MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Brianna 

 

 

However, Clear is pregnant again. She knows it, but disclaims it she has no time to think in this. And then future is closed she cannot make live together the hope of a child to be born and the despair of people who is going to disappear. But it is to count without Jamie. He also knows! This man, who lived a big party of its life to the animals, attentive to their cycle of reproduction, knows that she waits for a baby, as he would have known it about a filly of whom he likes to be in charge. For him, future, it is this child.
Suddenly, life takes back its rights. Suddenly, what they sacrificed was not vain and he can accept defeat, death to come, because this baby will take with him all that itself will never have.
Then his decision is made. It returns Clear across stones so that their child is in the shelter. It returns Clear to Frank so that he has a father.
Is there an act of nicer love than this one? A more altruistic gesture? Is not it to be an exemplary father, that to give to his child a future of which they are devoid?

Extract: Volume 2: Dragongly in amber 


— Jamie, I say slowly. You are happy for the infant?
Exiled from Scotland, forbidden by stay in its own home and having only vague future plans in France, they could excuse him for not being too hot at the idea of meeting with an additional load.
He did not answer right away, gripped me a little more extremely against him, pushed a light sigh finally before confirming:
— But yes, certainly, Sassenach.
The hand went down more low, fondled my belly.
— I am happy. And proud. But I am so terrifically afraid.
— Fright of what? of birth? Everything will go well, you will see.
I understood his fears. His mother had died in coat and delivery and her complications were one of the first reasons of female mortality. Nevertheless, I knew myself there in the field and had no intention to subject me to what was taken to epoch for obstetrics.
— It is not everything, it resumed. I want you I shall protect, you to of my body you and the child, as a topcoat.
His voice was soft and husky, but I smelt come the hitch.
— I would make anything for you but I can make nothing. I try unsuccessfully to be strong and attentive, I can accompany you in this test nor help you no way. When I think of all that you risk yes, this frightens me, Sassenach. And then...
It turned me to him, a hand was slowly closed again on my breast.
—. when I imagine you nursing our child I feel flying off as a soap bubble ready to burst of joy.
Moved, I clutched it of all my force.
— Oh, Clear! it resumed. I like you so much that I have the impression that my heart is going to drop. 

 


Therefore, their Parisian life leaves them only not enough opportunity to be interested in this child in future. It is still not a matter for them to cast in a family future, since all their energy is used to carry out an abortion on an announced massacre.
How could they concentrate on their simple happiness, knowing that it would be to the detriment of the hope of a Scottish future? Could they be happy? They doubt it certainly.

And this child dies. Reasons are numerous, those that we assume, those who are inevitable with epoch, those that we shall never know.
And then, we ask question, beyond infinite sadness. What would have been the life of this child? Where was his place within a couple agent of such responsibility?
Nothing in life of Clear and Jamie at this instant, leaves place to an infant. Nothing of the future which we know them could not pretend to give him a happy life.
Where then everything would have been able to differ and they can stop one instant to imagine what would have been their life if Faith had survived.

The children
of Jamie

At least there remains Fergus! Faithful and thankful, and small Ian who admires it and likes it as a father. Because it is that he is Jamie, and life tries unsuccessfully to say and nice make, to the point of withdrawing him his children he is a father, it is its nature.
He is the father of Faith, Brianna, William, Fergus, Ian, Marsali, Joan. He is the father of all those who form a line in his sides to live and build.

 

Life can manhandle us of all possible ways. We stay whom we are in the depths of us. It is what he says to us Jamie.

Jamie and Clear would have stayed in Paris perhaps bringing up their child beside Fergus, working for Jared, playing their role the courtyard of the King. Difficult to imagine them in this cramped and superficial life. But why not?
Anyhow, Faith died. It is a fact. His small body rests for eternity on French earth. And Clear and Jamie go back to their dear Scotland beside Fergus, this adopted son on the meeting of their destiny, so funeral she is.
Fergus whom Jamie will have to return in Lallybroch finally while themselves walk hopelessly towards accursed wasteland of Culloden, porter at the same time of an essential message on the future of domain, and also to be the messenger of their history. Their son that they watch leaving in the distance, as the symbol of a future which will not be.

 

(volume 2: Dragonfly in amber) 


Fergus came back with a small glassy inkwell and a vide feather. We signed each in its turn, by taking support against the wall. Murtagh signed the first. I pointed out that, besides Fraser, he was also called FitzGibbons.
— You want me to carry it to your sister? he asked Jamie, while I agitated paper to dry it.
— No, Fergus is going to take responsibility for it.
— Me?
The child opened big round eyes.
— Yes, you.
Jamie took me the paper of hands, folded it and slipped it under Fergus's belt.
— You will carry it to my sister, Mrs Murray. This paper is more worth that my life, or than yours.
Gaspingly by the enormity of mission which they entrusted him, Fergus was straight held in the rain, hands were crossed in front of him.
— You can depend on to me, milord!
A suspicion of smile crossed the look of Jamie and it put down a hand on the skull of the child, by tousling him hair.
— I know it, Fergus, and I am thankful to you there.
It made slip the big cabochon of his father of the finger, and tightened it to him.
— Go to stables and show this ring to the old man whom you will see over there. Say to him that I asked you to take Donas. Then you will go to Lallybroch straight. Stop only to sleep and, for it, will you hide you?
Fergus was so much thrilled that he did not any more succeed in speaking. Murtagh threw him a sceptical look.
— You think that the kid will succeed in taking up your hellish animal?
— Yes, I am sure there, answered Jamie.
 

By Valérie Gay-Corajoud

Clear leaves, taking in his breast this child who will remain for Jamie a disembodied love. Not for a long time he tells himself since he plans to die on the wasteland. Die, then wait 200 years to find Clear. It is what he promised him.
Except that Jamie does not die. Nothing will ever be spared to him, not even life.

 

William 

 

Then Jamie survives. As he can. As a shade first of all, then as a man when it has other companions to support, and finally, as a father, when lady Geneva gives him a son before dying from it, Willie which carries the forename of its elder brother.

Some years of happiness, or something that gets closer to this hidden son there where he will be able to let express this party of him so fundamental! But and then again, to like his child makes it leave. Again, it has the right, not the choice …

Volume 3: Voyager

 

mostly, Willie brought him only joy. It loved MacKenzie and, as he grew, passed more and more time with him, sitting astride the big horses of trait when Jamie crossed the roll in fields, or playing the summer in carts when they brought back the hay of the high pasture.
A threat influenced however this bucolic, more obvious existence as months passed. By a sad irony, it came from Very Willie, and the poor person could nothing there.
- What adorable child! And how it holds well in saddle! lady Grozier swooned.
It was held on the veranda where she had tea with lady Dunsany, admiring peregrinations of the small lord around the lawn.
Filled up with ease, the grandmother exploded with laughter.
- Oh yes. Willie loves his pony. We have a wrong madman to make it of saddle take down to take its meals. And he agrees so well with his groom! We sometimes joke by saying that it spends so much time with MacKenzie that he begins even resembling him physically!
Lady Grozier, who, until then, had not paid attention to the man who accompanied the child, adjusted his lorgnette.
- But yes, that's true! it cried. As it am extraordinary! Look, Willie has exactly the same harbour of head and the same manner of taking out the shoulders!
 

 

 

Again Jamie must entrust his child to another father before the circle of the boy point out their likeness.
Is it humanly bearable? Even if this father, this time is a friend, the price to be paid is unbearable.
Where does Jamie go get force in him to stay standing? to continue being this man inserts?

 

 

Joan and Marsali 

 

 

It goes back to Lallybroch because it is its nest, its envelope, its past and, he hopes for it his future.
But Lallybroch lived without him too many years and his place is taken unless he is too much abimé to take back this place which was his. Anyhow, brought forward, hurt, solitary he thinks that by bringing up the children of other one, he will be able finally, fulfil his father's role.
The girls of Laoghaire are not responsible for the madness of their mother, and in some way, they deserve a father such as him. But it is too hard, impossible even! Then it leaves, still, trainant with shone its loneliness as a load of which he cannot come undone.

When it meets Clear, Jamie is painful past only 22 years old, but behind him, or even traumatic. The death of his elder brother whom it venerated, then that of his mother while he is only 8 years old. And finally, his meeting with Jack Randall who will make his prey of predilection, whipping it cruelly, what draws away, by rebound, the death of the father of Jamie who attended the execution of sentence. And as though it was not enough, Randal puts the head in price, what makes it live as an outlawed.
To avoid this condemnation, it hides from the castle of Leoch under the protection of the clan McKenzie, becoming therefore aspiring as future Laird, what not plait not in Dougal, war leader, which saves this place by right. Also, Jamie, made to live in walls just as much protective as dangerous, must be permanently on his nurses.
Therefore, there remains a right, audacious, honest and benevolent man.
Who could pretend that he does not have the right to a gentle life to the woman whom he loves, in spite of dark future for his country and his clan the history of which he knows hereafter to come?

 


Faith and Fergus 

 

 

Beyond what arrives at him, Jamie has this trait of character which defines it more than quite other, to be leader, a man who likes to look after his. Laird not to doubt it. He never acts for his own count, but still for the clan or for one of his members.
To what it aspires more than everything, it is to live with its family within its very dear Lallybroch. Also, when Clear thinking she should be sterile, announces him that she will not give him of child, Jamie is collapsed. Even if, to reassure it, he assures Clear that it is as well because so it does not risk dying in coat, its disappointment sweats and it is an additional blow on its young shoulders.
Then what a joy for him to learn some months later that, finally Clear expects a baby of him! It is what allows him to rebuild after unbearable torment that BJR inflicted him. It is a bright point in a future however very dark. 

Valérie Gay-Corajoud

MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Brianna 

 

Pourtant, Claire est enceinte à nouveau. Elle le sait, mais le nie… elle n’a pas le temps de penser à ça. Et puis l’avenir est fermé… elle ne peut faire cohabiter l’espoir d’un enfant à naître et le désespoir d’un peuple qui va disparaître.  Mais c’est compter sans Jamie. Il sait lui aussi ! Cet homme-là, qui a vécu une grande partie de sa vie auprès des animaux, attentif à leur cycle de reproduction, sait qu’elle attend un petit, comme il l’aurait su d’une pouliche dont il aime s’occuper. Pour lui, l’avenir, c’est cet enfant.

Tout à coup, la vie reprend ses droits. Tout à coup, ce qu’ils ont sacrifié n’a pas été vain et il peut accepter la défaite, la mort à venir, car ce petit emportera avec lui tout ce que lui-même n’aura jamais.

Alors sa décision est prise. Il renvoie Claire à travers les pierres pour que leur enfant soit à l’abri. Il renvoie Claire auprès de Frank pour qu’il ait un père.

Existe-t-il un acte d’amour plus beau que celui-ci ? Un geste plus altruiste ?  N’est-ce pas être un père exemplaire, que d’offrir à son enfant un avenir dont on est dépourvu ?

 

 

Extrait : Tome 2 : Le talisman 

— Jamie, dis-je doucement. Tu es content... pour le bébé ? 

Banni d’Ecosse, interdit de séjour dans sa propre maison et n’ayant que de vagues projets d’avenir en France, on pouvait lui pardonner de n’être pas trop chaud à l’idée de se retrouver avec une charge supplémentaire. 

Il ne répondit pas tout de suite, me serra un peu plus fort contre lui, poussa enfin un léger soupir avant de confirmer : 

— Mais oui, bien sûr, Sassenach. 

Sa main descendit plus bas, caressa mon ventre. 

— Je suis heureux. Et fier. Mais j’ai aussi terriblement peur. 

— Peur de quoi ? de la naissance ? Tout ira bien, tu verras. 

Je comprenais ses craintes. Sa mère était morte en couche et l’accouchement et ses complications étaient une des premières causes de mortalité féminine. Toutefois, je m’y connaissais en la matière et n’avais aucune intention de me soumettre à ce qui passait à l’époque pour de l’obstétrique. 

— Ce n’est pas tout, reprit-il. Je veux pouvoir vous protéger, vous envelopper de mon corps... toi et l’enfant, comme un manteau. 

Sa voix était douce et rauque, mais je sentais venir le hic. 

— Je ferais n’importe quoi pour toi... mais... je ne peux rien faire. J’ai beau être costaud et attentif, je ne peux pas t’accompagner dans cette épreuve... ni t’aider en aucune manière. Quand je pense à tout ce que tu risques... oui, ça me fait peur, Sassenach. Et puis... 

Il me tourna vers lui, une main refermée doucement sur mon sein. 

— ... quand je t’imagine en train d’allaiter notre enfant... je me sens m’envoler comme une bulle de savon prête à éclater de joie. 

Emue, je l’étreignis de toutes mes forces. 

— Oh, Claire ! reprit-il. Je t’aime tellement que j’ai l’impression que mon cœur va lâcher. 

 

 

Pour autant, leur vie parisienne ne leur laisse que peu d’occasion de s’intéresser à cet enfant en devenir.  Il n’est pas encore question pour eux de se projeter dans un avenir familial, puisque toute leur énergie est utilisée à faire avorter un massacre annoncé.

Comment pourraient-ils se concentrer sur leur simple bonheur, sachant qu’il serait au détriment de l’espoir d’un avenir écossais ?  Pourraient-ils être heureux ? On en doute bien sûr.

 

Et cette enfant meure. Les causes sont multiples, celles que nous supposons, celles incontournables de cette l’époque. Peu importe. 

Et puis, posons-nous la question, au-delà de la tristesse infinie. Quelle aurait été la vie de cette enfant ? Où était sa place au sein d’un couple dépositaire d’une telle responsabilité ?

Rien dans la vie de Claire et Jamie à ce moment-là, ne laisse de place à un bébé. Rien de l’avenir que nous leur connaissons ne pouvait prétendre à lui offrir une vie heureuse.

Ou alors… tout aurait pu être différent et on peut s’arrêter un moment pour imaginer ce qu’aurait été leur vie si Faith avait survécu.

Les enfants 

de Jamie 

Au moins reste-t-il Fergus ! Fidèle et reconnaissant, et petit Ian qui l'admire et l'aime comme un père. Car c’est ce qu’il est Jamie, et la vie a beau dire et beau faire, jusqu’à lui retirer ses enfants… il est un père, c’est sa nature.

Il est le père de Faith, de Brianna, de William, de Fergus, de Ian, de Marsali, de Joan. Il est le père de tous ceux qui se rangent à ses côtés pour vivre et bâtir.

 

La vie peut nous malmener de toutes les manières possibles. Nous restons qui nous sommes au plus profond de nous. C’est ce qu’il nous dit… Jamie.

 

Jamie et Claire seraient restés à Paris peut-être… élevant leur enfant aux côtés de Fergus, travaillant pour Jared, jouant leur rôle à la cour du Roi. Difficile de les imaginer dans cette vie étriquée et superficielle. Mais pourquoi pas ?

Quoi qu’il en soit, Faith est morte. C’est un fait. Son petit corps repose pour l’éternité en terre française. Et Claire et Jamie retournent dans leur chère Ecosse aux côtés de Fergus, ce fils adoptif… à la rencontre de leur destinée, aussi funèbre soit-elle.

Fergus que Jamie devra renvoyer à Lallybroch finalement alors qu’eux-mêmes marchent désespérément vers la maudite lande de Culloden, porteur à la fois d’un message essentiel sur l’avenir du domaine, et également pour être le messager de leur histoire. Leur fils qu’ils regardent partir au loin, comme le symbole d’un avenir qui ne sera pas.

 

… (Tome 2 : Le talisman) 

Fergus revint avec un petit encrier en verre et une plume dégarnie. Nous signâmes chacun à son tour, en prenant appui contre le mur. Murtagh signa le premier. Je remarquai que, outre Fraser, il s’appelait également FitzGibbons. 

— Tu veux que je le porte à ta sœur ? demanda-t-il à Jamie, pendant que j’agitais le papier pour le faire sécher. 

— Non, Fergus va s’en charger. 

— Moi ? 

L’enfant ouvrit de grands yeux ronds. 

— Oui, toi. 

Jamie me prit le papier des mains, le plia et le glissa sous la ceinture de Fergus. 

— Tu le porteras à ma sœur, Mme Murray. Ce papier vaut plus que ma vie, ou que la tienne. 

Le souffle coupé par l’énormité de la mission qu’on lui confiait, Fergus se tenait droit sous la pluie, les mains croisées devant lui. 

— Vous pouvez compter sur moi, milord ! 

Un soupçon de sourire traversa le regard de Jamie et il posa une main sur le crâne de l’enfant, en lui ébouriffant les cheveux. 

— Je le sais, Fergus, et je t’en suis reconnaissant. 

Il fit glisser le gros cabochon de son père de son doigt, et le lui tendit. 

— Va aux écuries et montre cette bague au vieil homme que tu verras là-bas. Dis-lui que je t’ai demandé de prendre Donas. Ensuite tu iras droit à Lallybroch. Ne t’arrête que pour dormir et, pour cela, cache toi bien. 

Fergus était tellement excité qu’il n’arrivait plus à parler. Murtagh lui lança un regard dubitatif. 

— Tu crois que le gamin réussira à monter ta bête infernale ? 

— Oui, j’en suis sûr, répondit Jamie. 

 

Par Valérie Gay-Corajoud

Claire s’en va, emportant en son sein cet enfant qui restera pour Jamie un amour désincarné. Pas pour longtemps se dit-il puisqu’il prévoit de mourir sur la lande. Mourir, puis attendre 200 ans pour retrouver Claire. C’est ce qu’il lui a promis.

Sauf que Jamie ne meure pas. Rien ne lui sera jamais épargné, pas même la vie.

 

William 

 

Alors Jamie survit. Comme il peut. Comme une ombre tout d’abord, puis comme un homme lorsqu’il a d’autres compagnons à soutenir, et enfin, comme un père, lorsque Lady Geneva lui offre un fils avant d’en mourir, Willie qui porte le prénom de son frère aîné.

 

Quelques années de bonheur, ou de quelque chose qui s’y rapproche auprès de ce fils caché où il pourra laisser exprimer cette partie de lui si fondamentale ! Mais voilà qu’à nouveau, aimer son enfant l’oblige à partir. A nouveau, il n’a pas le droit, pas le choix…

Tome 3 : Le voyage  

 

…la plupart du temps, Willie ne lui apportait que de la joie. Il adorait MacKenzie et, à mesure qu'il grandissait, passait de plus en plus de temps avec lui, chevauchant les gros chevaux de trait lorsque Jamie passait le rouleau dans les champs, ou jouant dans les charrettes l'été lorsqu'on rapportait le foin des hauts pâturages. 

Une menace pesait néanmoins sur cette existence bucolique, plus patente à mesure que les mois passaient. Par une triste ironie, elle provenait de Willie lui-même, et le malheureux n'y pouvait rien. 

- Quel adorable enfant ! Et comme il tient bien en selle ! se pâma lady Grozier. 

Elle se tenait sur la véranda où elle prenait le thé avec lady Dunsany, admirant les pérégrinations du petit lord autour de la pelouse. 

Comblée d'aise, la grand-mère éclata de rire. 

- Oh oui. Willie adore son poney. Nous avons un mal fou à le faire descendre de selle pour prendre ses repas. Et il s'entend si bien avec son palefrenier ! Nous plaisantons parfois en disant qu'il passe tellement de temps avec MacKenzie qu'il commence même à lui ressembler physiquement ! 

Lady Grozier, qui, jusque-là, n'avait pas prêté attention à l'homme qui accompagnait l'enfant, ajusta son lorgnon. 

 - Mais oui, c'est vrai ! s'exclama-t-elle. Comme c'est extraordinaire ! Regardez, Willie a exactement le même port de tête et la même façon de sortir ses épaules ! 

 

 

A nouveau Jamie doit confier son enfant à un autre père avant que l’entourage du garçon remarquent leur ressemblance.

 Est-ce humainement tolérable ? Quand bien même ce père, cette fois-ci est un ami, le prix à payer est insupportable.

Où Jamie va-t-il chercher les forces en lui pour rester debout ? pour continuer à être cet homme intègre ?

 

Joan et Marsali 

 

Il retourne à Lallybroch parce que c’est son nid, son enveloppe, son passé et, il l’espère son avenir.

Mais Lallybroch a vécu sans lui trop d’années et sa place est prise… à moins qu’il soit trop abimé pour reprendre cette place qui était la sienne. Quoi qu’il en soit, décalé, meurtri, solitaire… il pense qu’en élevant les enfants d’une autre, il pourra enfin, remplir son rôle de père.

Les filles de Laoghaire ne sont pas responsables de la folie de leur mère, et d’une certaine manière, elles méritent un père tel que lui. Mais c’est trop dur, impossible même ! Alors il s’en va, encore, trainant avec lui sa solitude comme un fardeau dont il ne peut se défaire.

Lorsqu’il rencontre Claire, Jamie n’a que 22 ans, mais derrière lui un passé douloureux, voire traumatique.  La mort de son frère aîné qu’il vénérait, puis celle de sa mère alors qu’il n’a que 8 ans. Et finalement, sa rencontre avec Jack Randall qui en fera sa proie de prédilection, le fouettant cruellement, ce qui entraîne, par rebond, la mort du père de Jamie qui assistait à l’exécution de la sentence. Et comme si cela ne suffisait pas, Randall met sa tête à prix, ce qui l’oblige à vivre comme un hors la loi.

Pour échapper à cette condamnation, il se cache au château de Leoch sous la protection du clan McKenzie, devenant donc prétendant au titre de futur Laird, ce qui ne plait pas à Dougal, chef de guerre, qui se réserve cette place de plein droit. Aussi, Jamie, obligé de vivre dans des murs tout autant protecteurs que dangereux, doit être en permanence sur ses gardes.

Pour autant, il reste un homme droit, courageux, intègre et bienveillant.

Qui pourrait prétendre qu’il n’a pas droit à une vie paisible auprès de la femme qu’il adore, malgré l’avenir sombre pour son pays et son clan dont il connaît dorénavant l’histoire à venir ?

 

Faith et Fergus 

  

Au-delà de ce qui lui arrive, Jamie a ce trait de caractère qui le définit plus que tout autre, d’être meneur, un homme qui aime prendre soin des siens. Un Laird à n’en pas douter. Il n’agit jamais pour son propre compte, mais toujours pour le clan ou pour l’un de ses membres. 

Ce à quoi il aspire plus que tout, c’est de vivre avec sa famille au sein de sa très chère Lallybroch. Aussi, lorsque Claire se croyant stérile, lui annonce qu’elle ne lui donnera pas d’enfant, Jamie est effondré. Même si, pour la rassurer, il assure à Claire que c’est aussi bien car ainsi elle ne risque pas de mourir en couche, sa déception transpire et c’est un coup supplémentaire sur ses jeunes épaules. 

Alors quelle joie pour lui d’apprendre quelques mois plus tard que, finalement Claire attend un enfant de lui ! C’est ce qui lui permet de se reconstruire après l’insupportable torture que BJR lui a fait subir. C’est un point lumineux dans un avenir pourtant bien sombre. 

 

Valérie Gay-Corajoud