MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Text very freely adapted from Mary Larsen's analysis on the Outlander Cast site (in English)

Link to the original text: https://www.outlandercast.com/2017/08/the-meaning-behind-outlanders-signs-and-symbols.html 

The sign

of A. Malcolm

This analytical study on the printing press at A Malcom has been widely circulated on the Internet in several languages. Rather than reporting it as it is my turn, I preferred to adapt it in my own way, because as much on certain symbols I find that the analyzes made made sense, as many others seemed to me really far-fetched .

 

I give readers the opportunity to give their opinion and suggestions in the comments at the end of the article.

This is not the first time the Outlander series has offered us symbols. Master Raymond and his Apothecary store and the House of Stars were teeming with sacred geometry and pagan and Judeo-Christian symbols.
Symbols are subjective: meanings change depending on who uses them, who reads them and how they are used. They were often used as a secret code or replaced words written in populations that could not read and write.
Thus, the sign in the boutique of A. Malcolm acted as an advertising poster, a means of transmitting who he was to his customers, and for that, he impregnated it with symbols, both supernatural and religious, which had a meaning in his life and a meaning for the visitor.


Let's try to understand what all of these symbols have to say.

Old astrological beliefs held that the orbits of stars, moons, planets and the sun have shaped our lives here on earth. The cursed lovers were at the mercy of their unhappy interplanetary crossings.

The relationship between Jamie and Claire can be seen as particularly intertwined. Just like stars, moons and planets move in their orbits, Jamie and Claire are constantly moving, sliding in time, always orbiting each other. But the orbits are circles and always return to their beginning.

 

- 'Promise me to always come back to me Claire. '

- 'I will find you I promise you. If I have to endure two centuries of purgatory… two long centuries distant from you, this will be my punishment, the price I have to pay for my crimes. '

Jupiter, Saturn and Earth 

Three planetary symbols orbit the printing press sign: Jupiter, Saturn and Earth.

 

Jupiter and Saturn are both opposite and complementary symbols with many interesting features that blend well in our story.

Saturn represents strength, discipline, agriculture, pride and darkness. It denotes an energy that defines an individual derived from the social sphere - Jamie is a leader because he is defined by his public identity and his sense of duty to be a provider and a protector.

Jupiter is the star of intelligence, clarity, optimism and altruism. It looks like our doctor Claire, concentrated and compassionate. Jupiter is invoked in practices requiring special attention, delicacy and a high level of consciousness - good traits for a surgeon.

But these traits are not mutually exclusive; Jamie also has the precision and intelligence that is reserved by Jupiter, while Claire has the stubbornness, the carelessness and the pride that we associate with Saturn. These two planetary symbols represent the characters as individuals but also in relation to the other, both complementary and opposite.

We also see the symbol of Earth (or symbol of Venus upside down), which represents being grounded, in harmony with the Earth. The symbol is intended to represent matter on the mind, or how the physical world around us affects our spiritual lives.

 

Claire felt the intangible; she traveled through the stones to Craigh na Dun and felt the power of mystical healing. Despite her connection to the supernatural, she is not afraid of getting her hands dirty, literally; nurse, herbalist and mother, her physical world helps her define it. Just as Claire's spiritual life was shaped by her relationship to the physical world, Jamie had a refined relationship with the Earth, as a farmer, hunter and owner who shaped and were shaped by his Catholic beliefs

 

Circles and spheres are perfect shapes in sacred geometry. The circle, or orb, is an ancient symbol for the Earth. Historically, sovereigns and gods have been depicted holding the orb to symbolize their dominion over it. An orb surmounted by a cross, as we see in the sign of the printing press, is called a cruciger globus (Cruciferous orb) or triumphant cross. As Christianity spread throughout Europe, the pagan orb was reused and a cross was added to send the message that paganism has been replaced by Christianity. And most of all, Christianity ultimately represents something even more important: faith.

Square and compass 

In the center we see the square and the compass, a widely used and easily identifiable Freemason symbol. It is a way for Jamie to publicize his status as a Freemason to signal that it was safe for other Freemasons to frequent his printing press and that he would keep the secrets of Freemasonry safe. strangers.

 

The square and the compass also come together to form the letters, A and M, for Jamie's new name, Alexander Malcolm.

Strawberries 

or white roses? 

On the upper supports which support the plate, we see a floral representation which offers two possible analyzes

It may be the strawberry flower, which would of course represent the origin of the name Fraser

It could however be two white Jacobite roses. One for Jamie and the other for Claire. Although Jamie has no interest in getting publicly involved in the Jacobite rebellion, he offers his services to the resistance. So it is possible that this is another secret signal for potential customers to whom he means that he is ready to get involved in printing seditious documents.

Crown and thistle 

The crown and the thistle are obviously represented, moreover they figure prominently on the cover of the original outlander novel by Diana Gabaldon.

 

It is the association of the British Crown and the flower of Scotland (whose thistle is the emblem). And well beyond the reminder of the Scottish loyalty to the British crown, it is rather the symbol of the union of Claire and Jamie, the English and the Scottish, the Laird and the Sassenach

Musical keys 

This is the bass clef (C in English), flipped in all directions.

Upside down keys were frequently used in musical compositions, such as the canons of Bach and by other composers in the Baroque era, but let's not forget that it was the unusual use of musical keys that helped Mother Hildegarde to decode the messages sent to Prince Charles to organize the Jacobite rebellion.

The shape of the key when repeated is a spiral, that is to say, a visual representation of the Divine Proportion, or the Golden Ratio, a natural geometric pattern (nautilus, flower petals, galaxies). The golden ratio is reached when the longer part divided by the smaller part is equal to the whole length divided by the longer part. It links each new generation to previous generations, preserving continuity and connecting generations over time and connecting all matter from the smallest molecule to the Universe in space; it is inclusive, representing the transcendence of time and space. In the study of quantum mechanics, the ratio of gold and the notion of time / matter as a spiral are used in theories by quantum physicists to explain the possibility (and the improbabilities) of time travel, nothing less only that !

Aleph  

The Aleph is the first letter of the Hebrew alphabet and has many divine meanings. 'I am the Alpha and the Omega' can be translated from Hebrew to 'I am the Aleph (?) And Tav (?). An alternative sign for the tav is the X and the aleph also crosses to create an X.

Interestingly, the lower left descendant of the aleph makes the letter J. Opposite, we can see the other initial C, so we have J and C for Jamie and Claire juxtaposed with what could be interpreted as 'I am the 'Alpha and the Omega. 'They are the beginning and the end of the other, a divine union, star-crossed lovers caught by God.

Waves 

Less enigmatic than some other symbols, the wave patterns on the sign are adjusted. The waves transport ships to distant lands, they displace the current and shape the shores. Relocation, nurturing and how lives are shaped are central themes in Voyager. Images of the South African coast and large ships made us wait with baited breath for the next Outlander season and on September 10, our ship will enter.

Heads 

 

Dogs ? 

Or aquatic horses? 

On this point of the sign, I disagree with everything that has been said so far (in any case, with everything I have read).

It is said that they are the heads of dogs, perhaps crossed with wolves ... and the connection with the saga is based in particular on the exitence of Rollo, the wolf dog of Yong Ian. However Rollo does not yet exist when Jamie makes his sign. To support this thesis, fidelity and all known canine attributes are mentioned. Okay.

For my part, I do not see dogs there but rather animals from Celtic mythology, especially the water horse. A reminder for Jamie the exile from his distant country?

What do you think ?

MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Texte adapté très librement à partir de l'analyse de Mary Larsen sur le site Outlander Cast (en anglais)

Lien vers le texte original : https://www.outlandercast.com/2017/08/the-meaning-behind-outlanders-signs-and-symbols.html 

L'enseigne

de  A.Malcolm

Cette étude analytique sur la grille de l’imprimerie A Malcom a beaucoup circulé sur le Net et ce dans plusieurs langues.  Plutôt que de la rapporter telle qu'elle à mon tour, j’ai préféré l’adapter à ma manière, car autant sur certains symboles je trouve que les analyses faites avaient du sens, autant d’autres me semblaient vraiment tirées par les cheveux.

 

Je laisse aux lecteurs l’opportunité de donner leur avis et leur suggestions dans les commentaires en fin d’article.

 

Ce n’est pas la première fois la série Outlander nous propose des symboles. Maître Raymond et sa boutique d’Apothicaire et la Chambre des Étoiles regorgeaient de géométrie sacrée et de symboles païens et judéo-chrétiens.

Les symboles sont subjectifs : les significations changent selon qui les utilise, qui les lit et comment ils sont utilisés. Ils étaient souvent utilisés comme code secret ou remplaçaient des mots écrits dans des populations qui ne savaient pas lire et écrire.

Ainsi, l’enseigne de la boutique de A. Malcolm faisait officie d’affiche publicitaire, un moyen de transmettre qui il était à ses clients, et pour cela, il l’a imprégné de symboles, à la fois surnaturels et religieux, qui avaient un sens dans sa vie et une signification pour le visiteur.

 

 

Tentons de comprendre ce que tous ces symboles ont à dire.

Les vieilles croyances astrologiques ont soutenu que les orbites des étoiles, des lunes, des planètes et du soleil ont façonné nos vies ici sur terre. Les amants maudits étaient à la merci de leurs traversées interplanétaires malheureuses.

La relation entre Jamie et Claire peut être considérée comme particulièrement croisée. Tout comme les étoiles, les lunes et les planètes se déplacent dans leurs orbites, Jamie et Claire se déplacent constamment, glissent dans le temps, toujours en orbite l’un autour de l’autre. Mais les orbites sont des cercles et reviennent toujours à leur début.

-  « Promets-moi de toujours revenir à moi Claire. »

- « Je te retrouverai je te le promets. Si je dois endurer deux siècles de purgatoire… deux long siècle éloignés de toi, ce sera mon châtiment, le prix que je dois payer pour mes crimes. »

Jupiter, Saturne et la Terre 

Trois symboles planétaires orbitent autour du signe de l’imprimerie : Jupiter, Saturne et la Terre.

 

Jupiter et Saturne sont à la fois des symboles opposés et complémentaires avec de nombreuses caractéristiques intéressantes qui s’harmonisent bien dans notre récit.

Saturne représente la force, la discipline, l’agriculture, la fierté et l’obscurité. Il désigne une énergie qui définit un individu dérivé de la sphère sociale — Jamie est un leader parce qu’il est défini par son identité publique et son sens du devoir d’être un pourvoyeur et un protecteur.

Jupiter est l’étoile de l’intelligence, de la clarté, de l’optimisme et de l’altruisme. On dirait notre docteur Claire, concentrée et compatissante. Jupiter est invoquée dans des pratiques nécessitant une attention particulière, de la délicatesse et un niveau élevé de conscience- de bons traits pour un chirurgien.

Mais ces traits ne s’excluent pas mutuellement ; Jamie a également la précision et l’intelligence qui est réservée par Jupiter, tandis que Claire a l’entêtement, l’insouciance et la fierté que nous associons à Saturne. Ces deux symboles planétaires représentent les personnages en tant qu’individus mais aussi par rapport à l’autre, à la fois complémentaires et opposés.

Nous voyons aussi le symbole de la Terre (ou symbole de Vénus à l’envers), qui représente le fait d’être mis à la terre, en harmonie avec la Terre. Le symbole est destiné à représenter la matière sur l’esprit, ou comment le monde physique autour de nous influe nos vies spirituelles.

Claire a senti l’intangible ; elle a voyagé à travers les pierres à Craigh na Dun et a ressenti le pouvoir de la guérison mystique. Malgré son lien avec le surnaturel, elle n’a pas peur de se salir les mains, littéralement ; infirmière, herboriste et mère, son monde physique l’aide à la définir. Tout comme la vie spirituelle de Claire a été façonnée par sa relation au monde physique, Jamie avait une relation affinée avec la Terre, en tant qu’agriculteur, chasseur et propriétaire qui a façonné et ont été façonnés par ses croyances catholiques

 

Les cercles et les sphères sont des formes parfaites dans la géométrie sacrée. Le cercle, ou l’orbe, est un symbole ancien pour la Terre. Historiquement, les souverains et les dieux ont été représentés tenant l’orbe pour symboliser leur domination sur elle. Un orbe surmontée d’une croix, comme nous le voyons dans le signe de l’imprimerie, est appelé un cruciger globus (Orbe crucifère) ou croix triomphante. Comme le christianisme s’est répandu dans toute l’Europe, l’orbe païen a été ré-usage et une croix a été ajoutée pour envoyer le message que le paganisme a été remplacé par le christianisme. Et plus que tout, le christianisme représente finalement quelque chose d’encore plus important : la foi.

Carré et compas 

Au centre, nous voyons le carré et le compas, un symbole franc-maçon largement utilisé et facilement identifiable. C’est une façon pour Jamie de faire connaître son statut de franc-maçon pour signaler qu’il était sûr pour d’autres francs-maçons de fréquenter son imprimerie et qu’il garderait les secrets de la franc-maçonnerie à l’abri des étrangers.

Le carré et le compas se réunissent également pour former les lettres, A et M, pour le nouveau nom de Jamie, Alexander Malcolm.

Des fraises  

ou des roses blanches ? 

Sur les supports supérieurs qui soutiennent la plaque, nous voyons une représentation florale qui offre deux analyses possibles

Il s’agit peut-être de la fleur de fraise, qui représenterait bien sûr l’origine du nom Fraser

Il pourrait cependant que ce soit deux roses blanches jacobites. L’une pour Jamie et l’autre pour Claire. Bien que Jamie n’a pas intérêt à s’impliquer publiquement dans la rébellion jacobite, il propose ses services à la résistance. Il est donc possible que ce soit un autre signal secret pour les clients potentiels à qui il signifie qu’il est prêt à s’impliquer pour l’impression de documents séditieux.

 Couronne et chardon 

La couronne et le chardon sont bien évidement représentés ! D’ailleurs ils figurent en bonne place sur la couverture du roman original "outlander" de Diana Gabaldon.

C’est l’association de la Couronne britannique et de la fleur d’Écosse (dont le chardon est l’emblème).

Et, bien au-delà du rappel de la fidélité des Écossais envers la couronne britannique, c’est plutôt le symbole de l’union de Claire et Jamie, l’Anglaise et l’Écossais, le Laird et la Sassenach

 Clés musicales 

Il s’agit ici de la clé de Fa (C en anglais), retournée dans tous les sens.

Les clefs à l’envers étaient fréquemment utilisées dans des compositions musicales, comme les canons de Bach, et par d’autres compositeurs à l’époque baroque.

Mais n’oublions pas que c’est l’utilisation inhabituelle des clés musicales qui a aidé Mère Hildegarde à décoder les messages envoyés au Prince Charles dans le but d'organiser la rébellion jacobite !

La forme de la clef une fois répétée est une spirale, c’est-à-dire, une représentation visuelle de la Proportion Divine, ou le Rapport d’Or, un motif géométrique naturel (nautilus, pétales de fleurs, galaxies). Le rapport d’or est atteint lorsque la partie plus longue divisée par la partie plus petite est égale à la longueur entière divisée par la partie plus longue. Il relie chaque nouvelle génération aux générations précédentes, préservant la continuité et reliant les générations à travers le temps et relie toute matière de la plus petite molécule à l’Univers dans l’espace ; elle est englobante, représentant la transcendance du temps et de l’espace.

Dans l’étude de la mécanique quantique, le rapport d’or et la notion de temps/matière comme spirale sont utilisés dans les théories par les physiciens quantiques pour expliquer la possibilité (et les improbabilités) du voyage dans le temps, rien de moins que ça !

 

Aleph 

L’Aleph est la première lettre de l’alphabet hébreu et a de nombreuses significations divines. « Je suis l’Alpha et l’Oméga » peut être traduit de l’hébreu à « Je suis l’Aleph (?) et Tav (?). » Un signe alternatif pour le tav est le X et l’aleph traverse également pour créer un X 

 

Fait intéressant, le descendant inférieur gauche de l’aleph fait la lettre J. En face, nous pouvons voir l’autre C initial, donc nous avons J et C pour Jamie et Claire juxtaposé avec ce qui pourrait être interprété comme « Je suis l’Alpha et l’Omega. » Ils sont le début et la fin de l’autre, une union divine, des amants croisés par étoiles se sont pris par Dieu. 

Les vagues 

Moins énigmatiques que certains autres symboles, les motifs d’ondes sur le signe sont ajustés. Les vagues transportent des navires vers des terres lointaines, elles déplacent le courant et façonnent les rivages. La relocalisation, l’assoyage et la façon dont les vies sont façonnées sont des thèmes centraux dans Voyager. Des images de la côte sud-africaine et des grands navires nous ont fait attendre avec un souffle appâté pour la prochaine saison d’Outlander et le 10 septembre, notre navire entrera.

 

Les têtes 

 

Des chiens ? 

Ou des chevaux aquatiques  ?  

Sur ce point de l’enseigne, je suis en désaccord avec tout ce qui a été dit jusqu’alors (en tous les cas, avec tout ce que j’ai pu en lire).

Il est dit que ce sont des têtes de chiens, peut-être croisé avec des loups… et le rapprochement avec la saga s’appuie notamment sur l'exitence de Rollo, le chien loup de Yong Ian. Or Rollo n’existe pas encore au moment où Jamie fabrique son enseigne. Pour étayer cette thèse, il est évoqué la fidélité et tous les attributs canins connus. Bof.

De mon côté, je ne vois pas là des chiens mais plutôt des animaux issus de la mythologie celtique, notamment le cheval des eaux. Un rappel pour Jamie l'exilé de son lointain pays ?

Qu’en pensez-vous ?