remarks & analyzes

MENU 

MENU 

*Jamie and Jesus are 'put to the grave' by religious, under the gaze of one or women. Jamie is put in a white room, in a big white linen shirt by the monks under Claire's eyes. Jesus is buried in a large shroud, by Joseph of Aritmathea and Nicodemus under the gaze of Mary Magdalene and other women. 

*Jamie and Jesus are 'put to the grave' by religious, under the gaze of one or women. Jamie is put in a white room, in a big white linen shirt by the monks under Claire's eyes. Jesus is buried in a large shroud, by Joseph of Aritmathea and Nicodemus under the gaze of Mary Magdalene and other women. 

*Jamie and Jesus are flogged in an outrageous way that could kill them in itself. 

*Jamie and Jesus are sentenced to death for things they did not do. 

*Jamie and Jesus are tortured to death among robbers. 

*Jamie and Jesus are in the hands of torturers in red. The English Captain Randall is a redcot, the Roman soldiers are also in red under their armor. 

*Jamie and Jesus are abandoned by notables who know their innocence: The Duke of Sandringham for Jamie, Pontius Pilate for Jesus. 

*Jamie and Jesus give up dignity and life to save those they love. It's to save Claire from Captain Randall's clutches that Jamie both agrees to be raped and then killed. It is to save humanity that Jesus accepted to be humiliated and put to death. 

*Jamie and Jesus agree to be nailed to the woods, watched by their helpless relatives as they try to calm and reassure. Jamie takes Claire and talks to her to calm her down, as Randall prepares to nail her hand to a table. Jesus spoke to the women of Jerusalem telling them not to cry for him before being crucified and worried about his mother when crucified. 

*Jamie and Jesus surrender themselves completely to their worst enemy who takes full possession of them, their bodies, their lives. Randall and his demonic side for Jamie. Satan for Jesus. 

*Jamie and Jesus are marked at the side of their bodies by men in red. Jamie is mentally and physically tortured to brand himself on the ribs. Jesus has the side pierced by a spear of a Roman soldier. 

*Jamie and Jesus die spiritually. Jamie is lost in the dark after being released from prison and wants to die physically because he feels he is losing his soul. 

*Jamie and Jesus are approved by their father as they enter the 'final phase': Brian Fraser's 'You're a braw lad, his' when Jamie is taken away by the soldiers recalls 'This is my beloved son in who I found my pleasure 'by the divine voice after the baptism of Jesus who inaugurates his ministry. 

*Jamie and Jesus are betrayed by people who share their intimacy: Horrocks is welcomed by Jamie and Judas lived 3 years with Jesus. 

*Jamie and Jesus are wrongly accused and face lies and false testimony. 

The more I think about it and look at Outlander's season 1, the more the analogies between Jamie Fraser's character, who displays an amazing love and dedication for Claire and the character Jesus Christ, as his story is written in the Gospels, seem troubling to me.  

Once again, I do not proselytize. Even if we do not believe in the existence of Jesus or in his message, the fact is that the story of his life was written in texts, perhaps fiction, according to the faith of each one and that these texts allow us to troubling comparisons with Jamie: 

So, Stephen King, the author of the book that gave the wonderful film 'The Green Line,' explains that when he was describing something that looked like Jesus in the characteristics of the black prisoner very tall and very strong, innocent, sweet, doing good around him and wrongly condemned, he renamed the character in John Coffey so that he had the initials 'JC' 

Here is the context of my reflection: In his book on the biblical influences of the West, the Indian philosopher Vishal Mangalwadi explains that one of the intellectual evolutions of the West concerns the notion of heroism. 

In mythology and ancient history, the hero is the super-man of incredible power who conquers and kills all his enemies in anthology fights. Achilles, Hercules, Ulysses, Jason but also Leonidas of Sparta, Alexander the Great and Julius Caesar are great warriors who carry everything in their path but are sometimes defeated by a tiny weakness, as in the case of Achilles. We are therefore in praise of the overpowering and conquering hero and the condemnation of weakness. Vishal Mangalwadi shows that today, however, the heroes are no longer the great generals or genius politicians but are those who, in the service of others and to save others, have been defeated and fallen. 

The hero par excellence of the French Air Force is Captain Georges Guynemer, a puny young man refused in the infantry who becomes an airplane pilot and dies having given everything in September 1917. The majority of Victoria's recipients Cross, the highest British award, received it posthumously after giving their lives to protect or save their comrades. The majority of the recipients of the American Medal of Honor receive it because they give up their chances of survival to save their comrades like this Marine who put between a grenade and his comrade and was mutilated for life. Vishal Mangalwadi explains that the notion of heroism has been profoundly modified in the West by the Bible and mainly the example of Jesus Christ. 

Indeed, in Christian doctrine, Jesus is the human form of God, so all-powerful, who, for the love of humanity and to save it, abandons his power and dies in humiliation, destitution, injustice and weakness. His death by crucifixion, punishment reserved for slaves, rebels and criminals, is particularly infamous and is the antithesis of what he is, according to the evangelical texts. To give one's life in humiliation and weakness to save those one loves becomes, in the Christianized West, the archetype of the hero. Several authors have admitted that this Christian model of the sacrificial hero had influenced their work without even realizing it beforehand. 

The subject I propose below deals with a religious character. In no way do I proselytise or want to convince anyone of religious ideas. I just want to share a reflection on Outlander's cultural influences, and I've written to Diana Gabaldon through her website to see if the similarities I'm experiencing are coincidental or voluntary. 

By Tim Larribau

Jamie inspired

by Jesus ?

Whatever our beliefs, we can not deny that these similarities are disturbing, moreover, Captain Randall himself alludes to the fact that Jamie offers himself as Christ on the cross.  

Anyway, if Vishal Mangalwadi is right about the 'Christic' notion of heroism in the Western mentality, this could explain why Jamie Fraser's character is so fascinating, touches us so deeply and why his boundless love for Claire echoes unconscious things in our Western minds.  

  

In fact, Jamie's love for Claire, in this work of fiction, seems to be a perfect allegory of a biblical verse where the Apostle Paul says, 'Husbands love your wives as Christ loved the congregation and is delivered himself for her'. 

 

Is this why Jamie is called the King of Men, by Claire and his 'fans'?  

It would still be a coincidence, Jesus having been called 'King of the Jews' by Pilate and being called 'King of Kings' in the Bible.

MENU 

MENU 

*Jamie et Jésus sont "mis au tombeau" par des religieux, sous le regard d'une ou des femmes. Jamie est mis dans une chambre blanche, dans une grande chemise de lin blanche par les moines sous le regard de Claire. Jésus est mis au tombeau dans un grand linceul, par Joseph d'Aritmathée et Nicodème sous le regard de Marie de Magdala et d'autres femmes.  

*Jamie et Jésus reviennent à la vie par amour et la première personne qui est témoin de leur retour à la vie est une femme. Jamie est secoué par Claire qui lui dit qu'elle va mourir avec lui et par amour, il revient à la vie. Jésus revient à la vie par amour pour les humains et la première personne à laquelle il se montre après sa résurrection est Marie de Magdala. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont flagellés d'une façon outrancière qui pouvait les tuer en elle-même. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont condamnés à mort pour des choses qu'ils n'ont pas commises. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont menés au supplice au milieu de brigands. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont aux mains de tortionnaires en rouge. Le Capitaine anglais Randall est un "redcaot" les soldats romains étant aussi en rouge sous leurs armures. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont abandonnés par des notables qui connaissent leur innocence : Le Duc de Sandringham pour Jamie, Ponce Pilate pour Jésus. 

*Jamie et Jésus abandonnent la dignité et la vie pour sauver ceux qu'ils aiment. C'est pour sauver Claire des griffes du Capitaine Randall que Jamie accepte à la fois d'être violé et d'être ensuite tué. C'est pour sauver l'humanité que Jésus a accepté d'être humilié et mis a mort.  

*Jamie et Jésus acceptent d'être cloués sur du bois, sous le regard de leurs proches impuissants qu'ils essaient de calmer et rassurer. Jamie prend Claire auprès d'elle et lui parle pour la calmer, alors que Randall s'apprête à lui clouer la main à une table. Jésus parlait aux femmes de Jérusalem en leur disant de ne pas pleurer pour lui avant d'être crucifié et s'inquiète pour sa mère une fois crucifié. 

*Jamie et Jésus s'abandonnent complètement à leur pire ennemi qui prend entièrement possession d'eux, de leur corps, de leur vie. Randall et son côté démoniaque pour Jamie. Satan pour Jésus. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont marqués au côté de leur corps par les hommes en rouge. Jamie est torturé mentalement et physiquement jusqu'à se marquer lui-même au fer rouge sur les côtes. Jésus a le côté percé par une lance d'un soldat romain. 

*Jamie et Jésus meurent spirituellement. Jamie est perdu dans la noirceur après sa sortie de prison et veut mourir physiquement parce qu'il a le sentiment de perdre son âme. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont approuvés par leur père en entrant dans la « phase finale » : Le "You’re a braw lad, son" de Brian Fraser quand Jamie est emmené par les soldats rappelle le "Celui-ci est mon fils bien aimé en qui j’ai trouvé mon plaisir" par la voix divine après le baptême de Jésus qui inaugure son ministère.  

*Jamie et Jésus sont trahis par des gens qui partagent leur intimité : Horrocks est accueilli chez Jamie et Judas a vécu 3 ans avec Jésus. 

*Jamie et Jésus sont accusés à tort et font face à des mensonges et faux témoignages. 

Plus j'y songe et regarde la saison 1 d'Outlander, plus les analogies entre le personnage de Jamie Fraser, qui déploie un amour et un dévouement stupéfiants pour Claire et le personnage Jésus Christ, tel que son histoire est écrite dans les Evangiles, me paraissent troublantes.  

  

Encore une fois, je ne fais pas de prosélytisme. Même si on ne croit pas en l'existence de Jésus ou en son message, le fait est que le récit de sa vie a été écrit dans des textes, peut-être de fiction, selon la foi de chacun et que ces textes permettent des comparaisons troublantes avec Jamie :  

Ainsi, Stephen King, l'auteur du livre qui a donné le magnifique film "La ligne verte", explique que lorsqu'il décrivait quelque chose qui ressemblait à Jésus dans les caractéristiques du prisonnier noir très grand et très fort, innocent, doux, faisant du bien autour de lui et condamné à tort, il a renommé le personnage en John Coffey pour qu'il ait les initiales "J.C." 

Voici le contexte de ma réflexion: Dans son livre sur les influences bibliques de l'Occident, le philosophe indien Vishal Mangalwadi explique que l'une des évolutions intellectuelles de l'Occident concerne la notion d'héroïsme.  

Dans la mythologie et l'histoire antique, le héros est le sur-homme d'une puissance incroyable qui conquiert et abat tous ses ennemis dans des combats d'anthologie. Achille, Hercule, Ulysses, Jason mais aussi Léonidas de Sparte, Alexandre le Grand et Jules César sont de grands guerriers qui emportent tout sur leur passage mais sont parfois vaincus par une infime faiblesse, comme dans le cas d'Achille. On est donc dans l'éloge du héros surpuissant et conquérant et dans la condamnation de la faiblesse. Vishal Mangalwadi montre qu'aujourd'hui pourtant, les héros ne sont plus les grands généraux ou les politiciens de génie mais sont ceux qui, au service des autres et pour sauver les autres, ont été vaincus et sont tombés.  

Le héros par excellence de l'Armée de l'air française est le Capitaine Georges Guynemer, jeune homme chétif refusé dans l'infanterie qui devient pilote d'avion et meurt en ayant tout donné en Septembre 1917. La majorité des récipiendaires de la Victoria Cross, la plus haute distinction britannique, l'ont reçu à titre posthume après avoir donné leur vie pour protéger ou sauver leurs camarades. La majorité des récipiendaires de la Medal of Honor américaine la reçoivent parce qu'ils abandonnent leurs chances de survie pour sauver leurs camarades comme ce Marine qui s'est mis entre une grenade et son camarade et a été mutilé à vie. Vishal Mangalwadi explique que la notion d'héroïsme a été profondément modifiée en Occident par la Bible et principalement l'exemple de Jésus Christ.  

En effet, dans la doctrine chrétienne, Jésus est la forme humaine de Dieu, donc tout puissant, qui, par amour de l'humanité et pour la sauver, abandonne sa puissance et meurt dans l'humiliation, le dénuement, l'injustice et la faiblesse. Sa mort par crucifixion, châtiment réservé aux esclaves, aux rebelles et aux malfaiteurs, est particulièrement infamante et est l'antithèse de ce qu'il est, selon les textes évangéliques. Donner sa vie dans l'humiliation et la faiblesse pour sauver ceux qu'on aime devient, dans l'Occident christianisé, l'archétype du héros. Plusieurs auteurs ont admis que ce modèle christique du héros sacrificiel avait influencé leur oeuvre sans même qu'ils ne s'en rendent compte au préalable.  

Le sujet que je propose ci-dessous aborde un caractère religieux. Je ne fais en aucune manière du prosélytisme ou ne souhaite convaincre qui que ce soit d'idées religieuses. Je souhaite juste partager une réflexion sur les influences culturelles d'Outlander et j'ai d'ailleurs écrit à Diana Gabaldon par son site internet pour voir si les similitudes que je relève sont des coïncidences ou si elles sont volontaires. 

Par Tim Larribau

Jamie inspiré 

par Jésus  ?

Quelles que soient nos croyances, on ne peut pas nier que ces similitudes sont troublantes, d’ailleurs, le Capitaine Randall lui-même fait une allusion au fait que Jamie s'offre comme le Christ en croix.  

Quoi qu’il en soit, si Vishal Mangalwadi a raison sur la notion "christique" de l'héroïsme dans la mentalité occidentale, cela pourrait expliquer pourquoi le personnage de Jamie Fraser est si fascinant, nous touche si profondément et pourquoi son amour sans limites pour Claire fait résonner des choses inconscientes dans nos esprits d'occidentaux.  

  

En fait, l'amour de Jamie pour Claire, dans cette oeuvre de fiction, parait être une allégorie parfaite d'un verset biblique ou l'Apôtre Paul dit : "Maris aimez vos femmes comme le Christ a aimé l'assemblée et s'est livré lui-même pour elle."  

Est-ce pour cela que Jamie est appelé le Roi des Hommes, par Claire et par ses "fans"?  

Ce serait encore une coïncidence, Jésus ayant été appelé "Roi des Juifs" par Pilate et étant appelé "Roi des rois" dans la Bible.  

Haut de page 

Haut de page

Autres textes qui pourraient vous plaire