MENU 

MENU 

What is preponderant in the history of Bree and Roger is their solitary journey. Because unlike Claire who upon her arrival meets Jamie and hardly leaves him for the next three years, Bree and Roger will walk their way of the cross each on their own.

 

Before I attach myself to each other's journey, I must report their quarrel in Wilmington, when they had miraculously found each other, loved and married. Dispute from which their torment will result.

There is no question of judgment here. Yes, Bree steered without thinking, yes, she acted impulsively, and most certainly unfairly. Yes also, Roger did not defend himself well, let go too quickly, embarked on a ship without warning her, without giving her the opportunity to reconsider his remarks. Yes. They were both wrong and it will add weight to what they will not go through next, even if neither of them will really have time to dwell on it, taking the full brunt of the consequences of their actions. .

This quarrel is the disastrous joint that will cause each other's tragedies. Double penalty.

 

 

Brianna 

Roger is one of the youngest history teachers at the prestigious Oxford University. A serious and learned man if ever there was one, he was attached to somewhat outdated traditions and values. How could it be otherwise, since he was brought up by a reverend of a certain age and a clairvoyant, head of the Druidesses of Inverness? However, it is full of vivacity and romanticism. His love for Bree transports him from the first moments, there is no doubt.

 

Brianna, meanwhile, a spirited young college student from Boston, is still in search of herself. She wanted to be a historian in order to follow in the footsteps of the one she believed to be her father, but finally decides to stop everything when she realizes that she has been lied to. She takes full force of an inconceivable truth, and hardly has she integrated it that her mother abandons her in turn. Admittedly, she falls in love with the handsome history teacher, but her heart is not entirely available. She has so many other worries! And then, how to believe in love, in the future, in projects, when you realize that everything is a lie around you and that everything can collapse overnight?

 

He's sure of himself… she needs time. Nothing is simple, but everything is still possible. 

 

  

Through time  

Bree and Roger
A couple in turmoil  

Finally, Roger returns to his wife and decides that this son who has been born in the meantime is his. Both forgave, which was fundamental to being able to move forward. They were officially married at Fraser's Ridge and a few months later Bonnet was finally tried and executed. Jamie and Claire who now live in the "big house" have given them the first chalet where they are raising their child and Jamie names Roger, son of the Fraser house. The future is theirs.

 

From there, and whatever the events to come, the couple Roger and Bree form are solid. Despite Brianna's lingering trauma, despite doubts about Jemmie's parentage, despite Roger's terrible hanging which he miraculously survives, their marriage is never endangered. From then on, after months of solitary wandering, they made their way together.

Sadly, Bree discovers a newspaper clipping announcing the death of her parents in a fire that will destroy their home in Fraser's Ridge. It is too much for her. She can't lose them twice! She has to warn them, nothing else matters. Maybe even on the contrary, everything makes sense. She no longer had a father, her mother had left? By crossing time, she will find a family, she will no longer be an orphan. Of course, she left Roger, but in the end, nothing had been built between them yet. He will get over it! 

  

 

But no, he's not getting over it, because there is no doubt about it Brianna is the center of his life. So he leaves in his turn, he, the historian whose childhood was rocked by the story of his Scottish ancestors as much as by the legends of Mrs. Graham. He crosses the standing stones of Craigh na Dun without looking back. He doesn't do it for the sake of adventure! He doesn't even do it to meet his ancestors, no, he does it out of love, a love at least as powerful as Claire's for Jamie, no one can doubt that anymore.  

 

 

Solitaires  

By Valérie Gay-Corajoud

Bree first of all who, still reeling from her altercation with Roger, meets Bonnet who brutalizes her and then rapes her. How can a young woman recover from a night in which she loses her virginity to the man she just married before arguing with him, then is raped by a thick bully? How will she manage to reconcile all this without going astray?

Fortunately, the next day she found her parents. She can afford to be a little girl again. We will take care of her. She will be able to rebuild herself in this benevolent cocoon, especially as she understands it quite quickly: she is now expecting a child, of whom she does not know if the father is the man loved or hated.  

 

A few weeks later, she learns, at the same time, that Roger did not abandon her, but that his father molested him and that his cousin sold him to the Indians. Again, she loses everything.

As her family sets out to find Roger, she is sent to her aunt Jocasta to give birth safely. There, she discovers the constraints of the century made to her sex. You don't give birth to a child without being married! It is under pressure from all sides, considered as a good to be coveted, to bargain, to use. Let's not forget that she is a very young girl whose traumas are chained like pearls on a necklace. She doesn't know if her husband is alive. She doesn't know if she will be able to forgive her father. She does not know if she will be able to stay here or go back into her century. Nothing of his fate is in his hands.

 

There is only Lord John Gray, guardian angel sent by Jamie, to watch over her with attention.

 

 

Roger  

For Roger, the Stations of the Cross have only just begun! ( See article about it ). 

He did not return to Craigh na Dun as Brianna assumed, but went to get some gems in order to cross the standing stones with her. He was not going to give up so quickly! For that, he has no other choice but to embark again with Bonnet. Bonnet the rapist, certainly, but Bonnet the pirate also, the cruel and intractable captain who will make him live an ordeal during this trip which seems interminable.  

Eventually, Roger manages to escape the boat and joins Fraser's Ridge where he hopes to finally find the woman of his life. But, following a misunderstanding, he is beaten almost to death by Jamie and sold to the Mohawk Indians by Ian. This will follow a 1000 km hell walk through the forest, with this perpetual doubt in him: is it Brianna who asked her father to beat him and sell him?

 

What is striking, during this interminable journey, is that Roger never gives up the hope of finding Brianna. He ties knots in his rope to anchor himself in the reality of passing time, determined to retrace his steps at all costs. Nothing, no, nothing will prevent him from joining his beloved! Neither a bloodthirsty pirate nor his damn Indians who treat him like a dog. Not even Jamie, not even Brianna herself. Oh sure he's bitter, we would be less! He confides in Father Alexandre Ferigault during his confinement, to whom he spits his resentment and venom. But this resentment does not last long, because the humanity in him predominates.

When the Frasers find him and tell him about Bree's rape and pregnancy, it's like a coup de grace. How much suffering can a man endure? Unlike Bree, who has no other option but to wait and hope, Roger is faced with a choice. He has gems, he spotted standing stones. He can go back and put an end to this ordeal. But he can also find his wife, raise this child who may be his. He can forgive and love… or flee and forget.

  

 

Reunion 

Unlike Jamie and Claire who have loved each other in a single century (what a strange phrase when you think about it), Bree and Roger have had no choice but to build their relationship through the twists and turns of time.  

Their romance began in the 20th century. Roger had just lost his adopted father, the Reverend Reginald Wakefield and Bree learned soon after that she was not the daughter of Frank Randall, but that of a fiery Highlander, who had died 200 years earlier on Culloden Moor - a man that her mother eventually joins through time, leaving her doubly orphaned.  

 

At the beginning : 

Valérie Gay-Corajoud

MENU 

MENU 

Ce qui est prépondérant dans l’histoire de Bree et Roger, c’est leurs parcours solitaire. Car à l’inverse de Claire qui dès son arrivée rencontre Jamie et ne le quitte quasiment plus durant les trois années suivantes, Bree et Roger vont arpenter leur chemin de croix chacun de leur côté.

 

Avant de m’attacher au trajet de l’un et de l’autre, je dois faire état de leur querelle à Wilmington, alors qu’ils s’étaient miraculeusement retrouvés, aimés et mariés. Dispute dont découlera leur supplice.

Il n’est pas question ici de jugement. Oui, Bree s’est braquée sans réfléchir, oui, elle a agi impulsivement, et très certainement injustement. Oui également, Roger ne s’est pas bien défendu, a lâché prise trop vite, s’est embarqué sur un navire sans la prévenir, sans lui laisser l’occasion de revenir sur ses propos. Oui. Ils ont eu tort tous les deux et cela rajoutera du poids à ce qu’ils traverseront pas la suite, même si aucun des deux n’aura vraiment le temps de s’appesantir dessus, se prenant de plein fouet les conséquences de leurs actes.

Cette querelle, c’est l’articulation désastreuse qui causera les drames de chacun. Double peine.

 

 

Brianna 

Roger est l’un des plus jeunes professeurs d’histoire de la prestigieuse université d’oxford. Homme sérieux et érudit s’il en est, il est attaché aux traditions et aux valeurs un peu désuètes. Comment pourrait-il en être autrement, puisqu’il a été élevé par un révérend d'un certain âge et une voyante, cheffe des druidesses d’Inverness ? Il est cependant plein de vivacité et de romantisme. Son amour pour Bree le transporte dès les premiers instants, cela ne fait aucun doute.

 

Brianna, quant à elle, jeune étudiante passionnée de Boston, est encore à la recherche d’elle-même. Elle voulait être historienne afin de suivre les traces de celui qu’elle croyait être son père, mais finalement décide de tout arrêter lorsqu’elle comprend qu’on lui a menti. Elle prend de plein fouet une vérité inconcevable, et à peine l’a-t-elle intégrée que sa mère la délaisse à son tour. Certes, elle s’éprend du beau professeur d’histoire, mais son cœur n’est pas entièrement disponible. Elle a tellement d’autres soucis ! Et puis, comment croire à l’amour, à l’avenir, aux projets, lorsqu’on réalise que tout est mensonge autour de soi et que tout peut s’écrouler du jour au lendemain ?

 

Il est sûr de lui… elle a besoin de temps. Rien n’est simple, mais  tout est encore possible. 

 

  

À travers le temps 

Bree et Roger

Un couple dans la tourmente  

Finalement, Roger revient auprès de sa femme et décide que ce fils qui est né entre-temps est le sien. L’un et l’autre ont pardonné, ce qui était fondamental pour pouvoir avancer. Ils sont officiellement mariés à Fraser’s Ridge et quelque mois après, Bonnet est enfin jugé et exécuté. Jamie et Claire qui vivent désormais dans la « grande maison » leur ont cédé le premier chalet où ils élèvent leur enfant et Jamie nomme Roger, fils de la maison Fraser. L’avenir leur appartient.

 

À partir de là, et quels que soient les évènements à venir, le couple que forme Roger et Bree est solide. Malgré le traumatisme persistant de Brianna, malgré le doute quant à la parenté de Jemmie, malgré la terrible pendaison de Roger à laquelle il survit miraculeusement, jamais leur mariage n’est mis en danger. Dès lors, après des mois d’errance solitaire, ils font route commune.

Hélas, Bree découvre une coupure de presse annonçant la mort de ses parents lors d’un incendie qui détruira leur maison de Fraser’s Ridge. S’en est trop pour elle. Elle ne peut pas les perdre deux fois ! Elle doit les prévenir, rien d’autre ne compte. Peut-être même qu’à l’inverse, tout prend son sens. Elle n’avait plus de père, sa mère était partie ? En traversant le temps, elle retrouvera une famille, elle ne sera plus orpheline. Certes, elle délaisse Roger, mais finalement, rien n’était encore construit entre eux. Il s’en remettra !  

  

 

Mais non, il ne s’en remet pas, car cela ne fait aucun doute pour lui, Brianna est le centre de sa vie. Alors il part à son tour, lui, l’historien dont l’enfance a été bercée par le récit de ses ancêtres écossais tout autant que par les légendes de Mrs Graham. Il traverse les menhirs de Craigh na Dun sans un regard en arrière. Il ne le fait pas par goût de l’aventure ! Il ne le fait même pas pour rencontrer ses aïeuls, non, il le fait par amour, un amour au moins aussi puissant que celui de Claire pour Jamie, personne ne peut plus en douter désormais.   

 

 

Solitaires  

Par Valérie Gay-Corajoud

Bree tout d’abord qui, encore sous le choc de son altercation avec Roger, rencontre Bonnet qui la brutalise puis la viole. Comment une jeune femme peut-elle se remettre d’une nuit durant laquelle elle perd sa virginité avec l’homme qu’elle vient d’épouser avant de se disputer avec lui, puis subit un viol par une brute épaisse ? Comment va-t-elle parvenir à concilier tout cela sans s’égarer ?

Heureusement, dès le lendemain elle retrouve ses parents. Elle peut se permettre de redevenir petite fille. On va prendre soin d’elle. Elle va pouvoir se reconstruire dans ce cocon bienveillant, d’autant qu’elle le comprend assez vite : elle attend désormais un enfant, dont elle ne sait si le géniteur est l’homme aimé ou détesté.  

 

Quelques semaines après, elle apprend, dans le même temps, que Roger ne l’a pas abandonnée, mais que son père l’a molesté et que son cousin l’a vendu aux Indiens. À nouveau, elle perd tout.

Alors que sa famille part à la recherche de Roger, elle est envoyée chez sa tante Jocasta pour accoucher en toute sécurité. Là-bas, elle découvre les contraintes du siècle faites à son sexe. On ne met pas un enfant au monde sans être mariée ! Elle subit des pressions de toutes parts, considérée comme un bien à convoiter, à marchander, à utiliser. N’oublions pas que c’est une toute jeune fille dont les traumatismes se sont enchaînés comme des perles sur un collier. Elle ne sait pas si son mari est en vie. Elle ne sait pas si elle pourra pardonner à son père. Elle ne sait pas si elle pourra rester ici ou repartir dans son siècle. Plus rien de son destin n’est entre ses mains.

 

Il n’y a bien que Lord John Grey, ange gardien envoyé par Jamie, pour veiller sur elle avec attention.

 

 

Roger  

Pour Roger, le chemin de croix ne fait que commencer ! (Voir article à son sujet).

Il n’est pas retourné à Craigh na Dun comme le supposait Brianna, mais s’en est allé quérir des gemmes afin de traverser les menhirs avec elle. Il n’allait tout de même pas abandonner aussi vite ! Pour cela, il n’a d’autre choix que de s’embarquer à nouveau avec Bonnet. Bonnet le violeur, certes, mais Bonnet le pirate également, le capitaine cruel et intraitable qui lui fera vivre un calvaire lors de ce voyage qui semble interminable.  

Finalement, Roger parvient à s’échapper du bateau et rejoint Fraser’s Ridge où il espère enfin retrouver la femme de sa vie. Mais, à la suite d’un malentendu, il est battu presque à mort par Jamie et vendu aux Indiens Mohawks par Ian. S’en suivra une marche de l’enfer de 1000 kilomètres à travers la forêt, avec ce doute perpétuel en lui : est-ce Brianna qui a demandé à son père de le battre et de le vendre ?

 

Ce qui est marquant, lors de cet interminable périple, c’est que jamais Roger n’abandonne l’espoir de retrouver Brianna. Il fait des nœuds à sa corde pour s’ancrer dans la réalité du temps qui passe, décidé à revenir sur ses pas coûte que coûte. Rien, non, rien ne l’empêchera de rejoindre son aimée ! Ni un pirate sanguinaire ni ses foutus Indiens qui le traitent comme un chien. Pas même Jamie, pas même Brianna elle-même. Oh bien sûr, il est aigri, on le serait à moins ! Il se confie au père Alexandre Ferigault lors de son enfermement, à qui il crache sa hargne et son venin. Mais cette hargne ne fait pas long feu, car l’humanité en lui prédomine.

Lorsque les Fraser le retrouvent et lui annoncent le viol et la grossesse de Bree, c’est comme un coup de grâce. Combien de souffrance un homme peut-il endurer ? Contrairement à Bree qui n’a plus d’autre option que d’attendre et d’espérer, Roger se trouve face à un choix. Il a des gemmes, il a repéré des pierres dressées. Il peut repartir et mettre fin à ce calvaire. Mais il peut aussi retrouver sa femme, élever cet enfant qui est peut-être le sien. Il peut pardonner et aimer… ou fuir et oublier.

  

 

Les retrouvailles 

À l'inverse de Jamie et Claire qui se sont aimés dans un seul siècle (quelle étrange phrase quand on y pense), Bree et Roger n’ont eu d’autre choix que de construire leur relation à travers les méandres du temps.  

Leur idylle a commencé au 20e siècle. Roger venait de perdre son père adoptif, le révérend Réginald Wakefield et Bree apprenait peu de temps après qu'elle n'était pas la fille de Frank Randall, mais celle d'un Highlander fougueux, mort 200 ans auparavant sur la lande de Culloden - un homme que sa mère finit par rejoindre à travers le temps, la laissant doublement orpheline.  

 

Au tout début :  

Valérie Gay-Corajoud 

Haut de page 

Haut de page

Autres textes qui pourraient vous plaire