MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

His parents having died during the war - his father aboard his plane, his mother under the bombardments - Roger is taken in by his great-uncle, the Reverend Réginald Wakefield, who raises him in the Protestant faith with all the love and benevolence possible, helped in this by Mrs Graham, her housekeeper, also head of the druidesses of Craigh na Dun and clairvoyant in her spare time.

A strange universe in which the young Roger will draw a taste for knowledge, a particularly high moral sense, and a tendency to attachment to somewhat outdated values.

If there is one character in the saga who deserves to be looked at, it is Roger Mackenzie!

From the shy child, raised by the Reverend Wakefield to the death of his parents, to the captain under the orders of Jamie Fraser at the approach of the American revolution of the 18th century, there is much to say about the evolution of the character .

 

When we meet Roger for the first time, he is this adorable and a little effaced little boy, playing with his plane and assisting, without understanding, the drama that is played out before him during the reappearance of Claire after 3 years of absence unexplained.

Roger

We find him an adult in 1968, a graduate of Oxford University and one of the youngest professors in the history department. The reverend has just died and he is again an orphan. We are presented to him as a sensitive, generous and particularly learned man.

We first approach it through his attachment to Claire and Brianna without yet knowing that it is an integral part of a story that he first seeks to understand and then to complete.

 

In love with Brianna, he will accompany her in her quest for a truth to say the least painful about the disappearance of Claire and the reasons for the arguments with Frank that ensued.

Historian, he knows where and how to look. He also knows that the weight of the past can be difficult to live with when one is personally involved. He warns Brianna of the risk of learning more about her story, but never abandons her, even when reality makes the situation tense, even dramatic. He is not a man to run away.

He is also a fine psychologist, allowing Brianna and her mother to keep a link so that the past and future history can be woven. He's the one who encourages Bree to have more patience to hear what her mother has to say. He's the one who gives Claire the courage to speak. He is the warm and courageous matchmaker they so badly needed.

And then, soon enough, he discovers that he is involved in this temporal imbroglio. He is a descendant of the MacKenzie through the secret sleeping arrangements of Warchief Dougal MacKenzie and the troubling time traveler and intriguing Jacobite, Geillis Duncan. It is breathtaking as a heritage, especially for a historian!

In a way, this sudden truth about his lineage seems easier to accept for Roger than Brianna's about a Highlander father who died on the Culloden moor two centuries ago.

Is it because Roger is an orphan and the idea of ​​learning about his past predominates over stupor? Is it because Mrs. Graham's education has left part of her acceptance of the mysterious and the inexplicable? Or maybe he sees it as a way to stay with Brianna and have a role to play in her life.

We do not have time to dwell on the reasons which push Roger to get involved with as much passion and constancy because the actions and the dramas are linked.

 

So of course, we just spent time with the Scottish clans at a time when the qualities of a man had to be courage, strength and fighting spirit.

At the same time, Roger may appear weak, even a little annoying, closer to a Frank Randall than to a Jamie Fraser. But in the present context, Roger's qualities are priceless and Claire entrusts it to Jamie (during the episode 'Perpetual adoration'), without Roger, nothing would have been possible to find him over time.

Because indeed, everything is accelerating. Roger therefore finds Jamie's trace, and Claire goes to meet him, leaving her life, her job, and her daughter, now an orphan. Shortly after he asked Brianna for marriage, but she refused.

He is therefore alone, idle, and depositary of a secret knowledge which is knitted in all the meshes of time and in which he feels powerless.

But finally Bree crosses the stones and it is too much for Roger who decides to follow her.

So we will say what we want, but for a little history professor, warm in one of the most prestigious British universities, you have a man, right?

And this is where his ordeal begins.

Because yes ... Roger's journey is certainly the most painful there is!

Despite the violence suffered by all the other protagonists, none found as many pitfalls in their path as Roger MacKenzie, as if he had to prove, again and again, that he was worthy of being accepted by the Fraser family… as if he had to pay a high price for the past actions of Dougal and Geillis.

 

Anyway, it all starts with the crossing on Bonnet's boat during which Roger meets his grandmother, Morag MacKenzie and where he will realize that life hangs by a thread, his own and that of others.

Then he finds Bree, but she pushes him away. Why ? A trifle if you want my opinion! This man who has just crossed 2 centuries and a ocean for her, is going up the suspenders because he kept secret (a few days) the announcement of the death of his parents 200 years earlier ?! This man who had to run after him because she herself didn't tell him anything about the same subject and his plans ?! This man without whom nothing would have been possible? The sentence is cruel to say the least!

And yet he doesn't turn his back on her. No. Always constant, he returns under the thumb of a terrifying Steven Bonnet to find gems for their return, both of them.

Roger is no longer the little professor of 20th century history. He is already an 18th century adventurer and his love for Bree is well worth that of Jamie for Claire. He has proven it twice.

Yet history will not give him any gifts because, paying the price for the misunderstanding of some and the secrecy of others, he is beaten almost to death by a furious Jamie, sold like cattle to a tribe of poorly employed Indians , lugged on not far from 1000 kilometers through a bushy forest, struck; humiliated, locked up, forgotten. Many would have thrown in the towel, at a minimum.

Besides, his meeting with Father Alexandre Ferigault shows him bitter and disillusioned. He still doesn't know why Jamie slaughtered him like this. Is it because Bree asked him to? He does not know why it was sold. He does not know why he is so mistreated. He only knows one thing. He suffers. Any flame in him seems to have gone out. From now on, what he wants is to survive and regain the comfort of the 20th century. It's possible ! He noticed the circle of stones, he has a gem. Nothing can stop him from the moment he manages to escape from his prison.

Yes but here it is. He can save the priest from a slow and painful death. He can shorten this agony. He can choose humanity, compassion. He can still save two souls ... that of the priest and his own. All he has to do is reverse.

And it’s here, precisely at this moment, that Roger’s true personality is essential. It is no longer a specific century. He is no longer on a personal quest. It is no longer on a linear and historic journey. No, he is the man who brings his beliefs and actions into conformity.

This choice of a life against his is like crossing other stones. Not the stones of time! But that of faith.

It’s for this man that Jamie and Claire are risking their lives. And it’s for this man that young Ian swaps his place. It is this man finally, who abandons the stones and finds Bree another 1000 kilometers away ... and the child who will be his, he decided so.

 

Roger is transformed. Neither more learned, nor more radiant, nor even, more in love! But Roger, whole, defined, as if he had just ended a ritual of tribal passage leading the adolescent to adulthood.

His scars running over his face, his eyes filled with new landscapes, his seasoned soul, he is ready for life in the 18th century with the woman he loves ...

Wouldn't he have deserved this ordeal to come to an end?

But Diana Gabaldon decided otherwise. Maybe in his eyes, Roger still had to prove himself. Perhaps having set the bar so high for Jamie, it seemed important to him to show the full worth of his future son-in-law. Who knows.

 

Because Roger MacKenzie, says the thrush, remains so little adapted to the time and the region in which he lives from now on. Neither hunter, nor warrior, nor even farmer ... his only real talent is his voice with which he imports the songs of a distant century. He sings Roger, for his wife on his wedding night, for his son with amazed eyes, for the recalcitrant Browns. He sings for weddings and funerals. Like no one, he sings. That might be enough! But of course, for Jamie, this stepfather who is not easy to please, it will never count, especially since the latter does not hear anything about music and that Roger must already be forgiven for to be Presbyterian.

He becomes captain however, not thanks to his talent, but so that Jamie can protect him, he is not so foolish as not to understand him. He also became a recruiter for the colonial militia, but his first decision was challenged. He becomes Jemmie’s father, but Jocasta suggests he’s only to touch the legacy. There would be enough to abandon everything, right?

Yet it holds, again and again, it holds.

And it was during a dangerous mission for which he volunteered that he was struck by his ancestor, Moragh's husband, then delivered as a traitor to the British army, and finally hanged as such.

Will the horror never end?

Fate plays Roger with as much cruelty and injustice as the Gods of ancient Greece did with the terrorized populations.

And that's where Roger’s trauma arises as he comes back to life at Fraser’s Ridge.

It’s the rope around his neck of course, as well as the bag over his head as well as the hand slipped into the rope at the last moment! Above all, it is the loneliness of unjust suffering.

It’s like the end of a Stations of the Cross which overwhelms him more than reason and makes his voice sink into his depths.

 

Like Jamie after Wentworth, Roger must now return from hell by the mere force of his will. He must find the light that could give meaning to all his suffering, because even if the body would be safe, the soul, it is always on the brink.

 

This meaning could be the incredible experience of the elasticity of time and what it represents for a historian! It could be his attachment to the Christian values ​​that preach the importance of life. It could be so many things! But in the end, nothing is more important than this love he has for his wife. His wife for whom he risked everything and for whom, he returns, once again, to the world of the living.

Roger MacKenzie, who eventually became the equivalent of a Highlander, exiled through space and time, named Son of the Fraser family.

Roger Wakefield also, a Christian who accomplished his Way of the Cross through the steep mountains of North America until his crucifixion - here replaced by a hanging -

Roger Mac finally, having crossed the stones into hell, resurrected and returned to his family. Besides, the stones are not mistaken, since they do not let it start again.

Roger. Simply.

 

And this man that he has become, having found his place in this new world, will therefore be able to play his role and be part of history on the move.
He saves Jamie from an excruciating death when he is bitten by a snake, caring for him, watching over him, carrying him and having the idea of ​​bringing back the head of the rattlesnake with which Brianna will be able to make a makeshift syringe.
He allows this atrociously burnt Dutch girl to die without further pain by accompanying her to a rapid end in a gesture full of love and compassion.
He stands by Jamie during the ambush against Stephen Bonnet, then catches him on the beach and knocks him out, finally, to hand him over to the authorities.
And finally, he kills, for Claire ... ignoring his religious beliefs, his revulsion against revenge ... because he promised Jamie to be by his side.
Ultimately. Roger, Captain MacKenzie, is an accomplished man.

For people who have not read the books beyond volume 5, I stop here ... But know already that Roger's evolution is far from ending there!

Valérie Gay-Corajoud

MENU 

MENU 

MENU 

Ses parents ayant péri durant la guerre - son père à bord de son avion, sa mère sous les bombardements - Roger est recueilli par son grand-oncle, le révérend Réginald Wakefield, qui l’élève dans la foi protestante avec tout l’amour et la bienveillance possible, aidé en cela par Mrs Graham, sa gouvernante, également cheffe des druidesses de Craigh na Dun et voyante à ses heures perdues.

Un étrange univers dans lequel le jeune Roger puisera le goût du savoir, un sens moral particulièrement élevé, et une tendance à l’attachement aux valeurs un peu désuètes.

S’il est un personnage de la saga qui mérite qu’on s’attarde sur lui, c’est bien Roger Mackenzie !

De l’enfant timide, élevé par le révérend Wakefield à la mort de ses parents, au capitaine sous les ordres de Jamie Fraser à l’approche de la révolution américaine du XVIIIe siècle, il y a beaucoup à dire sur l’évolution du personnage.

 

Lorsque nous croisons Roger pour la première fois, il est ce petit garçon adorable et un peu effacé, jouant avec son avion et assistant, sans bien comprendre, au drame qui se joue devant lui lors de la réapparition de Claire après 3 ans d’absence inexpliquée.  

Roger

Nous le retrouvons adulte en 1968, diplômé de l’université d’Oxford et l’un des plus jeunes professeurs du département histoire. Le révérend vient de mourir et le voilà à nouveau orphelin. On nous le présente comme un homme sensible, généreux et particulièrement érudit.

Nous l’abordons en premier lieu par le biais de son attachement à Claire et à Brianna sans savoir encore qu’il fait partie intégrante d’une histoire qu’il cherche tout d’abord à comprendre puis à compléter.

 

Epris de Brianna, il va l’accompagner dans sa quête d’une vérité pour le moins douloureuse sur la disparition de Claire et sur les raisons des disputes avec Frank qui en ont découlé.

Historien, il sait où et comment chercher. Il sait également que le poids du passé peut être difficile à vivre lorsqu’on est personnellement impliqué. Il prévient Brianna des risques d’en apprendre plus sur son histoire, mais jamais ne l’abandonne, même lorsque la réalité rend la situation tendue, voire dramatique. Il n’est pas homme à se défiler.

Il est également fin psychologue, permettant à Brianna et à sa mère de garder un lien pour que se tisse l’histoire passée et à venir. C’est lui qui encourage Bree à plus de patience afin d’entendre ce que sa mère a à dire. C’est lui qui donne le courage à Claire de parler. Il est l’entremetteur chaleureux et courageux dont elles avaient cruellement besoin.

Et puis, assez vite, il découvre qu’il est impliqué dans cet imbroglio temporel. Il est le descendant des MacKenzie par le biais des coucheries secrètes du chef de guerre Dougal MacKenzie et de la troublante Geillis Duncan, voyageuse du temps et intrigante jacobite. Ça décoiffe comme héritage, surtout pour un historien !

D’une certaine manière, cette vérité soudaine sur sa lignée semble plus simple à accepter par Roger que ne l’est celle de Brianna à propos d’un père Highlander mort sur la lande de Culloden 2 siècles auparavant.

Est-ce parce que Roger est orphelin et que l’idée d’en apprendre sur son passé prédomine sur la stupeur ? Est-ce parce que l’éducation de Mrs Graham a laissé en lui une part d’acceptation du mystérieux et de l’inexplicable ? Ou peut-être qu’il voit là le moyen de rester aux côtés de Brianna et d’avoir un rôle à jouer dans sa vie.

Nous n’avons pas le temps de nous attarder sur les raisons qui poussent Roger à s’impliquer avec autant de passion et de constance car les actions et les coups de théâtre s’enchaînent.

 

Alors bien sûr, nous venons de passer du temps avec les clans écossais à une époque où les qualités d’un homme se devaient d’être le courage, la force et la combativité.

En parallèle, Roger peut apparaitre comme faible, voire un tantinet agaçant, plus proche d’un Frank Randall que d’un Jamie Fraser. Mais dans le contexte présent, les qualités de Roger sont inestimables et Claire le confie à Jamie (lors de l’épisode "Adoration perpétuelle"), sans Roger, rien n’aurait été possible pour le retrouver à travers le temps.

Car en effet, tout s’accélère. Roger retrouve donc la trace de Jamie, et Claire s’en va à sa rencontre, laissant là sa vie, son métier, et sa fille, désormais orpheline. Peu de temps après il demande Brianna en mariage, mais elle refuse.

Il est donc seul, désœuvré, et dépositaire d’un savoir secret qui se tricote dans toutes les mailles du temps et dans lequel il se sent impuissant.

Mais finalement Bree traverse les pierres et s’en est trop pour Roger qui prend la décision de la suivre.

Alors on dira ce qu’on voudra, mais pour un petit professeur d’histoire, bien au chaud dans l’une des plus prestigieuses universités britanniques, ça vous pose un homme, non ?  

Et c’est là que son calvaire commence.

Car oui… le cheminement de Roger est très certainement le plus douloureux qui soit !

Malgré les violences subies par tous les autres protagonistes, aucun n’a trouvé autant d’écueils sur son chemin que Roger MacKenzie, comme s’il fallait qu’il prouve, encore et encore, qu’il était digne d’être accepté par la famille Fraser… comme s’il fallait qu’il paye le prix fort pour les agissements passés de Dougal et Geillis.

 

Quoi qu’il en soit, tout commence par la traversée sur le bateau de Bonnet durant laquelle Roger rencontre son aïeule, Morag MacKenzie et où il va réaliser que la vie ne tient qu’à un fil, la sienne et celle des autres.

Puis il retrouve Bree, mais elle le repousse. Pourquoi ? Une bagatelle si l'on veut mon avis ! Cet homme qui vient de traverser 2 siècles et un océan pour elle, se fait remonter les bretelles parce qu’il a gardé secrète (quelques jours) l’annonce de la mort de ses parents 200 ans plus tôt ?! Cet homme qui a dû lui courir après parce qu’elle-même ne lui a rien dit sur le même sujet et sur ses projets ?! Cet homme sans qui rien n’aurait été possible ? La sentence est pour le moins cruelle !

Et pourtant il ne lui tourne pas le dos. Non. Toujours constant, il retourne sous la coupe d’un Stephen Bonnet terrifiant afin de retrouver des gemmes pour leur retour, à tous les deux.

Roger n’est plus le petit professeur d’histoire du XXe siècle. Il est déjà cet aventurier du XVIIIe et son amour pour Bree vaut largement celui de Jamie pour Claire. Il l’a prouvé par deux fois.

Pourtant l’histoire ne lui fera aucun cadeau car, faisant les frais de l’incompréhension des uns et du secret des autres, il est battu presqu’à mort par un Jamie furieux, vendu comme du bétail à une tribu d’indiens mal embouchés, trimballé sur pas loin de 1000 kilomètres à travers une forêt broussailleuse, frappé, humilié, enfermé, oublié. Beaucoup auraient jeté l’éponge, au minimum.

D’ailleurs, sa rencontre avec le père Alexandre Ferigault nous le montre amer et désabusé. Il ne sait pas encore pourquoi Jamie l’a massacré de la sorte. Est-ce parce que Bree le lui a demandé ? Il ne sait pas pourquoi il a été vendu. Il ne sait pas pourquoi il est ainsi maltraité. Il ne sait qu’une seule chose. Il souffre. Toute flamme en lui semble s’être éteinte. Dorénavant, ce qu’il veut, c’est survivre et retrouver le confort du XXe siècle. C’est possible ! Il a remarqué le cercle de pierres, il a une gemme. Rien ne peut l’en empêcher du moment où il parvient à s’échapper de sa prison.

Oui mais voilà. Il peut sauver le prêtre d’une mort lente et douloureuse. Il peut écourter cette agonie. Il peut faire le choix de l’humanité, de la compassion. Il peut encore sauver deux âmes… celle du prêtre et la sienne. Il lui suffit pour cela de faire marche arrière.

Et c’est là, précisément à ce moment, que s’impose la vraie personnalité de Roger. Il n’est plus d’aucun siècle précis. Il n’est plus dans une quête personnelle. Il n’est plus dans un cheminement linéaire et historique. Non, il est cet homme qui met en conformité ses croyances et ses actions.

Ce choix d’une vie contre la sienne, c’est comme s’il traversait d’autres pierres. Non pas les pierres du temps ! Mais celles de la foi.  

C’est pour cet homme que Jamie et Claire risquent leur vie à leur tour. Et c’est pour cet homme que le jeune Ian échange sa place. C’est cet homme-là finalement, qui délaisse les pierres et retrouve Bree à 1000 kilomètres encore… et l’enfant qui sera le sien, il l’a décidé ainsi.

 

Roger est transformé. Ni plus savant, ni plus rayonnant, ni même, plus amoureux ! Mais Roger, entier, défini, comme s’il venait de clore un rituel de passage tribal menant l’adolescent à l’âge adulte.

Ses cicatrices courant sur son visage, ses yeux emplis de nouveaux paysages, son âme aguerrie, il est prêt pour la vie du XVIIIe siècle au sein des colonies, auprès de la femme qu’il aime…

N’aurait-il pas mérité que ce calvaire touche à sa fin ?

Mais Diana Gabaldon en a décidé autrement. Peut-être qu’à ses yeux, Roger devait encore faire ses preuves. Peut-être qu’ayant placé la barre si haut pour Jamie, il lui semblait important de montrer toute la valeur de son futur gendre. Allez savoir.

 

Car Roger MacKenzie, dit la grive, reste si peu adapté à l’époque et à la région dans laquelle il vit dorénavant. Ni chasseur, ni guerrier, ni même fermier… son seul réel talent, c’est sa voix avec laquelle il importe les chansons d’un siècle lointain. Il chante Roger, pour sa femme lors de sa nuit de noce, pour son fils aux yeux émerveillés, pour les Browns récalcitrants. Il chante pour les mariages et les enterrements. Comme personne, il chante. Cela pourrait suffire ! Mais bien sûr, pour Jamie, ce beau-père à qui il n’est pas simple de plaire, cela ne comptera jamais, d’autant que ce dernier n’entend rien à la musique et que Roger doit déjà se faire pardonner d’être presbytérien.

Il devient capitaine pourtant, non pas grâce à son talent, mais pour que Jamie puisse le protéger, il n’est pas sot au point de ne pas le comprendre. Il devient également enrôleur pour la milice coloniale, mais sa première décision est contestée. Il devient le père de Jemmie, mais Jocasta laisse entendre qu’il ne l’est que pour toucher l’héritage.  Il y aurait de quoi tout abandonner, non ?

Il tient pourtant, encore et toujours, il tient.

Et c’est lors d’une mission dangereuse pour laquelle il s’est porté volontaire qu’il est frappé par son aïeul, le mari de Moragh, puis livré comme traitre à l’armée britannique, et enfin, pendu comme tel.

L’horreur ne prendra-t-elle donc jamais fin ?

Le destin se joue de Roger avec autant de cruauté et d’injustice que les Dieux de la Grèce antique le faisaient avec les populations terrorisées.

Et c’est là que se pose le traumatisme de Roger alors qu’il reprend vie à Fraser’s Ridge.

C’est la corde autour de son cou bien sûr, ainsi que le sac par-dessus sa tête tout autant que la main glissée au dernier moment dans la corde ! Mais c’est surtout la solitude d’une souffrance injuste.  

C’est comme le bout d’un chemin de croix qui l’accable plus que de raison et qui fait s’enfoncer sa voix en ses tréfonds.

 

Comme Jamie après Wentworth, Roger doit maintenant revenir des enfers par la simple force de sa volonté. Il doit retrouver la lumière qui pourrait donner un sens à toutes ses souffrances, car quand bien même le corps serait sauf, l’âme, elle, est toujours au bord du gouffre.

 

Ce sens, ça pourrait être l’incroyable expérience de l’élasticité du temps et de ce que cela représente pour un historien ! Ça pourrait être son attachement aux valeurs chrétiennes qui prônent l’importance de la vie. Ça pourrait être tellement de choses ! Mais au bout du compte, rien n’est plus important que cet amour qu’il éprouve pour sa femme. Sa femme pour laquelle il a tout risqué et pour qui, il revient, une fois encore, dans le monde des vivants.

Roger MacKenzie, devenu l’équivalent d’un Highlander finalement, exilé à travers l’espace et le temps, nommé Fils de la maison Fraser.

Roger Wakefield également, chrétien ayant accompli son chemin de croix à travers les montagnes abruptes de l’Amérique du nord jusqu’à sa crucifixion - ici remplacée par une pendaison -

Roger Mac finalement, ayant traversé les pierres jusqu’en enfer, ressuscité et revenu parmi les siens. D’ailleurs les pierres ne s’y trompent pas, puisqu’elles ne le laissent pas repartir.  

Roger. Tout simplement.

 

Et cet homme qu’il est devenu, ayant trouvé sa place dans ce nouveau monde, va dès lors pouvoir jouer son rôle et s’inscrire dans l’histoire en marche.

Il sauve Jamie d’une mort atroce lorsque ce dernier se fait mordre par un serpent, le soignant, le veillant, le portant et en ayant l’idée de rapporter la tête du crotale avec lequel Brianna va pouvoir fabriquer une seringue de fortune.

Il permet à cette jeune fille hollandaise atrocement brûlée de mourir sans plus de douleur en l’accompagnant vers une fin rapide dans un geste plein d’amour et de compassion.

Il se tient aux côtés de Jamie lors du guet-apens contre Stephen Bonnet, puis rattrape ce dernier sur la plage et l’assomme, enfin, pour le remettre aux autorités.

Et finalement, il tue, pour Claire… faisant fi de ses croyances religieuses, de sa répulsion à la vengeance… parce qu’il a promis à Jamie d’être à ses côtés.

Au bout du compte. Roger, capitaine MacKenzie, est un homme accompli.

 

Pour les personnes qui n’ont pas lu les livres au-delà du tome 5, je m’arrête ici… Mais sachez déjà que l’évolution de Roger est loin de s’arrêter là !

Valérie Gay-Corajoud