MENU 

MENU 

Jamaica 

Although the second part of the third season of Outlander is particularly eventful, such as, for example: the long-awaited reunion of Claire and Jamie after 20 years of separation, followed shortly after by the fire at the printing house, forcing the small troop to return to Lallybroch; the at least tense confrontation with the Murrays then the revelation of a second wife, the unbearable Laoghaire, who shoots Jamie like a fury! The kidnapping of Petit-Ian by pirates; the hasty embarkation on the Artemis with a newly married Fergus and Marsali; Claire's fight against typhoid fever on the British ship, then her spectacular escape as well as her painful wandering through the jungle in order to ultimately achieve - but within a few minutes - by warning Jamie of the ambush that awaits him in Jamaica… OUF!

 

Do you think we would have been given a break? Or, at the very least, a slowdown in the course of events so that we can catch our breath?

 

Nay! The two episodes closing this season are filled with an intensity rarely equaled in the saga and further accelerate the tempo.

Young Ian.  

 

"La Bakra" opens with an important flashback, as it tells us about the kidnapping of little Ian from his point of view. And if you want my opinion, I think it was about time he could exist as such and no longer just as a foil. We were also kindly prepared to get attached to him during the previous episodes (it is a fairly common scriptwriting technique: the emotional spring towards a character just before a drama occurs). But he was then only a young boy without much consistency, barely discovering life off the farm: his talent for commerce, girls, the hectic daily life alongside his uncle, his ability to stand up to his parents… Anyway… we didn't really know what to think of him except that he looked very nice.

 

But, on the prey with the Portuguese pirates, he surprises us with his courage and his pugnacity and even more during his confrontation with the disturbing Geillis. (Too bad that the writers ignored what he experienced for weeks in the hold). He does not let himself be taken down by the kid despite what he has just experienced. Imagine though! A deflower with a girl who pleases him, the fight with a man who is twice his weight, a fire in which he almost perishes, a kidnapping by bloodthirsty pirates (they are not necessarily bloodthirsty by the way, but I finds that the two words go well together), the realization of his condition as a slave on the other side of the globe, the psychedelic interrogation of a naked and bloody woman and finally, the rape, as he will end up entrusting it to his uncle the following season. Without even speaking, at the end of the episode, of the attempted murder of a Geillis in full sacrificial delirium! Wow! Sorry to let escape my admiration, but all the same, it sends heavy! Without a doubt, we can say that there is much Fraser blood in this young boy's veins! And we better understand the special attachment that binds him to his uncle.

Also note, and this is no small matter, that we find Geillis! Aged - a little - and more and more devoured by her mission to seat a Scottish king on the throne, despite the defeat of Prince Stuart. In short, she is the Bakra!

Lord John  

 

The great story having been planted without false connection, that of our protagonists can resume its course, and here is that a new ghost appears.  

We don't have time to point out that it's a bit strong coffee tossing the old characters in the same shop: Archibald and Margaret Campbell, Geillis the Witch and now Lord John - shall we attend the Murtagh back while we're at it? - because in a few well-placed words, Jamie offers us an explanation that soothes us and allows us to appreciate the meeting to come: "Maybe the fact that Claire crossed the stones attract ghosts as they attract each other ”. The idea hits the mark and we don't have time to philosophize on the subject, because the scene to follow is tasty.

Amazement on the part of Jamie when he discovers John… surprise of John when he realizes that Claire is alive… astonishment of Claire by noting the almost sexual attraction between the two men (again, I underline the difference between the version written and filmed). 

As Jamie leaves for his side in search of information that a Freemason is likely to reveal to him about little Ian, we witness a second face to face between Claire and John, which will be the very first confrontation between these two. characters in love with the same man. The tension is palpable, jealousy permeates each of their glances, innuendoes surface in each of their words, it is subtle and sensitive. She is the one who captured the heart of the one he loves madly, he is the one to whom he entrusted his child. We know it will take years to build a friendship between these two.

In jamaica  

 

End of the flashback and we find our little troop in Jamaica. There are tunes from the second season when they hit France, but it doesn't last, as we're almost immediately immersed in the grim reality of slavery.

Jared Fraser had warned them, however, as they embarked on the Artemis: little Ian was probably going to be sold. But it is one thing to hear it, and another to witness, helplessly, the dehumanization of these chained beings, branded with a hot iron, considered as simple reproducers, like soulless animals.

 

It is important to stress the difference in reaction between Claire and her companions, including Jamie.

There is no doubt that none of them validate slavery. However, they walk between the cages of horror without shuddering, too busy, it is true, to obtain information about little Ian. But Claire is immediately devastated, unable to contain her immense sadness, and especially not to intervene, again causing a scuffle in which she puts herself in danger, forcing Jamie to pull her out of this mess - again.

Does this mean that they are devoid of humanity? That they are less affected by the fate of these people?

No of course, and certainly not Lesley and Hayes who themselves experienced years of servitude in the colonies as Jacobite prisoners! What really sets them apart is history. The story that gave birth to Claire in a century when slavery had been abolished for a long time already. She cannot ignore what she knows!

She has a global knowledge of the reality of slavery, from its emergence to its repeal and not just an opinion from personal experience, however trying it may be. When she witnesses Bold's painful humiliation in the marketplace, she doesn't just witness the mistreatment of a man! but Slavery in its entirety and all that it represents intolerable.

 

She will remain in this state of mind throughout their stay, even during the evening given by the governor where the motionless and silent presence of the slaves in full dress saddens her. She's so confused that no word is needed for Jamie to understand. "When will it end?" he asks her then. He leaves him the heavy load of knowledge, but allows him to regain his footing by referring to a less gloomy future.

As if to underline the ambiguity of the situation, we are given in counterpoint, a disturbing scene during which an English bourgeois is exhilarated by the exotic appearance of Yi Tien Cho. (Note that the relationship between Yi Tien Cho and Jamie is not at all the same in the books as in the series). Racism is distilled in many ways, it never hurts to remind people.

Focus on the episodes:
"La Bakra" and "Eye of the Storm"

Valérie Gay-Corajoud 

By Valérie Gay-Corajoud

But we don't have time to dwell on their feelings, don't forget, we have to keep the tempo!

So after her interview with John, it is now with Geillis that Claire has to do battle. And the least we can say is that again, it is not straightforward relaxation!

Yet their relationship has always been imbued with real affection and, despite the drama that is playing out a few kilometers away, we still feel this attachment that persists in their desire to explain themselves, even if, on the other hand. and on the other hand, suspicion prevails, perhaps mingling with the joy of being together and the painful evocation of past events. They tell each other and, again, we see how different they are. Geillis is as withdrawn into her personal goals as Claire is open to the well-being of others.

 And then we, spectators, we know it! It's Geillis who holds Ian! Who plans to kill him! She's the Bakra, damn it! The terror of prepubescent slaves!

Finally, Geillis' madness takes precedence over any other consideration, and nothing more reason can come to break this line which she crossed years ago and which justified, in her eyes, the murder of a number. consequent of husbands.

 

I will of course spare you the small additional articulations which nevertheless build the story as a whole. But it seems important to me to point out this junction point where all these stories meet, when Geillis realizes that the sapphire ​​Lord John wears in his pocket is the one from Dougal McKenzie's loot and which she needs for the long-awaited prophecy. can be unveiled!

 

In this simple shot, you notice the evocation of Dougal and his commitment to the Jacobite cause; Jamie swimming to the Island of the Selkies and discovering the famous treasure, little Ian went in search of the said treasure in order to pay the pension of Laoghaire, the second wife (because if Ian is not kidnapped, no trip to Jamaica and none of that happens)… John, formerly governor of Ardsmuir Prison to whom Jamie the Red offered the sapphire, Geillis and his only quest, the one that justified her crossing the stones of Craigh na Dun in 1968, and finally - the only one capable of decoding the prophecy - Margaret Campbell, the very one who alerted Claire about the Abandawe cave! If that is not a crossroads not to be missed, it is because I do not know anything about scriptwriting subtlety!

Lieutenant (or Captain) Leonard 

 

Besides, everything is accelerating (I mean, everything is accelerating a little more).

After being informed by Téméraire that it was indeed Geillis - the deceitful! - who held little Ian, Claire and Jamie set off at a gallop towards the Bakra's house. Alas, they do not have time to go very far, because the infamous, and nevertheless touching Lieutenant Leonard catches up with them and, ignoring the sustained insults of our well-recovered Englishwoman, puts Jamie in irons by displaying a satisfied air that makes him, at this precise moment, infinitely detestable.

Once again, everyone's life is in danger. Jamie is again (unfairly) taken prisoner by a representative of the British Crown and risks hanging. Claire, torn, must go the other way, however, in order to find little Ian, she promised. The fear is there, tangible, but the action prevails.

Perhaps some are saying, at this precise moment in history, that Claire could have been quietly installed in her Bostonian living room in 1968 instead of trudging through the Jamaican jungle in pursuit of her nephew who had become a slave to a berserk while her husband was still exposing himself to the gallows! But I guess it's the kind of thought that doesn't hold up for long in the face of the frantic pace of our Outlander adventures. (Yes, I make up words, it's my text after all).

 

Pfiuuuu! We're going to help ourselves to a tall glass of something cool… we look out the window to remember the weather. Ah hold! It's already nighttime ? And we start the next episode.

 

The governor.  

 

Fortunately, Fergus and Marsali, who until now have only acted in presence, have the good idea to warn John Gray of Jamie's arrest. We will notice that even if he is (too) often absent from the screen, our dear Frenchi is nevertheless regularly requested by his adopted father. As he had said to Jamie in the second season, as they drove to Maison Élise: "I keep your right". And that's the feeling it gives. We can therefore consider his absence not as an abandonment, but conversely, as proof that he is working upstream for the good of the Frassers.

 

In the turmoil, follows a quite enjoyable scene it must be admitted.

The captain (or lieutenant?) Leonardo, having his suspenders pulled up by an all-powerful Lord John on his territory, must let go of his prey, as a cat would with an overly agile mouse.  

John Gray is finally revealing himself in all his military glory and it's satisfying to see that he's not only a man in love with our disgraced Highlander, but he's also blessed with a strong character. Moreover, and this is rare enough to be worth raising, Jamie remains passive throughout the scene. Mute, almost banned, discovering, it would seem, a facet of his friend that he did not know and that pleases him. In a way, this scene rebalances the relationship between them and allows us to better understand the nature of their attachment.

For her part, Claire confronts the perfidious Geillis again and only manages to convince her of her good faith by revealing the family photos that Jamie had the reflex to entrust to her just before being embarked. Geillis has no choice but to admit that Claire has indeed crossed the timeline three times and that she had a child by Jamie during her stay in the 20th century. It is at this moment that everything falls into place and that his fate is sealed.

Brianna is the 200 year old baby. She is the key to prophecy… that's why Claire is there, not to put an end to her quest! but to offer him something to make it happen. In any case, that's how her sick mind sees it, especially as Claire has just confirmed it to her: just think of the person you want to join for the stones to guide us to her. . So Geillis hides the photo in her cleavage and we already know what she will do with it! Why was she not burned at the stake in the end!

 

Abandawe 

 

Barely Geillis left, leaving Claire more or less locked up, Jamie finds his wife (again…) and they rush outside to free little Ian (well…). The suspense grows to the rhythm of African drums to the climax of an incredibly poetic scene, during which the slaves dance around the fire, like the druidesses of Craigh na Dun during the feast of Samhain in 1945! Once again time plays with us and displays its prodigious elasticity. Is everything really written down? Are the past and the future just a figment of the mind? Are Margaret's visions like Geillis' prophecy just markers that mark the articulations of the story? And finally, Will Frasers' desperate posturing change anything in the end? Are they just toys of a sealed fate? Or conversely, are they the decisive factors for a shaky future?

But again, we don't have time to debate this, because the action itself doesn't wait.

 

Margaret Campbell wasn't wrong about Abandawe Cave, so she's right when she predicts Brianna is in danger! And if there was still an ounce of doubt, she just had to tell us about Jamie's rabbit and Claire's bird for the last resistance to give way definitively.

While the slaves undermine the vile Archibald Campbell who will no longer have the opportunity to mistreat his sister, and frankly, well done for him, Claire and Jamie throw themselves headlong into this jungle that conceals so many mysteries, until to this cave which we have the assurance, from now on, that it is the equivalent of the menhirs of Craigh na Dun.

As they get close to their goal, they realize that they might have no choice but to go their separate ways again. You, I don't know, but I hadn't thought about it! For a few seconds, I shivered, telling myself that indeed, maybe that was what was going to happen. After all, it had happened before that Claire had to cross the stones in order to save her daughter! Urgency robs them of this important moment in which they would have had so much to confide! Things I would have liked to hear. But Brianna's life and Ian's are at stake, so they leave, always faster… Crescendo, accelerando… the musical score takes us to a last flight that we expect as much as we fear it.

 

Fortunately, the written history goes in the direction of Claire, because Abandawe is undoubtedly the cave described by Joe Abernathy in which, he was told, the skeleton of a murdered woman was found. As for that machete that ends up landing in his hand is probably that blunt blade that slit his throat. What she will experience, she has already experienced! But she doesn't know. Not yet.

After a quick fight, Geillis died. Ian is saved. We can catch our breath.

 

To recover from our emotions, we are offered one of those accomplice moments which the Frasers have the secret and which fill us. Tender looks, gentle caresses, naughty evocations, then a torrid encounter. We are told, the Fraser couple and well and truly reformed. We are far from the doubts that assailed Claire a few months before, we have forgotten Laoghaire and his filthy blackmail. We will finally find Lallybroch!

Do you have a short memory?  

I warned you, as a foreword, that these two episodes closing the season were dizzying ... And there must be some compelling reason to make us agree to leave Scotland behind us! This fantastic country that we have learned to love, to defend! This clan land which has lived through so many tragedies and which enchants us with its breathtaking landscapes and its courageous population. 

Yes, there had to be a compelling reason.  

 

So what do you think of a storm? Or even, why not, a cyclone?

MENU 

MENU 

La Jamaïque 

Bien que deuxième partie de la troisième saison d’Outlander soit particulièrement chargée en évènements, comme, par exemple :

les retrouvailles tant attendues de Claire et Jamie après 20 années de séparation, suivies peu de temps après par l’incendie de l’imprimerie, obligeant la petite troupe à revenir à Lallybroch ; la confrontation pour le moins tendue avec les Murray puis la révélation d’une seconde épouse, l’insupportable Laoghaire, qui tire sur Jamie telle une furie ! L’enlèvement de petit Ian par des pirates ; l’embarquement précipité sur l’Artémis avec un Fergus et une Marsali nouvellement mariés ; le combat de Claire contre la fièvre typhoïde sur le vaisseau britannique, puis son échappée spectaculaire ainsi que son errance douloureuse à travers la jungle afin de parvenir, in fine - mais à quelques minutes près - par prévenir Jamie du guet-apens qui le guette en Jamaïque… OUF !

Pensez-vous qu’on nous aurait accordé une pause ? Ou, au minimum, un ralentissement dans le déroulé des évènements, histoire que nous puissions reprendre notre respiration ?

Que nenni !  Les deux épisodes clôturant cette saison sont emplis d’une intensité rarement égalée dans la saga et accélèrent encore le tempo.

Petit Ian. 

 

"La Bakra" s'ouvre sur un flash-back d’importance, puisqu’il nous raconte l’enlèvement de petit Ian de son point de vue. Et si on veut mon avis, je trouve qu’il était temps qu’il puisse exister en tant que tel et non plus seulement comme un faire-valoir. On nous avait d’ailleurs gentiment préparés à nous attacher à lui lors des épisodes précédents (c’est une technique scénaristique assez courante : le ressort affectif envers un personnage juste avant qu’un drame se produise).Mais il n’était alors qu’un jeune garçon sans grande consistance, découvrant à peine la vie hors de la ferme :  son talent pour le commerce, les filles, le quotidien mouvementé aux côtés de son oncle, sa capacité à tenir tête à ses parents… Bref… on ne savait pas trop quoi penser de lui si ce n’est qu’il avait l’air bien sympathique.

 

Cependant, aux proies avec les pirates portugais,  il nous surprend par son courage et sa pugnacité et plus encore lors de sa confrontation avec la troublante Geillis. (Dommage que les scénaristes aient fait l’impasse sur ce qu’il a vécu des semaines durant en fond de cale). Il ne se laisse pas démonter le gamin malgré ce qu’il vient de vivre. Imaginez pourtant !

Un dépucelage avec une fille qui lui plait, la lutte avec un homme qui fait le double de son poids, un incendie dans lequel il manque de périr, un enlèvement par des pirates sanguinaires (ils ne sont pas forcément sanguinaires d’ailleurs, mais je trouve que les deux mots vont bien ensemble), la prise de conscience de sa condition d’esclave à l’autre bout du globe, l’interrogatoire psychédélique d’une femme nue et couverte de sang et finalement, le viol, comme il finira par le confier à son oncle la saison suivante. Sans même parler, en fin d’épisode, de la tentative de meurtre d’une Geillis en plein délire sacrificiel ! Wouah ! Pardon de laisser s’échapper ainsi mon admiration, mais tout de même, ça envoie du lourd !

Sans conteste possible, on peut affirmer qu’il a bien du sang Fraser dans les veines ce jeune garçon ! Et on comprend mieux l’attachement particulier qui le lie à son oncle.

À noter également, et ce n’est pas une petite affaire, que nous retrouvons Geillis ! Vieillie -un peu - et de plus en plus dévorée par sa mission qui consiste à asseoir un roi écossais sur le trône, en dépit de la défaite du Prince Stuart. Bref, la Bakra, c’est elle !

Lord John 

  

La grande histoire ayant été plantée sans faux raccord, celle de nos protagonistes peut reprendre son cours, et voilà qu’apparaît un nouveau revenant.  

Nous n’avons pas le temps de nous faire la remarque que c’est un peu fort de café de nous balancer les anciens personnages dans la même boutique : Archibald et Margaret Campbell, Geillis la sorcière et maintenant Lord John -allons-nous assister au retour de Murtagh pendant qu’on y est ?-   car en quelques mots bien placés, Jamie nous offre une explication qui nous apaise et nous permet d'apprécier la rencontre à venir :  « Peut-être est-ce le fait que Claire ait traversé les pierres qui attire les revenants comme ils s’attirent l’un l’autre » .  L’idée fait mouche et nous n’avons pas le temps de philosopher sur le sujet, car la scène à suivre est savoureuse.

Stupéfaction de la part de Jamie lorsqu’il découvre John… surprise de John lorsqu’il réalise que Claire est en vie… étonnement de Claire en constatant l’attrait quasi sexuel entre les deux hommes (là encore, je souligne la différence entre la version écrite et filmée). 

 

Alors que Jamie part de son côté en quête de renseignements qu'un franc-maçon est susceptible de lui dévoiler à propos de petit Ian, nous assistons à un deuxième face à face entre Claire et John, qui sera le tout premier affrontement entre ces deux personnages épris du même homme. La tension est palpable, la jalousie imprègne chacun de leurs regards, les sous-entendus affleurent dans chacun de leurs propos, c’est subtil et sensible. Elle est celle qui a capturé le cœur de celui qu’il aime éperdument, il est celui à qui il a confié son enfant.  Nous le savons, l’amitié mettra des années à se construire entre ces deux-là.

En Jamaïque 

 

Fin du flash-back et nous retrouvons notre petite troupe en Jamaïque. Il y a des airs de la deuxième saison lorsqu’ils arrivent en France, mais cela ne dure pas, car nous sommes presque immédiatement plongés dans la sombre réalité de l’esclavage.

Jared Fraser les avait prévenus pourtant alors qu’ils s’embarquaient sur l’Artémis : petit Ian allait probablement être vendu.  Mais c’est une chose de l’entendre, et une autre d’assister, impuissant, à la déshumanisation de ces êtres enchaînés, marqués au fer rouge, considérés comme de simples reproducteurs, tels des animaux sans âmes.

 

Il est important de souligner la différence de réaction entre Claire et ses compagnons, Jamie compris.

Il ne fait aucun doute qu’aucun d’entre eux ne valide l’esclavage. Cependant, ils cheminent entre les cages de l’horreur sans frémir, trop occupés, il est vrai, à obtenir des renseignements à propos de petit Ian. Mais Claire est immédiatement effondrée, incapable de contenir son immense tristesse, et surtout de ne pas intervenir, provoquant à nouveau une échauffourée dans laquelle elle se met en danger, obligeant Jamie à la tirer de ce mauvais pas - encore une fois.

Est-ce à dire qu’ils sont dépourvus d'humanité ? Qu’ils sont moins touchés par le sort de ces personnes ?

Non bien sûr, et certainement pas Lesley et Hayes qui ont eux-mêmes vécus des années de servitudes dans les colonies en tant que prisonniers Jacobites !  Ce qui les différencie en vérité, c’est l’histoire. L’histoire qui a fait naître Claire dans un siècle où l’esclavage était aboli depuis bien longtemps déjà. Elle ne peut faire abstraction de ce qu’elle sait !

Elle a une connaissance globale sur la réalité de l’esclavage, de son émergence jusqu’à son abrogation et pas seulement une opinion issue d’une expérience personnelle, aussi éprouvante soit-elle. Lorsqu’elle assiste à la douloureuse humiliation de Téméraire sur la place du marché, elle n'est pas juste témoin de la maltraitance d'un homme ! mais de l’Esclavage en son entier et tout ce que cela représente d’intolérable.

 

Elle restera dans cet état d’esprit tout au long de leur séjour, même au cours de la soirée donnée par le gouverneur où la présence immobile et silencieuse des esclaves en grande tenue la désole. Elle est d'ailleurs à ce point troublée qu'aucun mot n'est nécessaire pour que Jamie comprenne. "Ça finira quand" lui demande-t-il alors ? Il lui laisse la lourde charge du savoir, mais lui permet de reprendre pied en faisant référence à un avenir moins sombre.

Comme pour souligner l’ambiguïté de la situation, on nous donne à voir en contrepoint, une scène dérangeante durant laquelle une bourgeoise anglaise s’émoustille devant l’apparence exotique de Yi Tien Cho. (À noter que la relation entre Yi Tien Cho et Jamie n’est pas du tout la même dans les livres que dans la série). Le racisme se distille de bien des manières, il n’est jamais inutile de le rappeler.

Focus sur les épisodes :

"La Bakra" et "L'oeil du cyclone"

Valérie Gay-Corajoud 

Autres textes qui pourraient vous plaire  

 

Haut de page 

Haut de page

Par Valérie Gay-Corajoud

Mais nous n’avons pas le temps de nous appesantir sur leurs ressentis, n’oubliez pas, il faut garder le tempo !

Donc après son entrevue avec John, c’est maintenant avec Geillis que Claire doit en découdre. Et le moins qu’on puisse dire, c’est que là encore, ce n’est pas la franche détente !

Pourtant leur relation a toujours été empreinte d’une réelle affection et, malgré le drame qui est en train de se jouer à quelques kilomètres de là, on éprouve encore cet attachement qui persiste dans leur volonté de s'expliquer, même si, de part et d’autre, la suspicion prévaut, se mêlant peut-être à la joie de se retrouver et à la douloureuse évocation des évènements passés. Elles se racontent et, à nouveau, nous constatons à quel point elles sont différentes. Geillis aussi repliée sur ses objectifs personnels que Claire est ouverte au bienêtre d'autrui.

 

 Et puis nous, spectateurs, nous le savons ! C’est Geillis qui détient Ian ! Qui projette de le tuer ! C’est elle la Bakra bon sang de bois ! La terreur des esclaves prépubères !

Finalement, la folie de Geillis prend le pas sur toute autre considération, et plus rien de raison ne peut venir briser cette ligne qu’elle a franchie il y a des années et qui a justifié, à ses yeux, le meurtre d'un nombre conséquent de maris.

 

Je vous fais grâce bien sûr des petites articulations annexes qui pourtant construisent l’histoire en son ensemble. Mais il me semble important de souligner ce point de jonction où toutes ces histoires se rencontrent, lorsque Geillis réalise que le saphir que lord John porte à la poche est celui issu du magot de Dougal McKenzie et dont elle a besoin pour que la prophétie tant attendue puisse être dévoilée !

 

Dans ce simple plan, vous remarquez l'évocation de Dougal et de son engagement pour la cause Jacobite ; Jamie nageant jusqu’à l’Ile des Selkies et découvrant le fameux trésor, petit Ian parti en quête dudit trésor afin de payer la pension de Laoghaire, la seconde épouse (car si Ian ne se fait pas enlever, pas de voyage en Jamaïque et rien de tout ça n’arrive)…  John, anciennement gouverneur de la prison d’Ardsmuir à qui Jamie le rouge a offert le saphir, Geillis et son unique quête, celle qui a justifié qu’elle traverse les pierres de Craigh na Dun en 1968, et finalement - seule capable de décoder la prophétie - Margaret Campbell, celle-là même qui alertait Claire à propos de la grotte d’Abandawe ! Si ça, ce n’est pas un carrefour à ne pas louper, c’est que je n’y connais rien en subtilité scénaristique !

Lieutenant (ou capitaine) Léonard 

 

D’ailleurs, tout s’accélère (je veux dire, tout s’accélère encore un peu plus).

 

Après avoir été informés par Téméraire que c’était bien Geillis - la fourbe ! – qui détenait petit Ian, Claire et Jamie partent au galop vers la demeure de la Bakra. Hélas, ils n’ont pas le temps d’aller bien loin, car l’infâme, et néanmoins touchant lieutenant Léonard les rattrape et, faisant fi des insultes soutenues de notre Anglaise bien remontée, met Jamie aux fers en affichant un air satisfait qui le rend, à cet instant précis, infiniment détestable.

 

Encore une fois, la vie de chacun est en danger. Jamie est à nouveau fait (injustement) prisonnier par un représentant de la couronne britannique et risque la pendaison. Claire, tiraillée, doit partir dans l’autre sens pourtant, afin de retrouver petit Ian, elle l’a promis. La peur est là, tangible, mais l’action prédomine.

 

Peut-être que certains se disent, à cet instant précis de l’histoire,  que Claire aurait pu être tranquillement installée dans son salon bostonien en 1968 au lieu de crapahuter dans la jungle jamaïquaine à la poursuite de son neveu devenu l’esclave d’une folle furieuse pendant que son mari s'exposait encore à la potence ! Mais je suppose que c’est le genre de pensée qui ne résiste pas longtemps devant le rythme effréné de nos péripéties outlanderiennes.  (Oui, j’invente des mots, c’est mon texte après tout).

 

Pfiuuuu ! On va se servir un grand verre de quelque chose de frais…on regarde par la fenêtre pour se souvenir du temps qu’il fait. Ah tiens ! Il fait déjà nuit ? Et on lance l’épisode suivant.

 

Le gouverneur. 

 

Heureusement, Fergus et Marsali qui n’ont fait jusqu’alors qu’acte de présence ont la bonne idée de prévenir John Grey de l’arrestation de Jamie. Nous remarquerons que même s’il est (trop) souvent absent à l’écran, notre cher frenchi est pourtant régulièrement sollicité par son père d’adoption. Comme il l’avait dit à Jamie dans la deuxième saison, alors qu’ils se rendait à la Maison Élise :  « Je garde votre droite ». Et c’est bien le sentiment qu’il donne.  Nous pouvons dès lors considérer son absence non pas comme un abandon, mais à l’inverse, comme la preuve qu’il est en train d’œuvrer en amont pour le bien des Fraser.

 

Dans la tourmente, s’en suit une scène assez jouissive il faut bien l’avouer.

Le capitaine (ou lieutenant ?) Léonard se faisant remonter les bretelles par un Lord John tout puissant sur son territoire, doit lâcher sa proie, comme un chat le ferait d’une souris trop agile.  

John Grey se révèle enfin dans toute sa splendeur militaire et c’est satisfaisant de constater qu’il n’est pas seulement un homme épris de notre Highlander en disgrâce, mais qu’il est aussi pourvu d’un fort caractère. D’ailleurs, et cela est suffisamment rare pour valoir la peine d’être relevé, Jamie reste passif tout au long de la scène. Muet, presque interdit, découvrant, semblerait-il, une facette de son ami qu’il ne connaissait pas et qui lui plait.  D’une certaine manière, cette scène rééquilibre le rapport entre eux et nous permet de mieux saisir la nature de leur attachement.

De son côté, Claire affronte à nouveau la perfide Geillis et ne parvient à la convaincre de sa bonne foi qu’en dévoilant les photos familiales que Jamie a eu le réflexe de lui confier juste avant d'être arrêté. Geillis n’a plus d’autre choix que d’admettre que Claire a bel et bien franchi la ligne du temps à trois reprises et qu’elle a eu une enfant de Jamie lors de son séjour au 20e siècle.  C’est à cet instant que tout se met en place et que son destin est scellé.

Brianna est le bébé âgé de 200 ans. Elle est la clé de la prophétie… voilà pourquoi Claire est là, non pas pour mettre un terme à sa quête ! mais pour lui offrir de quoi la réaliser. En tous les cas, c’est ainsi que son esprit malade conçoit la chose, d’autant que Claire vient de le lui confirmer : il suffit de penser à la personne qu’on souhaite rejoindre pour que les pierres nous guident jusqu’à elle. Alors Geillis cache la photo dans son décolleté et nous savons déjà ce qu’elle va en faire ! Que n’a-t-elle été brûlée sur le bûcher finalement !

 

Abandawe 

 

À peine Geillis sortie, laissant Claire plus ou moins enfermée,  Jamie retrouve sa femme (encore…) et ils se précipitent au-dehors pour délivrer petit Ian (enfin…). Le suspens grandit au rythme des tambours africains jusqu’à l’apothéose d’une scène incroyablement poétique, durant laquelle les esclaves dansent autour du feu, tels les druidesses de Craigh na Dun lors de la fête de Samhain en 1945 !  À nouveau le temps se joue de nous et affiche sa prodigieuse élasticité. Est-ce que tout est réellement écrit ? Est-ce que passé et avenir ne sont que des vues de l’esprit ? Est-ce que les visions de Margaret tout comme la prophétie de Geillis ne sont que des marqueurs qui délimitent les articulations de l’histoire ? Et finalement, est-ce que les gesticulations désespérées des Fraser changeront quoi que ce soit à la conclusion ? Ne sont-ils que des jouets d’un destin scellé ? Ou à l’inverse, sont-ils les facteurs décisifs d’un avenir chancelant ?

 

Mais à nouveau, nous n’avons pas le temps de débattre à ce sujet, car l’action elle, n’attend pas.

 

Margaret Campbell ne s'était pas trompée à propos de la grotte d’Abandawe, donc, elle a raison lorsqu’elle prédit que Brianna est en danger ! Et s’il restait encore une once de doute, il suffit qu’elle nous parle du lapin de Jamie et de l’oiseau de Claire pour que cède définitivement la dernière résistance.

Alors que les esclaves mettent à mal le vil Archibald Campbell qui n’aura plus l’occasion de maltraiter sa sœur, et franchement, bien fait pour lui, Claire et Jamie se jettent tête baissée dans cette jungle qui recèle tant de mystères, jusqu’à cette grotte dont nous avons l’assurance, dorénavant, qu’elle est l’équivalent des menhirs de Craigh na Dun.

Alors qu’ils touchent au but, ils réalisent qu’ils n’auront peut-être pas d’autre choix que de se séparer à nouveau. Vous, je ne sais pas, mais moi je n’y avais pas pensé ! Pendant quelques secondes, j’ai tremblé en me disant qu’en effet, c’est peut-être ce qui allait se produire. Après tout, cela était déjà arrivé que Claire soit obligée de traverser les pierres afin de sauver sa fille ! L’urgence leur dérobe cet instant important dans lequel ils auraient eu tant à se confier ! Des choses que j’aurais aimé entendre. Mais la vie de Brianna et celle de Ian sont en jeu, alors ils repartent, toujours plus vite… Crescendo, accelerando… la partition musicale nous emporte vers une dernière envolée que nous attendons tout autant que nous la craignons.

 

Heureusement, l’histoire écrite va dans le sens de Claire, car Abandawe est assurément la grotte décrite par Joe Abernathy dans laquelle, lui a-t-on dit, le squelette d’une femme assassinée a été retrouvé. Quant à cette machette qui finit par atterrir dans sa main, elle est probablement cette lame émoussée qui lui a tranché la gorge. Ce qu’elle va vivre, elle l’a déjà vécu ! Mais elle ne le sait pas. Pas encore.

Au terme d’un rapide combat, Geillis est morte. Ian est sauvé. Nous pouvons reprendre notre respiration.

 

Pour nous remettre de nos émotions, on nous offre l’un de ces moments complices dont les Fraser ont le secret et qui nous comblent. Regards tendres, caresses douces, évocations coquines, puis rencontre torride. On nous l’affirme, le couple Fraser et bel et bien reformé. Nous sommes loin des doutes qui assaillaient Claire quelques mois auparavant, nous avons oublié Laoghaire et son immonde chantage. Nous allons enfin retrouver Lallybroch !

Avez-vous la mémoire courte ?  

Je vous prévenais, en avant-propos du fait que ces deux épisodes clôturant la saison étaient étourdissants… Et il faut bien qu’un motif impérieux nous fasse accepter de laisser l’Écosse derrière nous ! Ce pays fantastique que nous avons appris à aimer, à défendre ! Cette terre clanique qui a vécu tant de drames et qui nous enchante par ses paysages époustouflants et sa population courageuse.  

Oui, il fallait une raison impérative.  

 

Alors, que pensez-vous d’une tempête ? Ou même, pourquoi pas, un cyclone ?