.

 

Elie Chouraqui a senti chez vous une fragilité qui correspondait bien au personnage de Nathan. Diriez-vous comme lui que votre lien fut comme une évidence ?
Plutôt que « fragilité », je dirais que j’ai cette même sensibilité ou nervosité assez naturelle. Cela se retrouve dans le personnage de Nathan, qui a une tension en filigrane durant tout le film. Ensuite, on n’a pas toujours une partie de soi dans les personnages que l’on interprète. En Irlande, j’ai joué un moine cistercien au XIIIe siècle et il n’y avait pas beaucoup de points communs avec moi… On n’est jamais autant soi-même que lorsqu’on a un personnage bien dessiné au-dessus de soi. C’est le principe du masque au théâtre. Ce que l’acteur dégage devient plus limpide et évident.

 

Quand vous étiez plus jeune, aviez-vous envie de suivre les pas de votre père ?
Au départ, je voulais être gérant d’un McDo car j’adorais les burgers, agent secret, puis rugbyman professionnel. J’ai eu le déclic en voyant Cyrano de Bergerac mis en scène par mon père avec Xavier Gallais, Marina Hands, Loïc Corbery. Ils sortaient tous du Conservatoire et en sortant de l’école, je les rejoignais à leurs répétitions, j’avais quatorze ans. J’adorais cette ambiance. Ils avaient entre vingt et vingt-cinq ans, répétaient de 13 heures à 22 heures, cela avait l’air tellement sympa, ils se marraient… Ensuite, ils se concentraient tous. Je me suis dit que c’était un beau métier. Quatre ans plus tard, je me suis inscrit au cours Florent.

 

Etiez-vous attendu au tournant ?
Je savais dans quoi je m’embarquais, mon père m’avait donné un seul conseil : m’inscrire à l’école. Je pense qu’il a été rassuré le jour où, au bout de trois ou quatre ans, il est enfin venu me voir pour le spectacle que j’avais mis en scène, L’Epouvantail de Jerry Schatzberg. Je ne voulais pas non plus qu’il vienne, afin de ne pas gêner les autres. Quand Jacques Weber débarque, ça peut être délicat pour tout le monde. Avant de parler de talent et de technique, il a vu que j’étais réellement passionné.

 

Diriez-vous que votre passage en Angleterre vous a apporté un plus ?
Je suis parti à la London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art sur les conseils de Marina Hands, qui était passée par là. Elle m’avait expliqué cette différence impressionnante entre l’école française et celle de Londres, où il y a davantage de rigueur et de professionnalisme, de ponctualité… C’est un peu dommage pour le naturel français, mais à l’école on a besoin de cette exigence. J’y ai appris à focaliser mon ego entre « Action » et « Coupez » et pas ailleurs. On y apprend l’humilité, contrairement à une certaine arrogance française.

 

Quel est le compliment qui vous dérange ?
« T’es trop beau ! »

 

Et celui que vous ne démentez pas ?
« T’es gentil. »

 

À qui « voleriez-vous » un brin de talent ?
À Loïc Corbery pour son humilité dans tout ce qu’il fait.

 

Confiez-nous un paradoxe qui vous concerne.
Mon rejet de la mondanité parce que j’aurais peur de me complaire dans le succès. Je ne suis pas plus malin que les autres. J’ai toujours travaillé sur différents territoires et cela me tranquillise avec ce qui peut se dire et faire en France. J’ai davantage travaillé en Angleterre, mais quand on est invité partout, on comprend que le succès n’est pas synonyme de bonheur. L’important, c’est d’avoir une vie privée solide et bien remplie et côtoyer des amis qui n’appartiennent pas à ce milieu. Je peux d’ailleurs bosser dans un café pour aider un ami quand j’ai un trou, car ce contact avec la vie réelle est essentiel. Tellement loin de la soirée dans un hôtel particulier de telle grande marque… Ou comme ceux qui tombent dans la drogue parce qu’ils s’embêtent profondément entre deux tournages. C’est la vérité. Donc, mon paradoxe est que je pourrais me complaire dans le rôle du misanthrope alcoolique qui traîne dans ces soirées avec une bouteille de whisky à la main, mais ce n’est pas moi.

 

Vos projets ?
Aux Etats-Unis, avec des séries. Je n’ai fermé aucune porte en France mais je constate qu’il n’y a pas forcément beaucoup de rôles pour moi ici. Je reçois beaucoup plus de castings des Etats-Unis ou d’Angleterre. Et puis je suis assez proche de la compagnie des Petits Champs, avec laquelle je fais la tournée des Noces de sang de García Lorca. C’est mon havre de paix de théâtre français, avec lequel j’adore travailler.